Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette

Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
5 out of 6(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette
Review 1 for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acciaio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good quality part for rebuilds

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Usually go for 105, but this was for a rebuild of a 7-speed 1995 Peugeot.
Fitted perfectly on some spare Fulcrum Racing 7 wheels previously on 105 10-speed (using the spacer given to me for free by the mechanic at the Guildford store).
Seems good quality, although only just finished the rebuild so can't comment on the basis of longer term use yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
enviro400
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Inexpensive and as always carried in stock for same day collection.
The finish is clean and easy to fit to the wheel. Well done shimano and thank you Evans cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnnieMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
There aren't many 7-speeders still around, but mine gets a lot of use so I need to change the drivetrain every 4-6 months. This cassette works fine and is cheap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redshift
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product at a reasonable price.

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This rear Cassette was fitted with no problems and was lighter than the original unit it replaced (210g vs 320gr).
Changing through the gears was smooth and better than the original unit. Nice nickle finish as a visual bonus.
Excallent value and function. Would reccomend for use on MTB 7Speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MathsBiker

Avoid buying

PostedMarch 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
This cassette was fitted when I took my bike into Evans to be serviced. When I change gear it takes quite a while to actually change, and sometimes struggles to re engage a gear. I recomend going for a different cassette.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
acciaio
 
Please wait while more information about acciaio is loaded.
Additional information about acciaio could not be loaded.
+1
Posted March 26, 2014
As the previous comment, extremely unlikely to be the cassette, unless the problem is only with the largest cog due to it being too big for the rear mech to handle.
I'd suggest:
Clean/degrease chain, mechs, etc and lube
Check you're using a 7-speed compatible chain
Check chain stretch (Park tool or ruler) and replace if worn (or in doubt, they're not exactly expensive)
Check cables/outers and replace if sticky, damaged, etc
Check set up of gears and possibly adjust indexing (don't touch high/low adjusters until after you've tried everthing else!!)
Check shifters - if sticking, etc squirt in a load of WD40 (whatever you do, don't take them apart - don't ask how I know this …)
Check front/rear mech movement
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
CheetahTWJ
 
Please wait while more information about CheetahTWJ is loaded.
Additional information about CheetahTWJ could not be loaded.
Cassette or Derailleur?
Posted January 3, 2014
Give your derailleurs and chain a lube...
It's unlikely to be the cassette
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 6 for Shimano HG41 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mynotrealname
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

pretty sturdy stuff for that price

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, great range
also has great range 11-28 is perfect for me- combined with 44-36-don't know chainrings i can climb 20% slopes and also going pretty quick on flat terrain.
last words- i did 3000 miles. not much but i didin't expected anything more.
in overall: very happy and already bought another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.