Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals

Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals

Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

XT-ra Special Service

Posted20 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After reading many online reviews of the Shimano MTB pedals I finally decided on the M780's.
Visiting a branch of Evans in Milton Keynes I was able to thoroughly check out these amazing pedals from top to toe.
They are light weight, extremely well made and rotate smoothly thanks to the high end bearings that Shimano use. From what I have researched the XT pedals share the same running gear as their more expensive XTR brothers.
The staff also price matched the M780's for me too. All that was required was to show them the same product i had found online for cheaper.
Thank you Evans.
Great pedals, XT-ra Special Service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DOTY
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best SPDs!

Posted02 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Worth the extra over the cost of the M520s for the weight saving and better mud clearing. I think they have a wider platform too. Wouldn't put anything else on my best cyclocross or mountain bikes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
arkadius
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great Pedals.Good quality!

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good spd pedals.Check other stores price and ask for price match.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
InfiniteMonkey
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Work Well

Posted21 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good product. I've been using these for a couple of months now, and they've worked perfectly to date.
I would have done well over 1,000kms using these pedals and have no complaints so far.
First time I've had any clip on pedals and am happy with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
xyxpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good product but pricey

Posted06 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
They are pedals, they turn without squeaking and without any noticeable resistance, there is no play in the bearings and the cleat tension is adjustable what more can I say?. I want something that will last (years) so under the principle that you get what you pay for/buy cheap buy twice I opted for these rather pricey pedals. Time will tell.......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brumbear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Does the job

Posted21 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: they're not speedplay
I'm not a big fan of Shimano stuff, but it does the job. I have these on my MTB and my Tern Verge folder. Easy to maintain. Secure and easy to clip in and out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denzel2006
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great deal with Evans price promise

Posted05 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Had these before and the XTR and these were a good quality, good price version for my wife
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gbcarmona

Absolutely great

Posted04 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It's an XT! what else do i need to say…They are tricky at first to get used to, but you do get the benefits when climbing or going down steps, etc. The peddles feel really solid and good quality. Also Evans matched the price i got online from another shop, so i couldn't be happier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
geoffdastardly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent quality, great value for money

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Took some breaking in as a bit stiff at first, its been really muddy and not had any problems with clogged pedals great price for XT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Horace1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than the cheaper models

Posted06 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
To be honest I purchased better pedals than I thought I needed because I'd just got a new, rather smart looking and well specced bike and I did not want the pedals to let it down! However, as well as looking good the XT pedals seem easier to use and are more comfortable. I have not yet worked out why that is the case but it is. Perhaps the old expression that you get what you pay for is correct after all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sud34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

my first pair of clip ins....

Posted17 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
and they are great!
with my defroster boots i wont be slipping off the pedals in the wet anymore!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ullis

Posted14 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This product has good features and work just fine together with my shoes. Easy to calibrate the release function.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matts74
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent lightweight pedals that keps the fot in the right place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JFDK
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good for the price

Posted18 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very good pedals. Best for the money if you are on a budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
angelo
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Highly recommend

Posted09 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Love these pedals!!
Good quality, feels solid and smooth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smkm
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does the trick!

Posted31 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Use these on my road bike, using spds as shoes i have are mtb and i can walk into the office after cycling to work. Nice fit for spds, light nd with discount worth the money! :)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really impressed with the built quality - I would recommend these over the standard SPD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Murph01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

Posted11 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
Bought these to go with my new bike, upgraded from 520's and well worth it, great piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RPat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality pedals

Posted26 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
These are a nice set of pedals. The clipping action is easy and there is a nice positive click sound. The build quality seems very good. They were a little heavier then I expected but are still lighter then the lower end pedals. Unclipping can feel a little sticky but this may be down to lack of practice. Overall it's a great product and I'm pleased with them so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ShiroSK
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall good build & quality!

Posted11 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, easy clip/unclipping
Cons: Heavy
This is my 2nd pair of clipless SPD on my MTB. Build quality is good and clip/unclipping is crisp and easy, I pair it with the SH-M088LE shoes I also bought from Evan Cycles.
Beside a tat bit heavier, overall good MTB clipless pedal!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>