Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chains or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain

KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain

Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Review 1 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pilot90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So tough

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I converted an old mtb into a rigid forked single speed, and my old shimano chain just felt unnervingly weak (I do rate shimano chains, just perhaps not for SS) - so I got this, and those issues are now gone, this is a PROPERLY sturdy chain. I no longer feel like the chain is going to snap on climbs and sprints, good news for my ghoulies and teeth!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gooby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

New chain. Feels good

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
New chain. So now my bike is super zippy. It also has great value for money as the price is less than ten pounds so I am quite happy with that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sk00
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain for singlespeed

Posted07 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great allround chain for singlespeed bike.Lasts through mud and rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
enjamin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Decent but noisy chain

Posted01 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: noisy
Easy to fit with the connecting link, though the one I received said something like 'non-reusable' so I'm guessing its not advised to use it repeatedly, easy enough to break the chain with a tool anyway.
I have found this chain to be a bit noisy but after some research online I have found a couple others with similar noise problems when coupled with the saw chainset that I'm using. Will be swapping it out for a Miche track chain and seeing if this offers any improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Groundforce2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

New Chain for use with Shimano Nexus Hub Gears

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These gears do not allow chain to pick up the slack as it wears so every so often new chain is needed. Went for this one as it is a bit more heavy duty. You will need to have a proper chain separator to adjust the length, was a bit of a strugle with my one but got it out with a bit of extra effort!.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Good standard chain

Posted01 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
For my 200km a week track commute bike, hoping its going to last. Little noisy on new chainring, but after plenty of lube its getting quieter. Last KMC chain lasted 2 years. Shouldn't the joining link be reuseable though?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
angelo60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good chain

Posted13 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality chain , no problem will last long time ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shinny123

Average

Posted26 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The chain is so so its decent priced, but it was quite hard to shorten to the length that I needed it to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrisanth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Qualty

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Value for money used over three weeks no problem so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Farmer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent single speed/fixie chain

Posted11 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good quality and strong chain.
I recommend that you make sure you have a good chain tool as it destroyed a rather flimsy one I had. Once I had bought a proper tool it was very easy to shorten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrcol99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good chain for a reasonable price

Posted27 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this chain a few weeks ago and have been running it on my fixie. It's running nice and smooth, good purchase that i would recommend to anyone with a single speed road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeVache
from Surbiton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Silky

Posted08 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Only just fitted this, so too early to tell whether wear is an issue or not. I hope not. I've had non-HD chains and they don't last very long at all - just a couple of months of commuting on my fixed Langster.
On the plus side, the drive chain is running silky smooth at the moment. It could be my supremem mechanic skills, or - more likely - the quality chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KMC Z510HX 1/8" Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluseman
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Joinin' the chain gang...

Posted15 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent heavy duty chain. I use this on a heavyweight beach cruiser stripped back for the track.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.