Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set

Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Review 1 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SharkFodder

Great performance and value.

Posted21 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
No complaints whatsoever. Purchased both the front and rear units, matched them up with 180mm XT rotors, solid one finger braking performance. I did find myself cutting down the hoses and rebleeding, as they were both about 6 inches too long, but on a bike with more travel they would have been perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steven52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just bolt them on and ride.

Posted11 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought both front and back brakes. They were extremely easy to fit and the cables were plenty long eough for my 22" framed Marin Bobcat which has quite along frame. The brakes are good quality and I am very pleased with them and they saved time messing around with my old brakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TEKSING
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great Set Of Breaks

Posted28 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Smooth strong precise breaking.
Beautifully engineering.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amerikev
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding brakes

Posted10 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Having used Avid Juicy 3's for the last 8 years, I was a bit nervous on my first ride out but WOW was I impressed with the stopping power of these brakes... I would recommend these to anyone...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

good value brakes

Posted30 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these to replace a rear juicy 3 brake that had given up the ghost and after pricing up spares, skint knuckles and stress decided to buy these as they were nice and cheap.
The hardest part of fitting was removing the handlebar grip to get the lever on, but after fitting the lever and the brake it was very easy, no bleeding, no faff, sorted.
I now have levers that dont match but I am not bothered. The shimano lever has the same level of progression as the other juicy 3 lever so I am happy.
You may need some small cable ties depending on your bike style to secure the hose to the frame. There are none supplied in the box.
Ordered it online and picked up from local shop the next day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
celticwarrior
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality product

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
works as it should easy to fit very happy with the product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LTM225
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value brakes

Posted02 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these brakes after reading the What Mountain Bike magazine best brakes review after they were very highly rated.
I have been having on going problems with my current avid juicy 7 brakes for a while and decided to replace them with the shimano's after hearing that they're much more reliable.
The brakes were easy to install I had to shorten the hoses as I have a small framed MTB this was ok to do myself with a bit of forward planning and you tube research the brakes didn't need re-bleeding after this.
If you're not a hands on type of person I'd recommend getting someone who is to help you or take it to your LBS.
The levers are very short single finger levers this is worth bearing in mind if you prefer a longer lever.
Braking power is strong smooth and silent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
maverickbv80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Very good brake...powerfull and easy to use.

Posted25 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
In the last few weeks I've been on Llandegla, Cragg Quarry and I've done the Transpennine trail (coast 2 coast) with this brake.
Very confortable no problems at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thiago
from Brazil

Posted15 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The product is excellent, but did not say in the description of the item that is Left/Rear and Right/Front.
In most countries is the usual Left/Front and Right/Rear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Alex2012
 
Please wait while more information about Alex2012 is loaded.
Additional information about Alex2012 could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 01 June 2012
On my bike, the rear brake is left and the front brake also the left; are you saying these wont fit?
Thanks,
Alex
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Shimano M596 Deore Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FergieBoy26
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple, powerful and cheap

Posted07 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got this to replace my stock Hayes brakes and the difference is amazing. Easy to fit and set up. They are powerful from the start and didn't need bled straight out the box which is a bonus. Plus they use mineral oil which means when it comes time to do this it's not going to as dodgy as bleeding my Hayes which used dot fluid which is nasty stuff. Can't say how long pad life is yet I've not had them long but past Shimano brakes on other bikes have been great on this front. Levers feel good and are easy to adjust to your preference though they might be too short for some Wholehearted recommendation for these
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.