Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals

Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals

Overall rating:
4.662 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
73 out of 74Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Good starter clipless pedal.

Posted11 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
These were purchased for my wife as she enters the wonderful world of being clipped in. They are a standard Shimano product with the usual good level of quality you would expect. However, they feel surprisingly heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good all round

Posted23 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Used on my cyclocross for commuting in all weathers and on mud, gravel and tarmac routes. Smooth, sturdy comfortable. I feel able to get more power through these than previous pedals. Have tried to use with other shoes to save carrying an extra pair of shoes, but would only recommend this as a last resort.
Would be better if they had some reflective bits on them, but no great loss.
Ordered online at around 21:00 and picked up from store first thing next morning. Excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

feels good under foot....clips in nicely.

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Spd pedal that is easily adjustable clips in with a nice solid clunk. Supports the foot comfortably. Recommended by me to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Excellent

Posted21 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Had this type of peddles on my hybrid bike and thought it was good. So I decided to buy another pair for my mountain bike. It's came relatively cheap and possesses good quality. Fit perfectly to the bike without any hassle. Although, it's was new I did have difficulty of getting my shoe cleats clicking on. But after a few tries it's was fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals.

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these to use on a winter road bike, as I prefer to use MTB shoes in winter when the ground is wet or icy. These are good value, work-a-day pedals with variable tension and double sided. The black surround makes them comfortable when wearing non-cycling shoes on short journeys. Not the lightest if reducing bike weight is your aim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted20 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great pedal at half the cost of XT. Why buy anything else?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Pedal power

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great set of pedals as long as you are used to clipless.
My last bike had pedals that were platform one side and clipless the other of the pedal. great for building confidence. Now I wouldn't go back to platform.
Easy to adjust and clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pedal, great price

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
An excellent pedal that works as it should. the cage doesn't offer a massive amount more support over the standard version but makes clipping into and finding the pedal a lot easier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Kingston

Perfect for the job.

Posted16 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I have these on a new road bike. I've been using the M520s on an MTB. Nice to have a slightly larger contact patch when starting from the lights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Easy to use

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Not used SPD's before but found these so easy to set up and use.
Set to the weakest setting which is better for the new user like me
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good pedal for commuting.

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I've only used these with my cleats so far, however they are wide and flat enough for a quick ride with just a pair of trainers/shoes which is the main reason I chose them over eggbeaters.
Build quality is typical Shimano, with everything working as expected, and no problems so to speak.
They scratch a litte, but heck any pedal with scratch if you lean it against a wall/ ground/ scrape it with metal cleats.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Sturdy and reliable

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have always used these type of pedals they are completely bomb proof, easy to clip in and out of. Smooth and quiet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted13 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, gentle on the feet
Cons: Heavy
These pedals are great for touring, day riding etc. Compared with the non-platform SPD's, they give your feet great balanced support. I find after a prolonged ride with SPD's that my feet are often sore. my shoes have stiffened soles, but I can feel SPD's through them. With the trail pedal I feel no discomfort. I am looking forward to a week's touring next month using these pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

No fuss good quality spd's

Posted12 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I wanted 520's as I have on another bike but the Nottingham store didn't have any black ones in stock (they probably sold out as they were £19 vs silver at £26 for some reason) so Josh recommended these for a bit more money (£31) but said they were popular as they offer more support. I've used them for 550 miles - 115 miles in one day and had no problems and foot pain. I havn't adjusted them at all - just took them out of the box and screwed them on. Look nice - spot on!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

spd pedals with small platform, good versitility

Posted29 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
my first spd pedals ! so a bit apprehensive, like my first windsurfing harness. the staff at evans were great, as always, good advice, and very helpful , even fitting to one of their bikes to try out in the shop. I particularly like these pedals, having a small platform, I can nip up to the shop without having to put on special shoes. great product, and service, thank you !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great quality and great looking set of pedals!

Posted21 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good looking set of pedals offering simple and effective clipping in and out of. Tough platform allows for your foot to go down and engage easily with your shoe. Got them on my mtb and my cyclocross bike. Highly recommend them!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and to use

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
First experience of clipless pedals, and I am very pleased. Fitted without a problem. Took a bit of getting used to clipping in and out, but getting the hang of them now. Clipless pedals feel very secure and make pedalling seem more effective.
Would definitely recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Shimano quality

Posted22 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
No issues with the peddles at all and I've done around 300 miles on them so far and not had to adjust them once as yet from new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Easy to fit and use

Posted07 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit
Bought in conjunction with Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes having been recommended them both by the Fenchurch St store. Easy to fit and, once the tension has been adjusted on the cleat, are easy to use. If, like me, you are looking for an introductory pair of shoes and cleats then you can't go wrong with either of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

White cheaper

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, cheaper in white
Cons: Heavy, white not to all tastes
A good all-purpose double-sided SPD pedal with a decent footplate for riders trying clipless for the first time. It's Shimano, so quality is assured. Surprisingly heavy, though, and the (cheaper) white finish may not be to every taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>