Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer

Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer

The Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer gives the most realistic indoor ride available anywhere, It forces core muscle use to maintain proper balance while riding and makes any rider a more powerful and faster cyclist.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Review 1 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rittig
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So smooth

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: dont fold
Big and beatyfull! Very reallife feeling, like nothing i have tried before and if you like me struggle with trainersessions lasting more than 30 minutes this is the solution. Very fluid and unrestricted feeling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JPPP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First time turbo trainer

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, heavy duty
Having read and considered many alternatives I plumped for the Kurt Kinetic as I wanted something robust and quiet. I think it does both with ease. I am a 5'10" 12.5 stone man and have no issues with stability on this TT. The flexible rear mount also forces you to use your own core balance, which aids the overall training sessions in my opinion. I use mine in a large bay window in a ground floor apartment with wooden floor boards and carpet, the noise levels really are minimal. Obviously not the cheapest, but you definitely get what you pay for. It's worth mentioning that I also am using the KK training tyre; I started using it without this and found my original tyre wearing heavily - this could have been my fault with setting too much pressure from the fly wheel but the TT is working a treat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hwth79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what is says on the tin

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, easy to set up
Cons: Expensive
Took me about 10 minutes to put together, and I had the bike hooked up in another 5. Have fiddled around a bit since with the tension of the roll mechanism and the roller itself but very easy to set up. Never ridden a trainer befor e so can't compare but it feels really natural with the movement . Doesn't seem to be any adjustment apart from using the gears and I need to be in highest few gears to get out of the saddle, but not a problem. My garage floor is a bit uneven and it does creep a bit but nothing significant.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichmondRocket
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I've had this trainer now for about six weeks and first impressions were that it's extremely well built.
For me the best part is the overall ride - if you apply the power erratically, you start bouncing around. This gives you the feedback to learn smoother strokes at increased cadences, therefore increasing your power output for the same effort.
Coupled with a speed & cadence sensor, heart rate monitor and trainerroad software I can train with a vast amount of information (this software even estimates power output based on the power profile of the Kurt Kinetic trainer).
With several training plans in the software to follow, hopefully i'll be able to see marked improvements in my power output over the winter, resulting in a better bike split for my next sprint distance triathlon in May.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CarbonChaos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Solid and stable

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, stable, heavy
The rock and roll is the best turbo trainer ive had. Better than any fixed system. Smooth and controlled. Weighs a ton and is very stable. i would recommend it. you will no be able to ever break it as its made from good quality gauge steel. im 17 stone 6"2 and it just soaks up bouncing and swaying around. Good work out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasmine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Superb

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Although very heavy and not especially easy to set up, I have given this trainer a 5-star rating because its other features 'outweigh' these downsides. The feel of the trainer is, indeed, highly road-like. Adjustment of the side-to-side swing, as well as the resistance, is quick and simple. My on-road performance has improved significantly, and I felt that it did so after even the first use. I love and look forward to training on it; it produces a really challenging and decent workout. Highly recommended.
NB you will need a wrench to set this up, and having a torque wrench is a bonus. Further, the turntable for the front wheel is not supplied with it and is probably a good idea to purchase (although I have not got around to doing so yet and not sure I shall).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CairnsRider
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, different
Cons: no remote
A little dubious at first but once I got going, well it was just so much better than the old trainer and quieter as well must have the mat and swivel front wheel lifter they add another dimension to the whole ride even if it's only in doors better than riding in 40 degree heat.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Flexible Friend

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This trainer is great. Great for two reasons I feel. First, the resistance unit it very smooth, very refined. It feels much more realistic than the magnetic versions I have used before, is leak-proof by design and anyway, has a lifetime warranty.
Second, the flexible mounting. It is not as one might expect, the facility to really move the bike around that provides a big advantage in my opinion. The superior experience is facilitated by the simple fact that the bike can move at all; a minimal amount is all that's needed to make a difference. There is nothing more alien, (or uncomfortable) than riding a bicycle that is locked rigidly upright. This product has converted me from someone who found it hard to spend five minutes on a trainer to one doing hour-plus sessions regularly. It is possible to throw the bike from side-to-side if you really want to but this never feels natural (on the trainer) to me.
Downsides? It's big, it's heavy; not recommended for someone who needs a portable option. It's expensive... but. Kurt Kinetic have engineered an experience that gives them a unique competitive advantage, and that's good business. Given the extra hours of use I'll squeeze out of this product, and the superb build quality, I actually think that the cost is justified.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrubweed
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keep motivated during bad weather.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
I saw this product in Cycling + magazine (along with thousands of other people ) and it was rated very highly but I thought it was a little expensive.
After a bit of research on Youtube I eventually decided to buy it and have not been disappointed.
Because I hesitated it was out of stock pretty quickly but was worth the wait.
It is well engineered, sturdy and stable.
I feel 1/2 hour on this is equal to 1 hour on the road as you don't get a downhill rest !
Should be painted black/silver or black/yellow not Kermit Green !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheekyWeMonkey
from Reading
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Comfortable and Realistic Turbo Trainer

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Having done some training on a TACX Fortius trainer originally I had to replace it. After seeing various reviews of the Rock and Roll I stumped up the cash and bought it. Chose Evans as they priced matched the best price I found online anyway from elsewhere and there is a store locally if I needed to take it back for any reason. Despite choosing standard 5-7 day delivery it arrived the next day. Great.
As for the trainer. It is reassuringly heavy with a wide base. Only took a few minutes to setup and get the bike installed. I am using a Garmin 800 with HR, Cadence and Speed sensors so this gives me all the data I need at the moment. The ride is really good. The side to side movement and general "give" makes the ride not only more realistic than a fully rigid setup but also more comfortable. On a rigid trainer I typically felt very sore after an hour or so and would have to adjust positons quite often. With the Rock and Roll this is much reduced. Also you can easily replicate out of the saddle efforts and work muscles slightly differently to normal seated position. Plus it's quiet enough I can comfortably put in earphones and watch movies to distract the mind whilst doing endurance efforts.
I am very happy with the purchase and just wish I had known about this before buying the TACX I originally had. Which though a good trainer was overally complex for what I needed and ultimately unreliable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.