Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket

Endura Convert Softshell Jacket

Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MogwaiFearSatan
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Jacket

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Fits really well, pockets on the back/front are excellent, sleeves easy to get on and off, really happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Neezurt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very Versatile Jacket

PostedJune 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very versatile, covers loads of temps
I purchased a red one of these in February - then at £90, a tenner off. Was really impressed - and have since bought another one (read on...)
The jacket is very windproof and I've worn it in 6 degrees with just a short-sleeved summer skin underneath! Felt no chill through the sleeves, which are a nice length for cycling (i.e. 'long'). Today, at 17 degrees, I didn't overhead with the gilet on.
It's well made - I've noticed the stitching coming away on one sleeve cuff, but I think it might be where it snags my watch. Easily re-stitched, though.
The rear stuff pockets are spacious and well elasticated to hold things in - and the centre one also has a zipped compartment which will take all but oversized smartphones. There's a zipped breast pocket, too, complete with headphone feed-through. The sleeves un/zip off/on easily enough, and they fold up small enough to put into the stuff pockets. When the sleeves are on, there's a storm cuff underneath to ensure the zip joins are 'windproof'. The collar is soft and the full-length front zip has a 'hood' at the very top so that it doesn't rub your neck.
All in all, everything is so well sorted - and the versatility of this jacket/gilet means you'll probably wear it for 80+ per cent of the year. For that reason, I decided I'd invest in another one... and when I saw an ex-demo in black being offered really cheaply, I enquired as to the 'condition' and was told it was 'dusty'. So I bought it on the click and collect service. When I picked it up - knowing I could return it within 14 days if I wasn't satisfied with the condition - I was over the mean. It was as good as new... and over 40 per cent off!
I'm now thinking I could mix and match the sleeves to make a black/red and red/black jacket... effectively I've now got four jackets! I'm going to keep my eye on more Evans 'ex display' offers, that's for sure.
My jackets are Large and are a perfect fit for me - 5'10" with chest 38.5 expanding to 40". It's not baggy, but roomy enough to wear a skin plus a jersey under for the really chilly days. I'm expecting to wear this down to zero degrees.
A truly superb, versatile jacket come gilet. Highly recommended...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
LittleGuns
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it should

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Slightly bigger fit than I was expecting, maybe more of a commuter fit than road cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Brianaal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Superb quality, feel and look. Bought this with Helly Hanson Dry Crew stripped base layer and what a team they are. Just been out in 8 degress with a head-on breeze and did not feel cold at all. I did not get over heated like I used to with my sportsdirect stuff. Worth every penny.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carnkiechris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent piece of kit

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The old saying of 'you pay for what you get' is true.
Expensive but worth it.
The jacket is breathable other than where it pressed against your back by your pack you feel no moisture.
it seems well made and with the sleeves that easily attach/detach its the 1st thing i grab now as part of my core kit.
Highly recommended !
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Interstater
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An Awesome Jacket

PostedMay 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, it also makes me look better than i really am.
I have had this jacket sitting here looking at me for 4 days till I had the opportunity to wear it, today was that day, here this morning, it IS ccccold (for Australia) and windy and with the wind-chill factor kicking in, it would have been about 8°c, so on it went for the first ride. I wore a long sleeve base layer and a short sleeve jersey under it and after 5 kilometers I was heating up, so off came the jersey. With just a base layer and the jacket on I felt very comfortable with the riding. My local ride here is about 32 kilometers or 20 miles and includes 7 climbs, 4 of those are sharp (about 200 meters) and very steep. I was sweating and the base layer was shedding that sweat onto the inside of the jacket, I have to say here, at no time did I feel cold, although IF I had to stop for a BIG break, yes, I would have felt that sweat chilling me. The jacket did keep me warm and the chill of that wind did not bother me at all. I have to add here something about the sizing, as this and the Helium jacket I bought was a problem at first. So, BEWARE... I also have a Endura Rebound Shower proof Jacket, and this is a size XL and fits perfect and is also great, so I ordered my Endura Helium Jacket and a Endura Convert Soft-shell Jacket the same size as the Rebound. When they arrived I was to find sadly, that they both were too tight and this was with just a tee shirt under both of them. So I had to send them back for size XXL, these fit perfectly, (not too tight, not too loose) sending these back to England cost me $40 Australian, for that price added to the cost of the jackets, I would have been better off just buying them here, if I could find where to buy them that is. My sizes are as follows, I am 5'10 or 177cm, I weigh 176lbs or 80 kilos, my chest size is108cm and expanded 111cm or 42.5 inches and expanded 43.7inches, I will be trying on the water proof pants before buying them because of the size differences seem to be all too a common thing. The Convert Jacket I wore today IS great and feels as good as it looks and does the job it is intended to do I believe. Just expect it to get damp/wet on the inside though. Once you have that size sorted you will not be disappointed with the quality. I added my details, so you all might get a better idea of just what might fit you all that much the better....better than just hoping it will be ok on the day. Oh and I ride a mountain bike NOT a road bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frej
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Good for a softshell

