Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Aeon Helmet

Giro Aeon Helmet

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Aeon Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hairylegs
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and comfy!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, airy
Cons: Expensive
Love this helmet. It is lightweight and airy. Very comfortable and the straps are great. I have the Ionos and this is tons better. I wasn't sure if it was money well spent but no regrets after wearing it on rides. Now, it's the helmet of choice. Anybody want my Ionos?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Storck07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet, really light and well ventilated.

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really pleased with the Giro Aeon helmet fits really well and is almost unnoticeable due to its light weight. Great ventilation so really cool. It would be nice if it was less expensive but you have to pay for the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tonyc777
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks great and really light

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Feels really light when wearing it
head keeps cool due to the great ventilation no matter how steep the climb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bj9k
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Very lightweight, but doesn't look as good in real-life as it does in the pictures. I have a long head and it didn't feel very comfortable. I sent it back. For the money I was expecting more from Giro.
I went for a Kask Vertigo instead - much better - I wouldn't go back to Giro.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Slovenia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking

The best

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I can't say anything but SUPERB for the helmet and for Evan's delivery. The helmet fits 100% on my 'egg' head without any helmet move around.
It's not cheap but worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smelly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is very light weight and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NigmaRyder
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Absolutely superb, but expensive.

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have used Giro helmets for nearly 20 years (Hamerhead SC, Atmos, Ionos, Advantage) and can honestly say the fit and comfort this helmet provides is way above anything else I've tried.
It's not just that its light, the straps just fit so much better being light and flexible. Rock lock is improved too.
I have only used mine briefly as keeping it for Sunday best and competitions replacing the Ionos.
I'm not too worried about the looks, won't be looking at myself in the mirror but it doesn't look any worse than any other lid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VeloRob
from West Yorkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet - if a touch expensive

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great roc-loc fit adjuster
Cons: Expensive
Needed a new road helmet to replace an aging Specialized Decibel.
Checked out a few of the usual suspects from the major manufacturers and found the Giro to be the best in terms of fit (obviously a personal head-shape thing) and weight. The Roc-loc fit adjuster is very good, a simple twist and you're set to go.
I did wonder whether the pursuit of light weight would mean lower build quality but so far that doesn't seem to be the case.
Looks good too, and a reasonable choice of colours including team options if you're into that replica look.
Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the price - it's a bit more expensive than some of it's obvious competitors but I thought it was wotth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Waza
from West Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

A lot of money!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
After wearing a Boardman Road helmet for three years, I thought I'd treat myself and decided on the Aeon.
Is it lighter? - yes; is it more comfortable? - no, not for my head anyway; is it better? - I wouldn't say it is.
The helmet itself is good, but I wouldn't say £160 good (I got 20% off). The pads are terrible and the first set disintegrated in a 30 degree wash. The fit system is good, but I wouldn't say it is better than any other.
Would I buy it again? Probably not. 100grams less than a £75.00 helmet is not going to make me go any faster!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Aeon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stamourp1
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Light, airy helmet

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The Aeon feels fairly sturdy, and the Roc Loc adjustment may be prefered to those who find the Prolight's fixed strap doesn't pull the helmet to their head as tightly as they would like.
Certainly the Aeon is light, much more so than the Ionos and it is noticeable when riding. Ventilation is excellent, definitely up there with the Ionos and night and day ahead of the stuffy Prolight.
If there's a downside it's the price, and there's nothing here to suggest the Aeon is better or worse than any other Giro helmet at the moment of truth. However it is significantly lighter and well ventilated so if these factors matter most to you then it is a good buy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Waza
West Midlands
 
Please wait while more information about Waza is loaded.
Additional information about Waza could not be loaded.
A lot of money!
Posted December 26, 2011
After wearing a Boardman Road helmet for three years, I thought I'd treat myself and decided on the Aeon.
Is it lighter? - yes; is it more comfortable? - no, not for my head anyway; is it better? - I wouldn't say it is.
The helmet itself is good, but I wouldn't say £160 good (I got 20% off). The pads are terrible and the first set disintegrated in a 30 degree wash. The fit system is good, but I wouldn't say it is better than any other.
Would I buy it all over again - no. If I wasn't such a gear freak, I'd stick with the Boardman. 100grams is not going to make me go any faster!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)