Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals

Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals

Overall rating:
4.702 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
56 out of 57(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scottyhutch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Shimano quality

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
No issues with the peddles at all and I've done around 300 miles on them so far and not had to adjust them once as yet from new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Easy to fit and use

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit
Bought in conjunction with Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes having been recommended them both by the Fenchurch St store. Easy to fit and, once the tension has been adjusted on the cleat, are easy to use. If, like me, you are looking for an introductory pair of shoes and cleats then you can't go wrong with either of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

White cheaper

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, cheaper in white
Cons: Heavy, white not to all tastes
A good all-purpose double-sided SPD pedal with a decent footplate for riders trying clipless for the first time. It's Shimano, so quality is assured. Surprisingly heavy, though, and the (cheaper) white finish may not be to every taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hambone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Excellent pedal / Easy to clip in and out.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My first clipless pedal so I don't have much to comare against. My view is that it is easy to clip in and out of. They feel secure when clipped in so beyond these observationsI can't say too much.
I would highly recommend these pedals though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goldmember
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just a Really Good Pedal

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought a pair of these for my trusty old MTB - which is being pressed into commuter duties. The bike was already fitted with a pair of Shiman SPD 520 double-sided pedals - but I have to negotiate a nasty (and very busy) double roundabout on the commute route - so wanted a pedal that falls more easily underfoot for quick getaways.
These fitted the bill nicely. They are up to the usual Shimano quality and, in white, look great on the bike.
Engagement is crisp and release predictable. There is the usual range of tension adjustment available and they feel slick and, more importantly, strong. The large platform ticks the boxes that I needed - allowing me to simply stamp on the pedal and not worry too much about the cleat being precisely aligned from the off.
At the current price, they are a steal - and you even get a pair of cleats in the box!!! What's not to like!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cardia
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dual purpose SPD Pedal

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, may use without spd shoes, low price
Cons: Heavy, no reflectors
If lightweight pedals isn't your main concern Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals maybe your finest choice.
With solid and strong construction this pedals are very durable with low maintenance, easy to use and good price.
Its cage provides great and stable footboard to comfort and stand maximization during long range rides also allows to use without SPD specific shoes during funny low rides with your family.
I really recommend this product and I'd purchased one pair for me after a long time searching for a good pedals to use both on the trails as well with my little daughter rides. The only real bad thing about this pedals is the absence of embedded reflectors, if your wish him you may to look for an optional and specific model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1984phil

excellent!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Love these pedals. Very easy to get in and out of, look very nice and cheep as chips. Dont think you could go far wrong as either a starter set or replacement. Come with set of cleats too which is a bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy to use

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These pedals are really easy to use. They look great! You can also use these pedals without clip in shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phar

A good Pedal for anyone going Clipless on an MTB

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cheap, durable and gets the job done. Easy to use and fairly easy to install. The added platform is a good addition for a solid feel and balance when your standing on the pedals during a descend. Mud build-up is not a problem as these pedals are easy to clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SIZ123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Good first pair of SPD pedals

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, easy to use
In conjunction with my new cycling shoes, I bought these SPD pedals and have no complaints whatsoever. They are easy to clip in and I don't need to worry about which way the pedal is facing. The surface area is also large enough to use when wearing trainers rather than cycling shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bavaria

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I can use it for a cycling shoes and with normal shoes as it has the extensions of the side. very good and reliable product, and good values as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MIDI39
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Fabulous pedals -even for a novice!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought these pedals after purchasing a new pair of shoes for the very first time. I couldn't decide whether to opt for the SPD's combination or just clip ins. After much deliberation and assistance from Cookie- the helpful assistant, I purchased the pedals and fitted them and they are fabulous.
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike314
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great peddles!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First time I have gone clipless. Best thing I have ever done. Easy to mount and adjust. Clipping in is now second nature. They have changed my life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woody12345
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good value and easy to use

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
1st pair of clip in pedals. Surprisingly easy to locate cleat and clip in which may be due to larger surface area than other models.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ianqpr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good entry level pedal for MTB or commuting, easy to clip in and out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kikapu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Tough reliable and great value

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought these primarily because I needed some cleats for a new pair of shoes and it only cost £6 more to buy pedals with cleats. They use the same release mechanism and main axle and bearing structure as the non-platform 520 pedals that I have used for several years that just sit there and are 100% reliable, but with the slightly larger platform to give you something to push on when you can't get clipped in. You can perhaps save a few grammes going up to XT or XTR, but if you have fitted a dropper seat post this small weight gain is small in comparison.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JKay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good pedal, good price.

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My first purchase of a SPD pedal. Not my initial choice but after sound advice from the guys in-store, I opted for these. No regrets. Comfortable, and good solid clip in. Work really well with the shoes I purchased at the same time. Made my commute and casual rides feel much more secure and comfortable. Still just enough pedal to hop on quickly with normal trainers as well.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clinton6914

Can't fault them

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'm new to riding clip less pedals so went off the reviews and these came out top. I commute 20miles a day and ride trails these pedals do the job and haven't had a problem. Would highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ytsejam
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great value for the price

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
They are slightly heavy but they look good and easy to clip-in and out. It was much easier for me to get used to them than I thought it would be..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kirky09
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
First spd pedal have to say very impressed would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>