Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brakes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper

Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper

Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Review 1 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, efficient, brake blocks not amazing

Posted17 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am happy with this product. Stops the bike, doesn't fall apart, not too heavy. Brake blocks are fine but not outstanding especially in wet weather so one might wish to upgrade these. Overall pretty good and good value I would say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, good value through price match
Cons: Expensive
Bought to replace bike suppliers own brand of brake caliper. Evans were not the cheapest until they price matched one of their competitors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great performance upgrade for the money

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
What a great brake for the money- solid feel at the lever, no wobbles, just replace the pads with cartridge ones when they wear out. Far better than the DT Axis that Specialized spec on the basic Roubaix
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Quality fitting

Posted13 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I went in to the store looking for a quick maintenance service. Despite the backlog, Evans were able to accommodate me. The brake calibers were sticking on my old bike. Evans replaced them with these high quality shimano brakes. They are a grade up on the shimano sora calibers that originally came with the bike. All very useful since I've just finished Lands End to John o Groats!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solid product, easy to install and adjust

Posted08 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This caliper is solid but light. It is very easy to install and has everything necessary for easy adjustment. Good for less-experienced bikers. I have replaced the original caliper on a road bike from the 80s, and it works great. The brake pads are high quality and work very well. I like the system that allows the proper angling of the pad against the rim. Overall recommended!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good price ítem

Posted30 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: poor quality break pad
Good product. I definetly recommend this breaks calipers if you want something good for a good price. The only problem is that the break pads are not very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted13 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Upgraded to these from stock Tektro calipers. The difference is night and day! Much more responsive with a smoother feel. Would recommend as a cheap upgrade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A worthwhile upgrade over unbranded calipers

Posted12 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this front caliper to replace my unbranded caliper that had stopped working correctly. This is a better caliper, it performs well with the brake pads supplied but I will upgrade these to catridge pads when they run out which I think will improve performance even more.
I wouldn't fit these to a high-end bike but for 20-odd notes you can't go wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano 4600 Tiagra Brake Caliper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it works

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
stops my bike at a good price, what more can i say?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.