Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM

Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM

Training tools like the new Virtual Racer can turn any workout into a virtual matchup. This feature lets you race your previous bests or challenge any activities uploaded to the Garmin Connect site. Virtual Racer accounts for varying speeds and real-time conditions, so it's truly you vs. your opponent. Or, use the Virtual Partner function and see how you measure up to a static pace you set. Forerunner 610 also offers vibration alerts, which you can customize for time, distance, calories, heart rate or cadence. So, when you reach your targets, you'll feel a gentle vibration. When your workout's done, Forerunner 610 keeps working. It wirelessly uploads your run data to the Garmin Connect site when in range of your computer so you can go back and review your run on your own time. It works via ANT+ wireless technology and the USB stick that comes with your watch. No wires, no manual uploads, no sweat. At Garmin Connect you can see your activity on a map, view lap splits and explore activities from other users. Garmin Connect is Mac and PC compatible.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Review 1 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elw378
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Best performance watch I have ever bought!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This watch is perfect for both running and cycling, I have used it extensively since I bought it and wouldn't be without it. You do have to remember to charge it but that is so simple and I would rather charge it than have to send it away for battery replacements.
The touchscreen works very well although I haven't tried it with gloves yet and hope not to for at least a couple of months :-)
The features on this watch are brilliant and easily upload to the computer. I highly recommend this watch!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dws73
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well for running and cycling

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
Cons: touch screen scrolling can be tricky to work out
I bought this for the HRM and all the running features...but I also got the cycling cadence sensor which is excellent. This is not a triathalon watch but it excellent if you want a GPS to do cycling OR running. Get the cycling handle bar mount to make it easy to view too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hequiros

Great service, great product!

PostedMay 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am really happy, with this product, the very good service provided and this product in general. I recommend this watch/GPS for anyone looking for an excellent running tool. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dartsburger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product and not too large

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
At last I can keep track of how far I've been and check my progress against previous runs whilst training. Once i'd understood the set up with Garmin connect and Garmin training center everything is a doddle. Extremely easy to switch pages with the touch sensitive screen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clogpower
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent features, design and usability

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, features
The touch screen works very well, a great improvement over the 405cx I had previously. GPS lock is established quickly, even in urban surrounding.
The virtual partner feature is a nice motivation tool. Screen fields can be easily customised. The heart rate strap is comfortable and doesn't give spiks in the readings.
It looks good as a watch as well IMHO, not too big or flashy.
Overall a great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tdbooth91

Fantastic piece of kit!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, no maps, can't swim with it
Excellent. Does exactly what it says it should and more. Touch screen is great and works in all conditions that I've come across, even with running gloves. Very easy to use and has just about every capability you could ever want in a running/biking watch.
No issues with reliability as of yet, despite some people having issues with build quality, (not software).
Only maps missing, and fully waterproofing so that it could be used in the pool and it would be perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jana004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great way to increase your performance

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This watch finds satellites fast and is so accurate and easy to use. You can chose what the screen shows whilst you're running e.g. average overall pace, lap pace, current pace, time, distance, calories, heart rate, etc there are endless options. You can set it so just one screen shows or so that it pages through several at a speed you set. The hrm is very good too and comfortable. The data downloads instantly to your computer when the Garmin usb attachment is in your computer and then u can then analyse every step, including showing a map of your route. Great device!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
saz2012

Broke

PostedDecember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive
this watch froze after 4 months of use and the strap pin dropped out on my run and so the strap is broke to im not impressed with the money spent on it for it to break over £300 is alot of money for 4 months worth of use!!!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GMWO1
Age:35-44
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
Cons: Expensive
I recently bought this watch. I am not a professional runner, since I've been practising for six months only. The touch screen is easy to use and very reliable. Although it is a considerable amount of money, I recommend to buy it with the with HRM. Easy connection with PC. The software uploads (currently 2.4) are also very easy to install.
The Virtual Partner helps me to improve speed and performance.
The Training Center allows to study in detail your rates and the Garmin page helps to find new tracks if you are in another place.
Surely worth its money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Watch with HRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sloth01
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I'm by no means a hard-core runner or cyclist, but the Garmin Forerunner 610 certainly goes that extra mile to make you one! It's really easy to use and the touch screen is fantastic. The pacer function is really good as it makes you run just a little faster to try to keep up with the pace (goal) you set yourself. Just used the cycle function, on the cycle to work, and it's brilliant as well.
The GPS does take a minute or two to locate all the satellites, but once it locks on it pretty accurate and doesn't lose the signal.
Upload the data to the Garmin website and you'll all the stats at your finger tips.
Yes it is an expensive watch...but the price certainly motivates you use it and get out there!
A great running and cycling watch for the beginner to a professional!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.