Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket

Louis Garneau Electra Jacket

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
It was bought:Online

the jacket is ideal for my oh and compact.

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
very good quality and wind proof. fits perfect and looks good even as a casual jacket. recommend this jacket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Excellent product for the price

Posted15 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Thoroughly pleased with this. Good quality jacket, stylish and has plenty of storage space. The mesh back panel and removable arms make it a quality item.
My only downside was that I ordered xl. I am 5ft 9 inch, 42 inch chest and 36 waist. I didnt want large as it may be too snug but it would have been fine. My sleeves flap a little so large would have been perfect.
Now worn a few times so cant exchange.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great jacket that can also be turned in to a gille

Posted06 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very happy with jacket. Comfortable and does the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and compact

Posted01 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight and compact great when u don't have much room in your bag
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent so far

Posted21 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Overall i love this product. Kept me warm out of rides despite being thin, acts as a good wind block. Impressed with the visibility also.
The price of this product is far better than others that have the transformation function between gilet and jacket.
I would recommend highly as a top layer for cold days and will come into its own in spring when the temperatures change quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Bright, well ventilated and keeps you dry

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have only worn this a couple of times so far but it seems to do exactly want I wanted it to. It's very bright keeping me easily visible to other road user, I don't seem to get overly hot in it but it deffinately stops the wind getting in and keeps the rain off.
I haven't been out in heavy rain or strong winds yet and when I do I'll post another review but it seems to work very well on a normal winters day.
I think at £40 you would struggle to do better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Nice lightweight proofed jacket

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought to replace an ageing Hi Viz.
Excellent for riding & running,lightweight & High visibility, breathable and with excellent water repellent properties
Large fit is perfect for me 44" chest & the tail fits nicely down my back
Could have done with two hand pockets but with chest and large rear pocket cant really complain.
Detachable sleeves for riding in warm weather.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit and comfortable

Posted31 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good looking.
Great fit and comfortable
Keeps wind at bay
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great lightweight jacket

Posted26 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I chose the black version of this jacket as I wanted a subtle colour for off-roading. This is perfect. Very light weight and lots of venting for those up hill sections of the ride. I went for extra large despite me being not too large as I wanted plenty of room. This was a good choice, as the fit is not generous, so go one size bigger than usual. And it was in the sale so good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted06 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect jacket. Lightweight. Good value. Comfortable. Good quality
Looks great
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

A good jacket for moderately poor conditions.

Posted25 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket is perfect for moderately poor conditions. It is an excellent fit and keeps out rain and wind reasonable well.
The arms can be removed to use just as a body warmer so this is more than just a rain jacket.
A decent buy for the price. Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Excellent Jacket

Posted10 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a versatile jacket that is actually windproof. Kept me warm in very windy conditions. I have worn it with just a base layer and it is very protective. Removable sleeves is a real bonus when your temperature rises. Looks great and can be worn on walks. Great value, would definitely recommend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

good light weight jacket

Posted18 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good fitting, light and comfortable jacket. The bright yellow colour makes you very conspicuous on the roads and so safe. I did a 20 mile ride in some pretty muddy and wet conditions and it was smothered in mud. It kept me dry and has come out of the wash immaculate. Worth the money.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wind Breaker

Posted01 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I would recommend this jacket as commuter wear for autumn/spring, for dry and very slight rain. It does not state any info about being waterproof and it isn't.
The yellow is very bright and offers good visibility. The venting is exceptional with open flaps at the back, side mesh, with a very simple/quick removal of the arms.
Fitting is good and there is a drawstring at the bottom as well. Wrists are elasticated with a small venting mesh at the side for airflow up the arm. Front main zip is a double number so you can open from the top and bottom if you desire.
The storage pocket at the back is a very large zipped jobbie. You also have one small zipped outside breast pocket.
The jacket does not roll up small enough to fit in a jersey pocket.
I really wanted to like this jacket because the venting and the way the arms come off is excellent. However I was caught out in the rain for a couple of hours and I was soaked through. It doesn't mention water resistance so that's on me, and as such I'll still give the jacket a high rating for it's function as a jacket to keep you warm but well vented in cooler (but not wet) weather.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted20 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very light jacket and good design. Colour is excellent for road biking...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect 'british weather' jacket

Posted17 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The perfect jacket for British cycling......long sleeved for the cooler mornings but as the day warms up whip off the sleeves and keep the gilet on all day.......extremely lightweight, windproof on the front, mesh on the back to stay cool. I particularly like the double zipper so you can ventfrom both ends of the zip!
Had many items of LG clothing and all have done their job brilliantly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good windstopper but not rain

Posted20 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, highly visible
Cons: wet arms in downpours
The Louis Garneau Electra 2 is a nice little jacket that is windproof, so keeps the chill away, and is also very bright, so should make you more visible to drivers, although it could do with a little more reflective panelling for darker conditions. The arms are removable as one unit to leave a mesh back panel that aides cooling, the whole processes involves two zips and some nice magnetic fasteners so is a painless experience and there is a large rear pocket to store them in. The zips, on the arms, do however leave a route in for the rain leading to wet arms in heavy downpours. The rear of the jacket does not hang far enough down to protect from wheel spray, but this is only a minor gripe. In all a nice lightweight and windproof jacket that you can compresses to a nice size with the added bonus of making you more visible.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

so light and bright at night

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
this jacket is a fantastic cut , so light and windproof a serious must have for safety and comfort quality and value come first here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Excellent Jacket

Posted16 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Buying suitable cycling clothing is all a matter of preference at the end of the day with so much variety available on the market. I found this jacket to be perfect for my needs. Firstly the cut: I tried on A LOT of windproofs before I settled on this one and I must say from trying on other jackets some of you cyclists must have strange body shapes if those other jackets fit you. This jacket fits me like I'd had it tailor made yet there is easily enough room underneath for a base layer and a mid layer without the jacket being in the least bit baggy. It's super lightweight so minimizes overheating (my main concern with windproofs) and with the ability to wear other layers underneath and remove the arms to convert it into a gilet makes it extremely versatile. It also a generous amount of venting and double zipped at the front.
Plenty of pockets where you need them, it's a well thought out design.
I purchased the bright yellow one for my winter riding in London traffic and I feel very visible in it.
I'm 5'8", weigh 175 lbs and a Large is just perfect for me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Louis Garneau Electra Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great jacket

Posted12 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got this jacket to replace an old one that had got a little thread bare. It fits very well on top of standard cycle shirt. The thing I particularly like is the neck line/ zip - when going on a long ride, the neck can be irritated by a badly designed zip or high neck - not this one though - great product and has a real quality feel about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>