Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed

Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Review 1 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Goldfinger1000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Does what it says on the tin

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Poor shifting and noisy drivetrain on girlfriends new bike fixed by replacing the Sunrace cassette that came with the bike as standard.
Bike companies love mismatching critical drivetrain parts to save a couple of quid, it never works properly (especially on mismatched cassettes and shifters - they never get the sprocket pitch spot on so you end up with an
acculmalative shifting error that can't be tuned out).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suebu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Needed to replace my cassette due to incident with a large rock. I was unsure of the type of shimano cassette I had previous but knew it was an 11-32. Bought this, arrived next day, fitted it same day (really easily) and didn't even need to adjust the gears. Such an easy switch and the bike rides smoother than it has for a number for years. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mattata
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great quality replacement

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this as a replacement for the shimano hg50. It's a good quality, good value, well designed component. Great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good quality

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this as a replacement and it was easy to fit and works perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
p1nk1e
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

It was what my bike needed!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Was repaced as part of my bikes service. I didnt know that it needed replacing but the bike has a smoother ride now :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good replacement for previous item

PostedMay 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good replacement for previous item which came as standard on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Schtu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly the gear range I was after at a fair price

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good gear range
Was a bit fed up struggling up the longer, steeper climbs on my road bike - afraid I don't have professional racer legs!
This cassette with a wider range of gears seemed a good solution to give better gearing for these climbs.
Ordered online effortlessly and collected from local store without problem. 5 minute job to swap ovcer onto rear hub - good quality for a very fair price.
The range of gearing is much better throughout the whole cassette range now so a perfect solution.
Very happy and now less out of breath after a climb :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG51 Cassette 8-Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sck88
Style:Mountain Biking

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Great budget cassette. Clean shifting and smooth running, what more can you ask for. Fitted to Haro flightline hardtail with all Shimano kit except KMC chain (purely because of quick-links).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.