Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set

Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set

Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Review 1 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gyenko
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very compact easy to assemble and secure to bike. No problems encountered with this product so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lizzie94259

Good value lights.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
So far they're working very well. Pretty bright and easy to attach and detach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lizzle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Bright - does the job

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to attach
I bought this because I really felt my other ones weren't strong enough. A lot fewer cars are trying to knock me off my bike now, which is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AllezElite1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to fit and effective

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The lights are easy to fit and provide light sufficient for being seen. They have a constant beam and two flash speeds; they are fine around town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJW2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to use and reliable, good for commuting around London. My only complaint is that the back light rapidly consumes the battery when I have it on the flashing setting (probably lasts about four weeks when using it every day morning and night), but it's easy to replace the battery and it's only one AA battery which isn't too expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kevjoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive but very bright and you will be seen!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I drive a lot and I know when I see bikes with good lights it makes a big difference to how I approach them. The rear light in this set is great. I only ride round town, but know cars can see me a way off and give me far more room than they would if they could not.
I'm not sure how far the front light projects, but it flashes and blinks brightly. You might need a wider beam one as well if riding in the real dark.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jordan23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

PostedApril 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These lights are ok, and the rear light is certainly visible when in random mode. However, I find the brackets a bit naff as you have to tighten by hand, so they are quite bulky, never go that tight, and you end up with a load of leftover strap. The old style screw fittings were much better and more secure.
The lights themselves are adequate, but for £45 you would expect better quality. The front has only two modes and it is difficult to verify the light is on when you are actually on your bike. The rear is difficult to turn on and off, especially with gloves on as the button is really small and recessed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
chameleojo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good basic light set, not very durable though

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, range of attachments
Cons: Expensive, not very durable
Good basic, neat looking light set. Looks nice and sleek on my road bike.
The attachments are easy and there's an optional extra pannier rack attachment for the rear that I bought separately.
However, both front and back lights have malfunctioned after less than a year (of daily use, mind). The front light flickers and the different flash frequencies no longer work - its either on full or off. The paint work has also chipped off quite a bit. I had a problem with the rear light whereby sometimes it would turn on and sometimes not - however I changed the battery and this seemed to fix the issue.
I consequently bought a second pair of lights to wear on my rucksack in case these failed again, but they have been fine the last month.
They have been soaked in the Glasgow rain plenty of times and I don't think this has been the cause of the problems so they are properly waterproof.
Quite expensive but I like the simple look and easy attachments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitmantommy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
easy to put on great beam and settings works well and makes you feel you can be seen when on your bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ReggieAW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pair of Basic Lights: Good Value & Durable

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
An excellent pair of entry-level lights. I have purchased a more expensive in the past and been disappointed by the quality of the grip. No such problem with this front light. Sleek and easy to fit to the bike itself, though battery fitting can be a bit fiddly with the rear light. All round, a recommended product for city commuters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
goodenwheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
These lights are small,light weight, bright and easy to install. I have these fitted to my felt road bike and they don't look out of place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lfcrule1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Decent lights at a good price

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: front light not the brightest
These lights are very easy to fit and good for on road use. The back light is incredibly bright,the front light, less so. Because of this I wouldn't recommend them for very poorly lit areas
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sgian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These lights are easy to attach to your bike.They are really good for commuting to work .Good set of lights for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scraggs73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good value. Very easy to fit, compact and lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
summerdolly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does exactly what you need it to

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
super small, super light and highly effective. exactly what you need from lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crewdie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased.

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
very good quality and very bright. brackets are a breeze to fit. prompt delivery too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye EL-UNO Front and Rapid 3 Rear Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ourford
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I read a few reviews online before I purchased these lights and I agree with most of the comments I read; the front light especially is very good, although I'm not sure about visibility from the side. The back light too is good and I love that they're so small. Whilst they wouldn't be suitable for cycling in poorly lit areas if you needed to see where you were going, for commuting they're brilliant and I would definitely buy these again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.