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Nice and semi-warm for spring/autumn. Large pockets holds just about everything you need and a lot more. Small size (Iysually wear small/med Endura but needed large on this)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dasajit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great jacket which converts into a gillet easily

PostedApril 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great jacket with wind protection and water repellent feathures, nice and warm on those cold windy days however it easily converts into a gillett by unzipping the arms on those warm rides. The arms are easily stowed away in the rear pockets.
Also has a nice zipped pocket at the back for storing keys or a phone without any worry it may fall out.
Best jacket I ever bought, smart and funky looking too.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
amax
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good combo item

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really a gilet with removable arms. I've always liked the Endura gear - no nonsense easy wearing and care. This is probably not a winter jacket unless you add a serious base layer but is well thought out. Gilet has front chest pocket with MP3 wire thread hole and pockets at the rear. Bought it in red - looks smart - not sure on the green - looks like a frog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jwn23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Brilliant Jacket!

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I looked at loads of different jackets before I bought this one - since I was looking for something lightweight, wind resistant and tight fitting. As soon as I tried this jacket on, I knew it was the one, light and comfortable - it looks cool too (in red anyway).
I have used it in very cold and snowy conditions with just a base layer, and I remained nice and warm and dry. Also on longer rides on slightly milder days, you can zip off the sleeves once you warm up. I also use this jacket for running too.
The chest pocket is good for carrying my iPod/iPhone - and has a pass through for you earphones.
I would definitely recommend this jacket!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ally1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Perfect for cold and windy weather

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this jacket this morning and went for a ride shortly after. Weather was grey and dry but still quite chilly. Jacket kept me warm throughout the ride and couldn't feel any wind getting through the fabric itself or the zips around the arms. Not sure how it would cope in rain but if you want a waterproof then this probably isn't the best option anyway. I was after a warm and windproof jacket that's not too bulky and this is ideal for my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bexstar1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Versatile and comfortable

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Brought this jacket for weekend riding and the occasional commute, wore it on recent 77 mile sportive and it performed as desired, removable sleeves are good for those early starts before you have warmed up and fit in back pocket with food no problem.
Mp3 pocket is good with hole for earphones, keep mp3 in waterproof "bag" to protect from condensation/sweat.
Need to see how it perform in a bit of rain but early signs are promising.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Convert Softshell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
baf5
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good warm jacket

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Researched extensively before making purchase. Looking for something for early morning rides- temps from about 0c to 15c. Ticks all the boxes ie, windproof, water resistant, warm at 0c with just the jacket and a base layer merino long sleeve - can regulate heat when gets warmer by using zips in arms as pit zips and front zip and, of course, can takes the arms off if needed. Endura make clothes to fit real people - got large size and fits well I am 179 cm and weight 87k - it is just a bit tight under the arms when off the bike, but when on the bike very comfortable. Haven't worn it in the rain yet, so don't know how it will hold up in the wet. Overall happy with the product and is of good quality.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.