Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel

Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Review 1 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ro55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Light weight and good price!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brought as a replacement as previous wheel had a bust free-hub. Done about 250 miles trouble free, and has a replacable free-hub!
Light(ish) weight and good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaynana

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
second time i've bought a set of S500s for a second bike, great and as expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
manks87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Brilliant

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Exactly what I needed, a very reliable replacement wheel at a good price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hodge222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great product

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Brought as bargain wheel although performs as well as more expensive wheels . Very happy with purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JustRide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good basic wheel

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I needed a rear wheel in a hurry...this was the only one in store.
Does the job and wasn't too expensive...free wheel is quite quite as well, which is a bonus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fraser79
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought as a spare wheel for the turbo trainer. Doing exactly what I needed it for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timmy99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Rides hard and fast

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great wheels and traveling from A to B alot faster.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ade64105
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Light and strong wheel at very competitve price

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had to change rear wheel as I buckelled my previous wheel, Evans guys recommended this wheel and boy he was right, less heavy than my previous wheel and quicker to roll from stand-still as well.
Not to mention that it got good look as well - matched my bike Shimano 105 set
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve1960
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent value and well built wheel that spins quietly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VicLeeds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good basic wheel

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this as a replacement when my old wheel perished and its doing a job on my daily work-horse, coping with me jumping over the ever increasing potholes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SJR999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

bottom of the range wheel; good value

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this wheel as a replacement for a broken standard wheel that came with my bike. This is used as a winter training wheel and so far seems robust and works fine for what I want it for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Porpoise
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Training wheel

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this to use as a training wheel for the turbo, with a turbo training tyre on. Perfect, no complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
madaxe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Decent budget wheel

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Had to buy a new rear wheel in a hurry as couldn't find spoke for current broken wheel, and ordered hand-built ones were delayed. Fitted this and rode 118 miles first day - easy to put tyre on by hand, wheel looks good and is comfortable. No complaints for the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
supergooner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Solid wheel

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This wheel replaced my factory giant, seems as good solid over Londons potholes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wazk224
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Quality Wheel

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Wheel is smooth and looks great, I am very happy so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.