Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Wheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel

Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel

Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Review 1 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Botsteve
Country:Botswana
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Came standard on my BH Prisma road bike. No,problems so far, approx 1700km. Very smooth and great road holding on our rough roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hoopster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Chiswick

A good entry level wheel

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
A good quality wheel and reasonably priced too. I'm a courier and have had it in use thoroughly for the last three months and it has stayed perfectly true despite a lot of bumps and knocks. The wheel looks good too with its black paint work and black spokes which means you don't have to worry about it getting dirty and looking a scruffy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaz1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

value for money

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
not the greatest wheels in the world but pretty solid and well worth it for the amount you spend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Glugger

good value

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good value purchase, between quality build and price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Maccie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Efficient and trustworthy

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I use the wheel on my commuting bike and it has been fine with no problems. It is functional and perfectly stable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RHogg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great wheel for the price

PostedApril 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
You won't get much (if any better) for the price on this. A great wheel for a failed replacement (of a different brand). Quieter on freewheel and seems to deliver the power a little better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ro55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Light weight and good price!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brought as a replacement as previous wheel had a bust free-hub. Done about 250 miles trouble free, and has a replacable free-hub!
Light(ish) weight and good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaynana

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
second time i've bought a set of S500s for a second bike, great and as expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
manks87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Brilliant

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Exactly what I needed, a very reliable replacement wheel at a good price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hodge222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great product

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Brought as bargain wheel although performs as well as more expensive wheels . Very happy with purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JustRide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good basic wheel

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I needed a rear wheel in a hurry...this was the only one in store.
Does the job and wasn't too expensive...free wheel is quite quite as well, which is a bonus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fraser79
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought as a spare wheel for the turbo trainer. Doing exactly what I needed it for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timmy99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Rides hard and fast

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great wheels and traveling from A to B alot faster.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ade64105
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Light and strong wheel at very competitve price

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had to change rear wheel as I buckelled my previous wheel, Evans guys recommended this wheel and boy he was right, less heavy than my previous wheel and quicker to roll from stand-still as well.
Not to mention that it got good look as well - matched my bike Shimano 105 set
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve1960
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent value and well built wheel that spins quietly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VicLeeds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good basic wheel

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this as a replacement when my old wheel perished and its doing a job on my daily work-horse, coping with me jumping over the ever increasing potholes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SJR999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

bottom of the range wheel; good value

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this wheel as a replacement for a broken standard wheel that came with my bike. This is used as a winter training wheel and so far seems robust and works fine for what I want it for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Porpoise
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Training wheel

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this to use as a training wheel for the turbo, with a turbo training tyre on. Perfect, no complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
madaxe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Decent budget wheel

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Had to buy a new rear wheel in a hurry as couldn't find spoke for current broken wheel, and ordered hand-built ones were delayed. Fitted this and rode 118 miles first day - easy to put tyre on by hand, wheel looks good and is comfortable. No complaints for the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
supergooner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Solid wheel

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This wheel replaced my factory giant, seems as good solid over Londons potholes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>