Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Base Layers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt

Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmorrell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Massively functional product - Always wear it

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
It didn't take me long when i got back into riding to indentify that i'd benefit from something that will keep me dry. Here's why....
After sweating quite a lot out on the bike with a normal shirt on. I would come home very wet. And when riding if i stopped for a rest and it was cold outside, the sweat would go cold and i'd be feeling quite cold and unpleasantly wet.
This base now has been developed to push the moisture to the outside, and provide protection close to your skin against the uncoming wind. When i used to return home cold and wet. I get in and remove the base layer to find myself completely dry underneath - It really excells in keeping one dry.
Very highly recommend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aimant
Country:Azerbaijan
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing base layer for cold and windy days

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the best base layer I have ever had. This base performed amazingly well during windy cold days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishsolutions
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb product!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was a little sceptical about the merits of this wind stopper base layer given the price. The Evans discount of 15% helped and I was not disappointed. Thank you Evans! When I first felt the material I struggled to reconcile how it could possibly provide thermal comfort and wind protection at the same time. I needn't have been concerned. I have worn this wind stopper both under my Gore waterproof and as a standalone cycling across three European countries and can highly recommend it! I can't explain the science behind this product - that despite its apparent thinness - it still provides such excellant thermal properties, but it just works! Superb product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clarkie007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very warm

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, warm
This is a great cold weather base layer - down to -5. I use it below Castelli long sleeve jerseys and jackets. Toastie. Only minor criticism is that I can feel the seams underarm after long ride - but that may be due to me opting for an aero-fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product - just a shame it doesn't also come in white as the website had indicated.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mistry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is all you need

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant but expensive, but you pay for what you get.
Just had this baselayer and long sleeve jersey on and felt great in 0 degrees! Ace.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HDimages
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Its not cheap but it works

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I had some big reservations about spending so much on a top. However I am asthmatic and my chest and cold air is not a good mix so I took the plunge.
I wore this underneath an Altura Airstream Short Sleeve Jersey for its maiden voyage thinking it wasn't that cold/windy out! I totally and utterly miss judged the weather as half way into my ride the wind really started to pick-up and I was concerned.
At the end of the ride my extremities were cold but to the full credit of this top the penetrating cold to my chest/kidneys that I would have been expecting due to the driving wind was prevented.
Its an excellent base-layer for those colder months and well worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IThinkICan
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality as expect

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This is the third piece of Gore Bike Wear I have purchase. Continually impressed with the quality. I purchase this for Sydney (Aus) winter and it is just right and keeps me warm without being too hot when i wear under a simple jersey. I purchased the Large and I am 187cm and 85kg and it fits perfectly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boralb
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well!

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this windstopper baselayer shirt, as my thermal outlayer jacket wasn't completely windproof. They worked so well together, and then i bought another one.
I also have the shortsleeve versions, for warmer conditions...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phoenix1234

this product is very good

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great thermal shirt. keeps me warm in the cold mornings on my bikes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
moshe1
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm, tight fit, good moisture management

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very lightweight with tight fit. Excellent protection from winds, keeps your body almost dry. Good for very cold days - I used it around 4 degrees with power thermo jersy and a windstopper and felt comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Base Layer Windstopper Thermo Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daddycool
from Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm

PostedOctober 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, synthetic feel
A high quality product that will help to keep you warm when the temperatures are sub zero. However, as with many of the Gore products, it is a product that does the job in a professional, practical and clinical way. I often find that products with a more "coasy" touch become my long term pals.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.