Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat

Louis Garneau Matrix Hat

Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Rupilisko
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted09 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Fits well. I use it in those chilly morning rides where weather has been between -2 and 5 degrees and it has kept my head warm. Covers my ears well too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Jules101
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Recommendable - all pros, no cons

Posted28 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought this because it was described as seamless, and for my purpose it actually is (so there are no lines left in my head after use). It fits well for me and I can hear normally even though my ears are fully covered. Best thing is that after 1 week of use for morning commutes of 30 mins each it didn't smell. Cheaper than other models too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wmda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The product was as expected

Posted06 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fits like a glove and keeps the head chill free. It was well priced and delivered within days. So no complaints here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beachcomber8832
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good qaulity product and fits well under helmet

Posted06 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I would recommend this hat. It is a snug fit but means it fits under your helmet well and is surprisingly warm. Also covers the ears.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hojo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good windproof under helmet

Posted16 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not very warm
Does job if you want windproof under helmet and it's not freezing. Not warm enough when very cold but is a good fit and covers ears.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Westicles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, effective and cheap

Posted04 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, warm
Bought this hat recently after stumbling across it in a back-issue of Cycling Weekly, where it got 'product of the week' and scored 9/10. It fits brilliantly under a helmet and keeps your head nice and warm without any adverse affects on your ability to hear or causing excessive sweating (which, in the cold, would have an unpleasant effect).
Definitely glad I bought it and would recomment it to anyone - especially as Spring seems to be determined not to ever arrive. It has been an absolute godsend over the past few months of winter cycling.
My only regret is not getting one for my dad too: when we went cycling at the weekend, he opted for a bandana under his helmet in what can only be described as "The worst Marco Pantani look-a-like attempt ever"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cannondale10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Too small and tight

Posted03 February 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
I wanted an under helmet hat. This hat look like it fits a five year old - yes it is stretchy but even on my medium size head I found it far to tight and uncomfortable. Felt like my head was bing shrunk !
I swapped for another LG hat, not on line but in the store which it much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
amiletoofar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful on long cold rides

Posted02 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I didn't know what Matrix fabric was when I bought this - basically it's like Lycra. Out of the packet the hat looks very small but stretches to fit. I've got a large hat size but it's not too tight on me. Because the fabric is thin, there's no need to adjust your helmet at all. It pulls down over the ears so your ears are covered. I find it works well to keep the chill off your ears and head on longer rides, but is less good for short commutes because in itself it's not warm - it just traps the heat your body produces, and on a short ride you don't really get the heat going. The description says 'seamless' but that's only over the forehead area - so you won't get dents on your forehead, but you will over the rest of your head if you've got no hair! Another advantage is its small size and is lightweight, so easy to pop in a pocket when not wearing. For the price, it does its job well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnRT99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm and comfortable

Posted21 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I was worried that this might feel uncomfortable under my helmet but not a chance - fits well, helmet still fits snuggly on top and definitely keeps me warm in the coldest of weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RhyssieBoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome fitting and performance hat

Posted04 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Fits tight enough to keep the ears warm in biting winds and at higher speeds. If you're cycling to work and have frizzy/flowing locks to control like I do then I swear it keeps you dry too on cold wetter days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TeamMould
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps your ears warm

Posted15 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought the hat both for running and for wearing under a helmet when I get my bike next year.
I wore it out for a run yesterday and it kept my ear nice and warm even while been exposed to the elements on the Humber Bridge.
The only draw back of wearing it by itself is that it is not the most fashionable item. Though it will be ideal for wearing under a helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kyriacos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Not as good as I expected...

Posted15 October 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
In overall I am not impressed. It is cosy, but don't get excited... I found this hat to be quite noisy even though I am cycling at an average rate (on a mountain bike). In addition it is comfortable but still, don't get excited... I would say it is overpriced...
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J922
from UK
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for winter riding

Posted21 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this as a birthday present for my dad (who is slightly balding!) to keep his head warm on winter rides. He loves it! Good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SoulBoy67
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more cold ears !

Posted05 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great hat.Tight fit but comfortable and no more cold ears !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clacker
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted29 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I use the Matrix hat for both cycling & running as it offers enough protection to keep out the cold without overheating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Louis Garneau Matrix Hat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joejb
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Looks better than others

Posted22 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Keeps my head nice and warm and is comfy. Still looks a bit silly like all hats to be worn under helmets, but better than my endura one I lost and others i've tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.