Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light

Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light

Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Review 1 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
13lee22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Cateye Rapid 5 Rear LED Light

Posted14 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fab light which is extremely bright, several modes to catch the eyes of passing traffic. Seems well put together and remained waterproof after heavy rainfall on first ride out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TomasE
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice light but not perfect

Posted14 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, good visibility
Cons: not well thought out, only 3 out of 5 leds actually useful, side visibility could be better
First impressions:
I never use blinking light on my bicycle as I think it's annoying and not as good for visibility as some people seem to believe. From personal experience driving a car at night I feel that it's much harder to determine the exact position of a blinking bicycle light than a steady light. (Try playing ping-pong in disco style strobe light - or emulate it by rapidly blinking your eyes - and you'll see what I mean.)
The problem with using a constant light mode is that it empties your batteries faster (15 h) than the blink mode (100 h). This light has a pulsating mode (50 h) that might be a decent compromise. The pulsating mode never goes completely black and is gentler on the eyes as the transition between soft and bright light is slower. The "rapid" mode (50 h) is a disco/strobe variant that I find way too annoying to be useful. The pulsating mode is significantly less bright than the constant mode though so I will probably be using the constant mode and get some rechargeable batteries for it. (Run times according to the box - not tested by me.)
At first I was a bit disappointed that only three of the five lights are used in the constant mode, but the center LED is very bright and has a very focused beam so it shouldn't be a problem. Rather it ought to be easier on the batteries than if all five LEDs were used. Since I'm only interested in the constant mode I think they could have made the light much smaller and used only three LEDs (the Rapid 3 is a good size but that one only uses ONE of the three LEDs in constant mode).
The side visibility is not quite what I expected. The outer LEDs are angled outwards, but at 50° rather than 90° so if you really care about side visibility additional handlebar or spoke lights might be a good investment.
While it's great that there are different "commands" to turn the light on and off (long press) than to switch light modes (short press) I really wish that they could have swapped them around. One generally selects a favorite light mode only once but switches the light on and off quite frequently. So why not have on/off be the short press?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam39
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant light!

Posted08 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this a few months ago and have used it almost every day. It has a good battery life, especially when on the flashing modes (the ones I use as cars see them easier). I also live in Swansea where it rains more often than not and the light is totally waterproof. It is easily attached and adjusted and easy to remove for when you're leaving your bike somewhere. Overall 10/10 and worth every penny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kitesurfersteve
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Wanted a vey bright light and this is exactly that. recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
okaym
Country:Turkey
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye Rapid 5

Posted23 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
i am happy with this product. Light is very bright. i wish it was waterproof.purchased when it was on sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rixs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not waterproof, but otherwise great

Posted13 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, not fully waterproof
I was delighted with the shape, brightness, flashing patterns etc. The power button needs a long press to switch on which is better than earlier models.
But it's not waterproof. In the real world, this won't do. It switches itself off repeatedly. You start riding thinking it's OK, then when you reach your destination you find it's off. Some droplet of moisture must have been bumped during the journey. Very hard to dry out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginger71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted18 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
So many functions which makes identification at night easy
Easy to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Varkie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Night rider!

Posted09 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Best light I've ever had. Good price and well made. Love the different flashing modes. Makes me feel safer in the streets of London. I have too many gadgets attached to my rear seat to fit vertically. Touches the backs of my legs slightly, but not uncomfortable at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chriph
Country:Australia

good visibility

Posted01 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Works well so far, nice range of cycles to choose from and I like being able to turn it on and off the same cycle without having to go through all the others.
Visibility seems good, not that I can really see myself from a distance, but the cover is really clear so I think it provides a very distinct light and snags motorists attention.
Could use a better attachment for your bike, but its design gives it flexibility for different thicknesses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ckboon
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superbly designed light with great visibilty

Posted27 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, super bright
Cons: not fully waterproof
1) Simple & effective bracket (SP11).
2) Compatible to Cateye LD100/110/120/500/600 Bracket.
3) Battery compartment is not waterproof. Same fault with TL610.
Much better than my old TL610 in terms of brightness & function. The light output is exceptional, much brighter than TL610. Even better value when it's discounted.
And I have the Rapid 3 as well, for its compact size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DeclanGaelic
London
 
