Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike

Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike

Pashley are one of our favourite cycle brands at Evans, we love their hand-crafted quality and the finish is second-to-none. They are made in Stratford-upon-Avon in a way that F.W. Evans himself would recognise, since lugged and brazed construction is still a highly-regarded method of building some of the most desirable frames. When Pashley agreed to build a bike for us based on their ever-popular Clubman model, the F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary bike was born. We chose a specification that would have been typical for an F.W. Evans cycle in the 50s and 60s. Touring and road bikes were F.W. Evan's speciality so a wide-ranging and lightweight tourer was the most suitable celebration of Evans' roots. Limited to a run of 90, each one is individually numbered and finished with powder-coated traditional F.W. Evans green paint. With Brooks leather saddle and bar tape, a triple Stronglight chainset with bar-end shifters and centre-pull callipers, this is a bicycle that any of us could load up and enjoy a weekend break seeing the quiet roads of the Peak district or week-long ride among the high passes of Italy. It's also a comfortable, high-mileage ride for the days when racing is the last thing on our minds. A unique and British-made bike for all road cyclists, whatever distance you have planned.
Overall rating:
3.2 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(5 reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 5 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
3 out of 5(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike
Review 1 for Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tweeter9
Country:Germany
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Touring/city riding in classic English style

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, style, ride
Cons: Expensive, fenders
Put almost 80km on the Evans Pashley. Exactly what I was hoping for. Good steel frame but not to heavy. Nice mix of Shimano components and like the gear ratio. Planning to use this as my get around bike and for long weekend ride with the family rather than taking out the race bike.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
guitarrichard

Beautiful traditional bike with modern features

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is a lovely traditional touring machine with a great 531 frame and some modern fittings - decent brakes, good gears with bar-end shifters which I find very convenient. It even comes with traditional bottle cages (much nicer than horrible plastic ones), Brooks bar tape and a Swift saddle which was comfortable from the off.
The front derailleur wasn't quite adjusted properly but this was easily corrected.
The packaging was superb and delivery by DPD excellent with good communications and information on exact arrival time.
Saturday delivery was requested but someone forgot to tick that box so it didn't happen. However, Evans customer services were excellent and redelivered the following day, refunding the delivery charge.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pepps
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The bike is not quality checked

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was very disappointed by this bike and have gone for a refund. Whilst the quality of components is excellent the toe clips on the pedals foul against the mudguard. It simply has not undergone the quality check necessary for a bike in this price range. Pashley have got it wrong.If you take a look at the picture you will see what I mean. Its a basic issue. However on the positive side Evans have been very helpful in resolving my problem and their no quibble returns policy does work!
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
davidsmonkeyroost
 
Please wait while more information about davidsmonkeyroost is loaded.
Additional information about davidsmonkeyroost could not be loaded.
Posted March 8, 2014
Welcome to toe clip overlap (TCO).http://lovelybike.blogspot.co.uk/2011/01/whos-afraid-of-toe-overlap.html
It's not a fault of the bike, design or otherwise. It's a specific style of bike. Makes for a more compact frame which gives it a more responsive ride.
It is surprising though, that it's not listed in the specification list. "Possibility of toe overlap? Yes or No" would help. Although I've never seen this on any website, perhaps it should be.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Uggati
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks Great But Handle With Care

