Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel

Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Review 1 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gaz1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

great value for money

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
do exactly what i need, good balance of weight, quality and cost
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PrimaOne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value wheel

Posted16 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This was a very good value wheel. Evans supplied it with rim tape and it just needed an inner tube and tyre fitting before taking a successful sportive ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveG31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted10 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
A good wheel for the price. Had other parts replaced at the same time and very pleased with the result
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andresin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good budget wheels

Posted15 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The wheel looks good and stiff. The hub is smooth, what else i can say. If you want a good, cheap wheel go for this wheel.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
roughrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good budget replacement

Posted14 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Pothole killed original Bonty wheel rim so needed a quick replacement for next Sportive . Recently replaced rear with R500 so this is good choice for me. Looks good . Runs true even after 80 mile rugged ride on unfamiliar roads. Has 20 spokes compared with 32 on original wheel but is holding up well even with 83kg body weight. braking runs smoothly on machined rims. Takes tyres easily - Conti gator skin hard shell. So far so good
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jon81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Looks nice, cheap, maybe not that strong

Posted09 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I replaced my Mavic CPX22 rear wheel about 6 weeks ago. I thought they were pretty good as I had got about 5000-6000 miles on them without a problem - not even had to true them (until I cracked the rear - my own fault - big kerb)... I was recommended the Shimano by the guys in the shop.
They ride nice and smoothly and they look pretty good, but after about 6 weeks one of the spokes snapped off. As far as I'm aware I haven't been over any particuarly bad pot holes or bumps - I'm generally pretty careful.
I can only assume that either these wheels aren't so good for the heavy guy (I'm around 110kg) - or maybe it got knocked about a bit when I left it locked up somehwere. The jury's out I guess - but I think next time I might switch back to the Mavics just in case!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wazk224
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Excellent Wheel

Posted02 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have just fitted this wheel and it has been perfert so far. The price was also price matched and delivery quickly so I was really happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fred27

Good wheel and compatible with my Bianchi

Posted26 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had to get a new front wheel for my Bianchi and after learning that I was unable to get a direct replacement I was offered the Shimano R500.
It rides well and it doesn't even look out of place on my Bianchi.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R500 Clincher Front Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neath
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good looking front wheel.

Posted28 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A good budget front wheel, which rolls well and looks good too. As usual with Shimano they know how to produce good quality inexpensive cycling products, unlike other top of the range producers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.