Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals

Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals

Overall rating:
4.81 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toad67

Posted31 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first clipless pedal. I have been using it for the last 3 weeks matched with some Specialised Rime shoes.
Easy to get in and out of, used them to complete the South Downs Way with no problems; great looking too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Range78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Couldn't ask for more.

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light, attractive, easy to fit and on top of all this, they are incredibly comfortable and look good on my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wrightysparks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

great and easy to find

Posted30 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Always rode egg beaters decided to change to the XT so that we could swap bikes on the trail but the increased platform size have made a real difference. I can't see me digging the crank brothers units back out of the draw in the near futur
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sergiu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Solid quality, as expected

Posted21 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought to temporarily replace a set of Shimano DX pedals; these seem better built, the cage is somewhat smaller though. You could argue that the resin case on the DX is actually more resilient to being abused, but the XT are better looking and seemingly better quality.
Fitting is easy enough as usual, but they must be tightened using an Allen key - there's no way to use a spanner. Make sure you put on some lithium or Teflon grease or something similar to prevent them from seizing once fitted.
The clipping strength adjustment is good - I get the feeling that a lot of people don't even realise it's there, but it's quite useful! I very much prefer a caged SPD, simply because I can use a normal shoe with it if really needed, plus it's easier to set off and clip in afterwards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boris01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
The cleats feel good and are very comfortable, easy to get in and out of. Not had much of a chance to test them out thoroughly although I am very pleased so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RolfGolf
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

Posted28 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought these for my new bike and have to say they are brilliant. Been riding with race pedals before, but when riding single tracks and trails, these are so much better.
Also don't seem to get so much dirt and mud stuck in the pedals anymore. Extremely pleased with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wardleymick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

simply outstanding

Posted23 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These pedals are manufactured to a very high standard and perform really well. with Evans' sale price, I feel as if I got a real bargain but would happily pay full price for this sort of quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Short12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted20 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These pedals are good. Bigger surface area for improved control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JR80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted14 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great all round pedals. Nice and light weight and having the cage around them just helps reassure if you need to unclip but keep some power going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yetifan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Very good pedal

Posted03 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great pedal, light and with supporting cage.would recommend to anyone looking for a good quality SPD pedal for trail use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid, reliable, looks great and performs well.

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is a really nice product, that will serve me well for quite a few years. It is solidly built, looks great on the bike and performs well. I haven't had any problems with it and I don't expect any. Another excellent Shimano product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
haris
Country:Cyprus
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good pedals

Posted28 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very Nice pedals. A bit heavy but are not lightweight pedals. Excellent combination with mavic shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RDJ619
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product - easy to fit and use

Posted08 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was extremely happy with these pedals. They were very easy to fit and great to use. I am a BMX athlete and using these pedals made riding a lot easier and I have not become unclipped at all. Also there is no mechanism on the sides of the pedals which can become loose and disappear.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dave01
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals

Posted28 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Easy adjustment, strong, good looking, easy cleaning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJ78
Country:Kazakhstan
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Highly recommend these pedals for any ride

Posted08 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very comfortable pedals. I use them during my city rides although they have been designed for xc style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jafcool
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

Posted18 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought these to replace my old shimano SPD with platform. What a diference. These pedals are great. I think that they are light... compare to my old ones.
I use them with the least tension possible, and i can still pull up the pedal without taking off the foot from the pedal.
Very easy way in and out.
I might be controversial, but i also use them for DH, and I like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptTugboat
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong & easy to use

Posted04 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I've used various types of Shimano SPD type pedals over the years and I've found these are probably the easiest to use so far. They aren't light, but these are obviously solidly constructed, so I'm expecting them to last a long time. The platform is a good size and even allows you to use shoes without clips, should you need to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
captainpasty
from buckinghamshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great pedals

Posted19 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I recently purchased these to update my original pair of the cheap shimano spd pedals.I wanted better contact between shoe and pedal but didnt want to give up spd's in favour of flat pedals.I can definately feel the sole of my shoe contacting with the pedal giving me better control when i need it.My only concern is that they feeel slightly clumbsy when trying to engage form pushing off.I would say that perhaps i still need to get used to them and make some further adjustments to the spring setting.A great quality product all round and i think they look great as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Macca66
from Sydney, australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Trail pedal

Posted13 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I wanted a more comfortable pedal, with no pressure point, easy entry and exit, good mud clearance.
This pedal meets all these points extremely well, plus has a good cage area which makes this a very comfortable pedal, which has no pressure points, and feels secure at all times.
I have used it in mud, no issues, and provides better ability to pull up on climbs out of the saddle.
A great trail pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M785 XT SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveAT
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb

Posted29 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Upgraded from the M520 pedals (which are an excellent little pedal too and are now on my road bike).
I love the way that new shape XT feels balanced across a much wider area. They feel very connected and safe but still quick to get out of in an emergency.
I ran flat pedals for ages before going the SPD route but have never looked back.
Flat pedals – better in an emergency. SPD’s - better in just about every other situation (although I have kept a set of V12’s just in case i every fancy going back ....)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>