Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brakes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor

Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor

Overall rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Review 1 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

work well with XT brakes

Posted02 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Only one outing so far but feeling great. Using wit new 2012 XT brakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Another well manufactured Shimano Product

Posted24 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Shimano are to me the M&S of the cycling world, in that all of its products can be relied upon to be of a quality you can accept without question. But unlike M&S, which is viewed by some as a bit boring, lacking innovation and missing a wow factor, Shimano's stuff is always cutting edge, trend setting, and stylish. This remarkable rotor design is no different and it has spawned a plethora of look alike discs from other manufacturers. This actual rotor arrived beautifully packaged, and securely packed by Evans. It fitted perfectly onto my Canyon's DT hubs, and I loved the addition of the securing tabs for the fixing bolts, which were so simple in design yet delivering great security and peace of mind. The alloy spider and riveted sandwich construction disc, is certainly the most effective way to achieve a rotor which is less prone to heat induced fade or warping. I have to say the design is not new and was first put into production by Hope back in the 90's. Its ground breaking TiGlide hub and splined spider certainly stopped warping of the rotor on long Alpine descents. I can vouch for this first hand, as when fitted with splined TiGlides back and front, my multiple descents of the Plenny in Morzine was uneventful, whereas my chums with Formula and Hayes brakes had lots of issues with warp and fade. Hope's solution did not totally eradicate the fade issue though. Shimano has taken Hope's concept and improved it with the design of a sandwich disc, and this seems to have, along with non metal pistons and finned pads, put this particular gremlin to rest. Thanks Shimano for another well designed and manufactured product at an affordable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted24 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Just what I needed! Order came Very quickly and product is topnotch!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Big performance improvement for little outlay

Posted05 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, performance
Have replaved rotors previously, but these are far superior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Value for money and excellent product

Posted11 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
What can I say shimano have produced an excellent product at reason money. Does what it says on the tin. And the service received at the Gatwick branch was second to none. Always go there out of choice as this is fairly local and all the products are always in stock. Happy days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly what you expect from shimano

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great discs, stopped the squealing sound I had from solid disks. Easy to install and look great. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does not fit all

Posted14 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not always compatible
Purchased the 160 mm diameter ice rt86 xt's . They foul on my quad axis post mounted caliper disc pads , the centre resin rotor arms catch by more than 10 mm approx . A possible resolve to this would be to upgrade with post mount adapters to 180 mm ? 203 mm would certainly stop the issue . I was reluctant to jump up to 203 mm doing more xt rides than down hill . The increased outer circumference would give the calipers the required clearance . I personally opted for an alternative solid rotor and purchased hope 180 mm rotors , these were in abundance at the Gatwick showroom where staff provided relevant credit with no quibble , looks a great addition the shimano's but check clearance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth running with any caliper manufacturer!!

Posted17 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, faultless performance
After running numerous after market rotors, mainly due to them looking trick, I decided to try these as kept getting vague lever feel - which is unexpected from Hope V4's... And virtually off the bat they were superb. No change in braking consistancy, no dodgy noises, just got on and did the job 100%
That was on my V10 race bike - so to prove a point, also fitted these to my trail bike, combined with Hope E4's, and performance is equally as good.
So not matter what brakes you're running, fit these, you can't go wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cool

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
cant fault the price and spec of these rotors only thing i would suggest is the overall look to be a little prettier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

rt86 rotor

Posted06 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought with slx front & rear brakes, glad to get rid of those screaming avids I had on
The dogs wot nots
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice rotor

Posted19 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: ice tek only !!
I bought theses rotors purely based on looks as the drilled shimano steel rotors I had looked cheep and tacky and when you have spent over 2k on a bike you won't it to look right, I think you can only use resin pads with these but lucky for me my factory non series brakes came with the right pads
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Looks good, superb stopping power and reliable.

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Does what its supposed to, great braking with no overheating or warping. Typical Shimano quality, tried other rotor brands but always return to the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

wont keep your drink cold

Posted30 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Just moved from Avid to Shimano following years of pain trying to replace Avid pads. Got the XT breaks so thought i'd get the ice rotors to match. Seem ok at this stage, no negatives apart from the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more cooling down noise!

Posted04 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
though didn't notice superior power or other difference. maybe takes longer descends to tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great valus

Posted29 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I have already recommended these rotors to friends , easy fit look good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular

Nice

Posted01 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Overall the rotor is value for money
Experimented to hold the brake throughout a 100 m downhill. The temperature still remain cool as compared to my old rotor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Upgrade

Posted13 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, efficient
Upgraded to this 180mm rotor on the front from an avid 160mm. It comes with the rotor bolts (torx fitting - don't use an allen key). Looks the part and is very efficient - in fact you have to be careful not to pull on the brake with the same degree of grip otherwise you risk flying over the bars! I'm prepared to believe that these ice-tec rotors reduce heat build up but that's an assumption not based on actual measurement. I'm happy with them and pleased that I fitted them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from South Africa
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brilliant product!!

Posted13 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Recently a friend and i built up bikes that were pretty similar ,
one difference was our brake rotors , his were squeaky and not so great.. mine on the other hand are brilliant , quiet even when wet and work so well i can stop on a dime..
needless to say after seeing the performance of mine he changed his to the ice tech immediately thereafter..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

XTR Ice Rotor

Posted07 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Light, excellent quality. Excellent braking power and no fade. Highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from South Africa
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome new tech

Posted26 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Shimano have in my personal opinion been trailing sram and others with innovation in the last few years. They have certainly answered back with their Ice-Tec brake technology.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.