Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light

Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Review 1 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
imMei

Love my mighty flea

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great, powerful light, very conspicuous in flashing mode for day use. Bright enough to shine in areas with no lighting.
Ultra compact too.
Am afraid to loose the charger cos its so small, and it will only charge via the computer, not a USB charger.
Bought a second one and the charger didn't work, but didn't replace it as I'm in Singapore. The solar charger was totally useless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedSilverDog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mighty Flea

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
When I recieved the lamp I was initially disapointed - how could a lamp this size be powerfull enough to be seen. When I tried it out however I was really surprised. Its a compact, bright LED lamp which is more than adequate for normal street use. Its easy to charge on the USB charger and lasts for ages in use.
It has 4 modes - constant X two and two flashing modes plus an indicator to show when the battery is losing power.
Its easy to fit on helmet or cycle with the velcro strap and the spring clip makes it easy to fit to any item of clothing.
All in all a great front lamp which looks good and performs really well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GML999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One Of My Favourites

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I own a front and rear set and bought this to wear on my helmet. So small but so powerful. My daughter borrowed it on a recent cycle ride together as her light failed and I was suprised how much it lit a cycle trail in pitch black. Not as good as a purpose made mtb light but bright enough to light the way back and allow you to see any potholes etc in front of you. No expense with batteries as they charge very quickly from a usb port. I only bought it as a back up light but having seen it in use on my daughter's bike it would be good as a main light also. Still use it as light 'to be seen' by others and not rely it to light a forest up on such a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

The perfect helmet light.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, impressive output
Prior to replacing it with the new Super Flea, this light was my main 'pop to the shops', daytime strobe and night time backup light. It has now been moved from the handlebars to my cycle helmet to give me even more road presence with its very rapid flash. It also means that I now have a powerful head-torch for any roadside repairs. In all the time I have owned the Flea, the light and charger have never once let me down and the green/amber/red fuel gauge always lets you know the state of the battery. It's a superb micro light. Highly recommended.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
TonySB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Two weeks of use and won't charge anymore

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, doesn't work
I wish I'd taken account of the mixed reviews on the web about the charging problems with this product. For the two weeks it worked it was great, but having charged successfully twice it's now given up the ghost. My cat-eye lights on other hand have been working fine for 5 years.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spicca
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
good quality light easy to recharge and easy to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Edward81
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use, bright

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
this product is bright for its size, Easy to fit on to any handle bars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chrisl01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great little flashy light

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've used this light from full charge to amber warning level, which was a suitably long few weeks of evening commutes 2-3 times a week (sorry, wasn't counting very hard!) and even at the end it still had a takes-no-prisoners flash reflecting off signposts a good 100m down the road, so that's definitely good enough by my books.
Recharge time from there was less than an hour, so it's very speedy.
The constant beam has two levels, both good and strong, though I didn't really use them as even the darkest area around me is still streetlit. They also would last for a shorter time between charges, so less eco-friendly.
Tiny light, and you can coordinate it with your paintwork, which is obviously pretty important ;)
On the down side, I seem to perceive a very slight irregularity to the flash rate, though it's difficult to know if that's just my brain playing tricks on me.
Also, I would probably have preferred a clip-on attachment method rather than the velcro strap, but it does mean that handlebars are aesthetically clear during the day, so maybe it's not such a bad thing.
There is also the risk of losing the very mini USB charger on a messy desk, though it does have a loop so I have tied it to my computer!
Overall, very good flashing light, and the downsides are pretty minor, mostly just fussiness. If like me you want a reliable rechargeable city light, this is great for the purpose. Get it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJC7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A great little light - I love it in pink

PostedApril 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I tend to use this light on flashing mode during the daytime (whatever the weather) and my fellow riders confirm that it is very visible. It's really easy (and quick) to charge via USB. The charge lasts for at least 3½ hours on the bike - I haven't tested it for longer than this so far although I have no reason to doubt the 5 hour times quoted. No problems with attaching it to the handlebars - to ensure it doesn't slip around, just make sure it fixes over the handlebar tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PJags
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Light

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very good product,it is a light to be seen rather than lighting up the road but has impressive power for such a small and light product,battery life good and usb charge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
runningwomble
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

I love my Flea

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, re-chargeable
A light to be seen by rather than to see with. I use it on flash to annoy motorists while having another, static light. I bought this Flea to replace a donated one which I then lost. This version has the very handy charge indicator which means you're less likely to suddenly find yourself without any flash. The flash pattern is more stuttering than the old, on-off, but hey that's ok. I have a rear Flea too and now find that the USB chargers are light-specific - the new Flea only works on its own charger. Slightly odd but not too much bother until I lose one of the chargers. They are great as flashing supplementary lights. I would never want to rely on one to see anywhere. They're quite inconspicuous (I have the black front light) so I leave them on my bike (and they haven't disappeared yet....).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cycle2Work
from UK
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular

Good value bright light!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good value light, very bright.
Don't need to bother with wasting your money on batteries.
Only negative is to attach the light to your bike, you use a Velcro strap which if not done up tight enough can slip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blackburn Flea 2.0 USB LED Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Les52
from W.Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fails to deliver!!

PostedNovember 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The mount is not strong enough, I have just had to glue and sew it back together? it needs a solid clip mount! is there one available????.
The light beam is good in hi power but the battery time is very short in cold weather, it left me in the dark after a two hour training ride on a busy road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.