Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket

Louis Garneau Electra Jacket

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect jacket. Lightweight. Good value. Comfortable. Good quality
Looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
NottsCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

A good jacket for moderately poor conditions.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket is perfect for moderately poor conditions. It is an excellent fit and keeps out rain and wind reasonable well.
The arms can be removed to use just as a body warmer so this is more than just a rain jacket.
A decent buy for the price. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAP1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Excellent Jacket

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a versatile jacket that is actually windproof. Kept me warm in very windy conditions. I have worn it with just a base layer and it is very protective. Removable sleeves is a real bonus when your temperature rises. Looks great and can be worn on walks. Great value, would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WILDWOOD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

good light weight jacket

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good fitting, light and comfortable jacket. The bright yellow colour makes you very conspicuous on the roads and so safe. I did a 20 mile ride in some pretty muddy and wet conditions and it was smothered in mud. It kept me dry and has come out of the wash immaculate. Worth the money.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuzzyhaha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wind Breaker

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I would recommend this jacket as commuter wear for autumn/spring, for dry and very slight rain. It does not state any info about being waterproof and it isn't.
The yellow is very bright and offers good visibility. The venting is exceptional with open flaps at the back, side mesh, with a very simple/quick removal of the arms.
Fitting is good and there is a drawstring at the bottom as well. Wrists are elasticated with a small venting mesh at the side for airflow up the arm. Front main zip is a double number so you can open from the top and bottom if you desire.
The storage pocket at the back is a very large zipped jobbie. You also have one small zipped outside breast pocket.
The jacket does not roll up small enough to fit in a jersey pocket.
I really wanted to like this jacket because the venting and the way the arms come off is excellent. However I was caught out in the rain for a couple of hours and I was soaked through. It doesn't mention water resistance so that's on me, and as such I'll still give the jacket a high rating for it's function as a jacket to keep you warm but well vented in cooler (but not wet) weather.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cole76
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very light jacket and good design. Colour is excellent for road biking...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sib2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect 'british weather' jacket

PostedApril 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The perfect jacket for British cycling......long sleeved for the cooler mornings but as the day warms up whip off the sleeves and keep the gilet on all day.......extremely lightweight, windproof on the front, mesh on the back to stay cool. I particularly like the double zipper so you can ventfrom both ends of the zip!
Had many items of LG clothing and all have done their job brilliantly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cidermart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good windstopper but not rain

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, highly visible
Cons: wet arms in downpours
The Louis Garneau Electra 2 is a nice little jacket that is windproof, so keeps the chill away, and is also very bright, so should make you more visible to drivers, although it could do with a little more reflective panelling for darker conditions. The arms are removable as one unit to leave a mesh back panel that aides cooling, the whole processes involves two zips and some nice magnetic fasteners so is a painless experience and there is a large rear pocket to store them in. The zips, on the arms, do however leave a route in for the rain leading to wet arms in heavy downpours. The rear of the jacket does not hang far enough down to protect from wheel spray, but this is only a minor gripe. In all a nice lightweight and windproof jacket that you can compresses to a nice size with the added bonus of making you more visible.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
donaldo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

so light and bright at night

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
this jacket is a fantastic cut , so light and windproof a serious must have for safety and comfort quality and value come first here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Talkingdrum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Excellent Jacket

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Buying suitable cycling clothing is all a matter of preference at the end of the day with so much variety available on the market. I found this jacket to be perfect for my needs. Firstly the cut: I tried on A LOT of windproofs before I settled on this one and I must say from trying on other jackets some of you cyclists must have strange body shapes if those other jackets fit you. This jacket fits me like I'd had it tailor made yet there is easily enough room underneath for a base layer and a mid layer without the jacket being in the least bit baggy. It's super lightweight so minimizes overheating (my main concern with windproofs) and with the ability to wear other layers underneath and remove the arms to convert it into a gilet makes it extremely versatile. It also a generous amount of venting and double zipped at the front.
Plenty of pockets where you need them, it's a well thought out design.
I purchased the bright yellow one for my winter riding in London traffic and I feel very visible in it.
I'm 5'8", weigh 175 lbs and a Large is just perfect for me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndrewJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great jacket

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got this jacket to replace an old one that had got a little thread bare. It fits very well on top of standard cycle shirt. The thing I particularly like is the neck line/ zip - when going on a long ride, the neck can be irritated by a badly designed zip or high neck - not this one though - great product and has a real quality feel about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KRad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Looks good, but not great in the rain

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very light, and looks good. Removable arms are a benefit on a summer's day but not when it rains as I found out this morning - the zips are not waterproof so you end up with soaking wet arms - but a bone dry body.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robbie3050
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very versatile

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Love this jacket, light breathable and versatile and you can take sleeves off in warmer weather. Haven't tried it in wet yet tho.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flattyreman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good design, well made and well put together

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good ventillation
Cons: Expensive, needs more reflective material, no storage pouch provided
The jacket has some good design features such as the zipped pockets and the back ventilation. The material looks to be a decent quality and the jacket appears to be well put together. At the price might have expected a bit more reflective material and a storage pouch. However comfortable in use and keeps the elements out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rogpt52
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent quality product at an affordable price

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I couldnt quite stretch budget to one of the more expensive brands but was impressed with the features of this jacket, for example the 2 zip pockets (front and back) which have come in really handy for carrying phone, glasses etc especially when out on my road bike with only a small wedge bag for other essentials. Extremely light and goes perfectly over a base/mid layer depending on weather conditions plus removable sleeves to leave a gilet. Overall very pleased with this purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.