Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket

Windstopper Active Shells are the lightest, most packable garments offering total windproofness, maximum breathability and water resistance. Windstopper Active Shells keep you comfortable for enhanced performance during highly aerobic activities.
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yowie1180
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

You get what you pay for

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had a cheaper jacket previously, noticed the difference with this jacket. Totally wind proof, not 100% breathable but still better than most other jackets I've tried. Overall would recommend this jacket. Bought in the sale so got for a good price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnthonyW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality jacket that really does 'windstop'

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This Jacket is superb. Really good quality feel, extremely light and compact and looks great.
Now the nights are getting colder, this is a godsend. Folded up it fitted in the back pocket of my jersey while the hot and sticky early evening ride was in progress. Once at the pub the sun went down and the chill started. I popped the jacket on, over bare arms, not expecting much but it really made a difference. Kept the chill off perfectly and the ride home was much more comfortable.
The jacket fits slightly slim with long arms and long back. You might find the front is a little short over the beer belly, but when riding it's perfect.
Really good quality materials and construction and I bought the red version which looks cool.
Great jacket and glad I've got it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZeBiker

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great jacket! I was looking for something light, that fits well and keeps me warm and dry - and that's just what I got with this product! I'm tempted to buy it in all the other colours!! ;)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
BlackTiger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First impression is that if feels cheap

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Couldn't decide between an Active Shell or a Softshell Gore jacket. I had purchased some Gore cycling pants, and that was enough for me to want more. The stuff is windproof, and lets face it, you'll get a lot of use out of it if you live in the UK. It's water resistant to a degree too. So that's the background. As for the Windstopper, it just felt cheap. If you spend that much on a jacket, at least fit and the feel of the thing should be good. I didn't find it so. Perhaps I'm just not clued up on this kinda garment, and while it is light weight, it just felt cheap. I didn't test it as I returned it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AnthonyW
East Midlands, UK
 
Please wait while more information about AnthonyW is loaded.
Additional information about AnthonyW could not be loaded.
I totally get what you mean but...
Posted August 10, 2013
I ordered this Jacket from elsewhere along with a Gore softshell jacket. I know exactly what you mean as I felt the softshell had more of a 'value for money' feeling as it was more substantial. These jackets are quite thin and kind of feel cheap, but that's the style of jacket... they are designed to be thin and lightweight and you'd probably wear them with base layers and pack in your pocket for emergencies.
I put it under the tap and droplets of water ran off and construction was superb. Quality seemed excellent so I do think it's style of jacket. I'm looking at buying one of these now it's reduced.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great product, a bit short on length though

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have windstoppers already for MTB but needed something light to wear as an outer layer in cooler conditions through Autumn / Early winter. Gore quality is top notch as always, but fit varies according to style and on this jacket I found it does ride up the waist a bit so you need to keep pulling it down. I have a long torso and also found it a little short on length at the front but perhaps that's just the styling.
I am a tall guy on 100kg and Xtra large is good on chest, arms and waist size.
Excellent price in sale, Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DM10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

excellent all round

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: sizing
Excellent windproof jacket, showerproff but definately not enough for a heavier shower! I bought a size Medium as I do with all my tops but it was a bit too small so exchanged it for a large and it fits perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toad67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a good looking jacket which packs into its own pocket. As with all Gore products the fit and finish is first rate.
It has excellent breathability, even in hot weather and on long climbs, also very visible for road use...throughly recommend this product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 2.0 Windstopper Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ChristianW
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too big

PostedMarch 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: loose fit
Jacket seems to be great in fuction but unfortunately it was to big round the waist. I've changed it for a diffrent jacket with at tighter fit.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.