PostedMarch 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, unstable, high gearing
This bike has a well-made and finished frameset by Pashley and the components are of high quality. The whole combination is attractive and hard to find these days. I really like the frame fittings for racks and fenders, sturdy wheels, Brooks saddle, brass bell and steel fenders. Riding the bike these last three months, however, has been a disappointment.
First, the bike arrived nicely boxed and with useful tools included, but it was improperly assembled. Checking it over thoroughly, I found the gear cable housings had been capped with the incorrect ends, and the bike would never shift properly. This is a serious mistake for a pro shop and for such an expensive bike. I decided to disassemble and reassemble the bike to make sure everything was OK. Evans Cycles did graciously reimburse me for my time and expenses.
Around the city at low speeds the bike is comfortable and stable, and actually pretty quick. After longer rides with mountain climbs and descents, I found some flaws.
First, the derailleurs and shifters do not work perfectly together, so indexed shifting is mediocre. Second, for serious climbing or loaded touring, the chainrings are too large. A 26-36-46 combination would be better. Third, the retro brake levers look nice, but they are uncomfortable and awkward to those of us used to Ergo or STI shifters. I will replace them.
Most importantly, the bike's front end shimmies on high-speed descents. It really scared me so now I brake my descents -- takes a lot of the fun out of it. I've checked all the usual causes, and it seems to me it may be a design flaw with the frame and fork. This is not unheard of, but it would limit what I can do with this expensive bike.
If you want an impressive-looking steel steed for casual and slow riding, buy the bike. It's getting harder and more expensive to find classic steel tourers, and this one has some cache as a limited edition.
But for a few bucks more you could buy something from a custom builder, and you would not have to deal with any unexpected stability issues.
+21points
27of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pashley / F.W. Evans 90th Anniversary Special Edition Touring Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wootty
from Brtistol
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was looking for something classic, old school, taking me back to my youth. Something I could commute on and to tour, perhaps LEJOG next year.
The first point to note was that there is a spec change - wich I only found out after I'd bought it. The rear mech is not a Shimano 105, its now a Deore. Apparantly the Sturmey Archer bar end shifter is an 8 speed and the 105's are now 10 speed, so they have fitted an 8 speed Deore instead along with an 8 speed rear cassett. I see that the website spec still says 105 and 27 gears!!
Secondly, first ride in, the front mech shifter jammed, fraying the cable and leaving me in middle ring, Luckily it was only 20 miles or so home so not a big deal. Repaired at Evans, but thats another story!
The ride is very quick for a steel frame and its lighter than other bikes of the same ilk. Its probably over geared now with the 8 speed cassett but I'll know more once i've ridden it fully laden over Dartmoor.
So all in all, great ride taking me right back to my youth. But it's let down by the downgraded spec and rear cassett perfromance - no offer of a refund either.
+33points
41of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
congokid
Worcs
 
Please wait while more information about congokid is loaded.
Additional information about congokid could not be loaded.
Really surprised to find this bike on the site...
Posted July 1, 2013
I wonder how it compares with my FW Evans gran turismo I bought at the shop in The Cut back in 1986 (long before online shopping).
Most of the components, including part of the front forks, have been replaced, but, 27 years on, it's still in regular use and feels great.
I have the original receipt around somewhere. It cost just shy of £570.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
bkkbiker
Bangkok
 
Please wait while more information about bkkbiker is loaded.
Additional information about bkkbiker could not be loaded.
Thanks for the 1-year follow-up...
Posted August 21, 2012
... as it clears the question about the wobble the previous reviewer posted
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
wootty
Brtistol
 
Please wait while more information about wootty is loaded.
Additional information about wootty could not be loaded.
Update after a year
Posted July 11, 2012
I've had this bike now for over a year and I can say that it's a fantastic ride. Gone on some long rides and a two week tour down cornwall. The steel frame, though a little heavy on the climbs is so smooth. The front forks are like built in shock absorbers. I've ridden the same routes on my Ali frame and only then do you realise how much this frame smoothes out the rough stuff. Even over the bridle ways the rough paths are smoothed away.
This is probably also the problem experienced by the other reviewer with wheel wobble. The ol' chewing gum motion on fast descents only happens when your loaded up. I use it to commute and on the way back there are some big downhill sections over 35 mph and with just one pannier there is no problems, rock solid. But when really loaded up on the touring hols with probs 25kg on the rear then the wobble came on. But by putting a bit of weight on the front the wobble was under control.
In the end this is a fantastic old school bike. My earlier problems with the bike were all sorted by the shop and I'm very happy with it.
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)