Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Wheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel

Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel

Overall rating:
4.36 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Review 1 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jeroen0110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
good value whel. Notice no difference with previous one which was a slightly older model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GFox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Excellent replacement

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this wheel originally to use just on my turbo trainer so I didn't have to swap wheels all the time. I have nothing particularly special, my Boardman bike is fitted with CXP22 wheels with unknown hubs.
This wheel instantly improved everything about my bike training- I can ride faster, further and with a lower heart rate and when I stop pedalling the wheel still turns like on the road- unlike my original wheel which stops almost immediately.
On my first hour long ride, I was 4mph quicker and my heart rate dropped by 10bpm. It does make me wonder how much better a more expensive wheel could be?....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saloondrifter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Good quality

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I had this fitted to replace the original wheel which suffered from three broken spokes in 2 months.
So far this has had no problems, I will have to buy one for the front now so they both match.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ACookieMonster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Surprisingly good value

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Bought this in Kendal as an emergency replacement for my high-end wheel after the rear hub assembly started to fall apart fairly early into a coast to coast ride. Evans Kendal staff were brilliant - tried to patch my wheel to no avail and then went above and beyond by swapping my cassette over to the R500 for me (didn't fancy doing it myself in a car park!). The wheel itself was surprisingly good - being a lot heavier than my SR it was noticeably slower when climbing, but it rolled really well on the flat and felt pretty sure-footed and relatively nimble. Very pleasantly surprised and will probably keep it as a spare/turbo wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Botsteve
Country:Botswana
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Came standard on my BH Prisma road bike. No,problems so far, approx 1700km. Very smooth and great road holding on our rough roads.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hoopster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Chiswick

A good entry level wheel

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
A good quality wheel and reasonably priced too. I'm a courier and have had it in use thoroughly for the last three months and it has stayed perfectly true despite a lot of bumps and knocks. The wheel looks good too with its black paint work and black spokes which means you don't have to worry about it getting dirty and looking a scruffy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaz1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

value for money

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
not the greatest wheels in the world but pretty solid and well worth it for the amount you spend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Glugger

good value

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good value purchase, between quality build and price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Maccie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Efficient and trustworthy

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I use the wheel on my commuting bike and it has been fine with no problems. It is functional and perfectly stable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RHogg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great wheel for the price

PostedApril 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
You won't get much (if any better) for the price on this. A great wheel for a failed replacement (of a different brand). Quieter on freewheel and seems to deliver the power a little better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ro55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Light weight and good price!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brought as a replacement as previous wheel had a bust free-hub. Done about 250 miles trouble free, and has a replacable free-hub!
Light(ish) weight and good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaynana

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
second time i've bought a set of S500s for a second bike, great and as expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
manks87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Brilliant

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Exactly what I needed, a very reliable replacement wheel at a good price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hodge222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great product

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Brought as bargain wheel although performs as well as more expensive wheels . Very happy with purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JustRide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good basic wheel

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I needed a rear wheel in a hurry...this was the only one in store.
Does the job and wasn't too expensive...free wheel is quite quite as well, which is a bonus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fraser79
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought as a spare wheel for the turbo trainer. Doing exactly what I needed it for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timmy99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Rides hard and fast

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great wheels and traveling from A to B alot faster.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ade64105
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Light and strong wheel at very competitve price

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had to change rear wheel as I buckelled my previous wheel, Evans guys recommended this wheel and boy he was right, less heavy than my previous wheel and quicker to roll from stand-still as well.
Not to mention that it got good look as well - matched my bike Shimano 105 set
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve1960
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent value and well built wheel that spins quietly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R500 Clincher Rear Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VicLeeds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good basic wheel

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this as a replacement when my old wheel perished and its doing a job on my daily work-horse, coping with me jumping over the ever increasing potholes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>