Please wait while more information about DeclanGaelic is loaded.
Additional information about DeclanGaelic could not be loaded.
Agree with waterproof comment
Posted 07 July 2012
i don't think it is waterproof wither. the LD600 that i had rusted out the contacted in the end as it was no waterproof either
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eiji
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great product with fantastic range

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Huge improvement over the TL610 in terms of range, dispersion and throw. Can be seen from 150-200m away on regular roads.
Pick the Rapid 3 if you desire a more compact size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jams1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little thing

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very happy with my purchase. Was easy to mount onto the seatpost and the different settings for either constant light, blinking etc is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davelyn
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a must for any bikes

Posted01 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Used to have the older version cateye TL-610, similar rear light with 5 LEDs. But this is an improved version with unique light blinking pattern and more features. Very well designed, useful and hardy. What could you ask for more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
123FORDY
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

An exception well designed & manufactured light!!!

Posted28 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, safe to use, adiquit
Cons: not recomended for ---- verticle use can catch leg
No matter if you are down the country roads, or just travelling through the city streets, across fields and over hills in the dark out on a bike ride, training or doing a triathlon, this is the light for you. -
You will not be disapointed in this light you can see it at an amazing distance, once dark of course!
I have mine postioned in the upright position just under my seat, otherwise I would always be catching my leg if the light was in the vertical postion i.e in the straight line ---- position.
Great light if you want to be seen in the dark & keep safe.
Great light for all cyclists of all ages.
I shall definitily recomend.
Do not let the price put you off. Shop around & you will get a bargain!!!
I do not fault this light & I think personally it is an exceptionly well designed & built rear light.
You pay for the quality, luxury & the puriority to know this light has been built & designed by the highest standards to the highest safest possible capability of being seen i.e safty... this is the light for you... ideal for mountain bikes.
I'm running a Kona 2012 Limited Edition Mountain bike & I am a pro cyclist, raising charity all over the world on my bike for places like the NSPCC, The british Heart Foundation, Guide Dogs for the blind etc... whatever the charity I shall always try to help out... after all its helping others... & enjoying being out on my bike and getting pratice for the competions I also compete in with my mountain bike and team bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geronamid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light

Posted20 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great light. Not as bright as some others like the Nite Rider or Smart but its way more waterproof. You can actually use this light in the rain and it wont let water in.
I use this in all weathers and after 3 months of use its not let me down and shows no sign of water ingress.
Bracket is easy to fix and is sturdy enough.
Battery life seems very good. I'm yet to fully discharge the batteries - I use rechargables and recharge every 25 hours of use.
It has a good choice of flashing modes and remembers your choice so you dont need to cycle through the modes everytime you switch it on.
Spares are readily available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krgolf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly as advertised .Great purchase.

Posted14 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Used this light in poor visibility ,ran for two hours with no problems.
Exelent value with discount price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
brap
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

seems to turn itself off

Posted08 March 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
found after a short amount of use it turns itself off when riding along. It isn't immediate after turning it on and hasn't dimmed so don't think it can be the battery. It's bright and has lots of settings, although i only use the non-flashing one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeclanGaelic
from Sutton. Surrey
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very bright but wide

Posted20 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: exceptionally bright
Cons: too wide
I was looking at a few different lights before deciding on this one. Price was the deciding factor. This ligh was £20 when I bought it.
The central light is exceptional bright and the same as the smart R1. The R1 has the advantage of a group riding setting which that Cateye doesn't have. This won't be an issue if you don't ride in a group in the dark but is a neat feature.
The light clips into my existing Cateye clip so no messing there.
My only gripe is the width of it. If I mount it horizontal it hits the back of my legs. This may be my bike and my setup but it's at the eye line of seated car drivers so I prefer this.
You can easily overcome this by mounting it vertically.
Personally I feel that although it should be better than the rapid 3 but it is not, in this case I don't actually think that more lights leads to greater visability and would be equally as happy with the rapid 3.
I saw the rapid 3 in Evans in Wimbledon and thought it was good so went for the model above but I would have been just as happy with the rapid 3 model.
Despite this, I a pleased with the purchase and the light is eye piercing bright with fully charged batteries
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye TL Rapid 5 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cookeecut
from Piraeus, Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light / visibility

Posted10 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is one of the products whose advertising precisely matches the expected results.
The light comes with a number of flashing patterns but the rapid-5 pattern is particularly bright and distinctive.
I fitted this on a Dahon touring rack, using the rack adaptor, without a problem.
Demonstration
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.