Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette

Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Review 1 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geewhiz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good piece of gear

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this for my Dawes Touring bike. The hills aren't getting any easier and if you are faced with 20% gradients you really need the ultra low gear that this cassette offers. A straight through block may look good on a time trialing machine but on a touring bike this gives you the help you need with Shimano's legendary smooth changes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1jjjjjj

PostedJune 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
VERY GOOD CASSETTE.WOULD RECOMEND,I BOUGHT IT AND HAVENT LOOKED BACK,NICE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dougiem
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value Shimano cassette

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great quality and value casette. I little heave but that is normal for this price range.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jock56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Only 8 Sprockets - No worries

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit. Great looking. With a triple up front no hill will stop you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brianthecyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I replaced a SRAM cassette that the bike shop had used to replace the orginal 11-32 cassette. The SRAM cassette was 11-28 and I hadn't realised how noticeable going back to the lower bottom gear would be but it is! It has made a huge difference to hill climbs.
Changing the cassette was easy, about 5 minutes. It has worked smoothly since then. I also changed the jockey wheels on the derailleur at the same time. There was a lot of play but they were 5 years old and replacing them has reduced the noise from the chain. Again a matter of a few minutes and a few pounds but worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OldMancCommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth gear changes again ....

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Needed to replace a worn cassette (and chain) after gear changing performance had started to suffer because of wear - I should really have done this preventatively last year, but never quite got around to it. Anyway, this was a like-for-like replacement, so the change was straightforward (I already had the right equipment [chainwhip and shimano cassette ring spanner) and now my gear changes are sweet again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bluerooster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Quality product

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great range of ratios meaning that no climb will be too steep, but a high enough ratio to give a great top speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angelfishsolo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap as chips and perfect

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Some of us roadies still ride 8 speed machines and this cassette is a fantastic upgrade if, like me, you have a 39/53 at the front. The extra teeth provided by the 30 cog makes hill climbing just that little easier whilst the 11t means you loose no speed on the flat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pelasgo
Country:Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Terrific bargain

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Simple and durable cassette. Wide range. Very useful and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will180
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Does what it says on the tin

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Perfectly adequate replacement cassette for my work-horse hybrid commuting bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
channel23
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fitted the bill ok,no problems,as always first class service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThESitH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

You get what you pay for

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I needed a new chain which I bought locally, as we all know its recommended you have a new cassette at the same time, they didn't have one so my next port of call was Evans. As always delivery was speedy, and although not the most expensive cassette in the world, it does what it says of the tin, works for me commuting back and forth work, cheaper than a tank of fuel.
If your seriously into road racing or time trialling you would probably want to look for different teeth ratio's but its ideal for commuting and casual riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jeffmclfc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Efficient and responsive

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This 8-speed cassette was part of a well overdue Silver service. Rides since have been so much more efficient it's untrue. I know that's also due in part to the service but have noticed significant difference on climbs & flats with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PJM123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too early to judge

PostedApril 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fitted with new chain and it certainly solved my problem of gear slippage but the old cassette and chain had done 7k and were fairly much warn out. This cassette look reasonable value for the money but can't really rate it until it's done at least 4 or 5k - come back to me in about 12 months time.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trevski
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A granny gear at last!

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this for two reasons. First, I wore out the cassette on my entry level mountain bike. Second, I'm converting it to be suitable for loaded touring. The old cassette was a 32 low gear, this one is a 34, but the higher ratios are closer together. This in combination with the 22 chainring I'm fitting should have me riding up lamp posts without breaking a sweat.
Looks great on the bike, in combination with the new chrome chain, and being set up for touring I expect to get many miles out of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano HG41 8-Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XCracer
from Dorset
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good quality.
Changes gear fast.
It has a climber cog which is handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.