Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket

Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OKOK

As "water resistant" as a towel

PostedMay 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Heavy, not water resistant
Has the same water resistant properties as a towel, quite heavy as well.
Went for ride in 10C with a base layer, it rained, I got very wet and cold.
Looks nice if you cycle in a dry and modestly cold country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JB54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and effective

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good looking high quality jacket. Not the snuggest of fits (get a smaller size if thats an issue) but highly effective on a cold winter morning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stevo35
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Quality

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This jacket provides great quality ,comfort and is very good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boby

this jacket fits so well

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
love my new jacket. pockets are in the right places. warm yet it still breathes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DangeRuss
Country:United Kingdom
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice comfortable jacket

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
great to wear, does not ride up and keeps you lovely and warm. Only shower proof for short peroids, heavy or extended light rain will saturate the jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kas55
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Classic Design

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I brought this product as a present for my husband,who is absolutely delighted, Well made high quality product, would recommend anyone to buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cannonball
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Looks very good, I bought it in the sale for £80 and its good for this money but not worth the RRP of £150. It's very good for about 4-12 degrees C but no colder as the material around the back of the shoulders is thin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bran
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great quality winter jacket

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not for ultra cold weather
I've had three LG items now, and the manufacturing quality is excellent, fit is quite generous, I orrdered an XL but exchanged it for an L.
Lovely jacket but probably best for when its not ultra cold as it seems quite breathable, good if its wet and mild no so good if bone chillingly cold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
superbesse
from Cornwall
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, see review
Reading the reviews of the Louis Garneau Massimo jacket prompted me to buy this jacket. I must say I’m astonished that my experiences of the jacket are at such variance to the other reviews.
On the positive side, the fit is very good, the arm length is generous and the wind-stopper material seems to give some protection to the chest area. However, to refer to the jacket – as does the publicity blurb as, ‘ the ultimate in cold weather protection’ is astonishing. Considering that the black material within the jacket’s arms, back and sides seems no thicker than that of a glorified T shirt, no wonder that the three rides I’ve endured over the last couple of weeks have been cold and miserable. This is not to say that I’ve cycled without the benefit of base layers – I have. It’s just that the heat generated during the ride is continually being sucked from my body through these areas – leaving me desperate to pull on a rain cape in order to regain some body warmth. Considering that I live and ride in Cornwall, and that the temperature range of my rides has varied between 8 – 12 C, I don’t think this product is fit for purpose and I’m very disappointed with my purchase, and the outlay of £125, which I consider to be a waste of money.
After my ride today I’ve decided to sell the jacket on eBay ASAP. It will be fine for someone who wants to use it during the early Autumn/late Spring, but please don’t market this as a Winter jacket – in my view it’s not up to the job.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grey123
from Kent, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made/ Well designed jacket

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, internal earphone lead
This is a lovely jacket, have worn for cycling and running on colder windier days. Havent tried out the waterproof capabilities.
Has a really good fit, generous length in body and sleeves, so keeps back covered when cycling and arms covered even when running.
It also remained very comfortable on long rides and runs as doesnt cling to you due to the good wicking capabilities.
Plenty of storage available in three rear pockets, also ipod pocket superb as holds ipod securely and internal lead hole makes earphones comfortable. Other jackets I have let the ipod bounce when running, and external leads get pulled and dragged about.
Although its not cheap, with all the features it has, it is good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FastAl
from Salisbury
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very Good Jacket

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not windproof
I have used this jacket for approximately a month regularly in varying weather conditions. It is a very well made and comfortable jacket, and looks great. It is warm enough in autumn for use with just a base layer underneath and has proved surprisingly water resistant as I have been caught in the rain (once heavy), and it has kept me warm, but only slightly moist! It's downside is the lack of any real 'windstopper' material over the chest which can leave you feeling a bit cold in that area on longer or faster rides, hence it only gets a 4 star rating. With better wind protection at the front, it would get 5 stars and be one of my favourite cycling items - maybe include that next year Mr Gerneau? Worth the money, but you need more layering over chest to make it fully effective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Massimo Long Sleeve Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drunkmonk74
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Excellent winter jacket

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
OK had this jacket a few weeks now and been wearing it during the colder days now and have to say I'm really impressed so far. It's too soon for me to say how good the water proofing is, but as a jacket to keep out the cold it is fantastic.
It is quite expensive but I plan to ride through the winter months on my commute in and out of London so didn't want to scrimp on this. So far thoroughly impressed and happy with my purchase.
Depending on how you like it to fit, I bought the medium, as I'm roughly a 38" chest. Fits fine, but is a little long, which means that it's a little baggy on the front. If you prefer a tighter fit and normally wear medium might wanna try a small.
Oh and you'd be hard pushed to find a better looking jacket !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.