Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor

Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor

Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Review 1 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonHW
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

work well with XT brakes

Posted02 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Only one outing so far but feeling great. Using wit new 2012 XT brakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Looks good, superb stopping power and reliable.

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Does what its supposed to, great braking with no overheating or warping. Typical Shimano quality, tried other rotor brands but always return to the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gargantuan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

wont keep your drink cold

Posted30 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Just moved from Avid to Shimano following years of pain trying to replace Avid pads. Got the XT breaks so thought i'd get the ice rotors to match. Seem ok at this stage, no negatives apart from the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lioc

no more cooling down noise!

Posted04 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
though didn't notice superior power or other difference. maybe takes longer descends to tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elseie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great valus

Posted29 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I have already recommended these rotors to friends , easy fit look good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular

Nice

Posted01 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Overall the rotor is value for money
Experimented to hold the brake throughout a 100 m downhill. The temperature still remain cool as compared to my old rotor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cybi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Upgrade

Posted13 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, efficient
Upgraded to this 180mm rotor on the front from an avid 160mm. It comes with the rotor bolts (torx fitting - don't use an allen key). Looks the part and is very efficient - in fact you have to be careful not to pull on the brake with the same degree of grip otherwise you risk flying over the bars! I'm prepared to believe that these ice-tec rotors reduce heat build up but that's an assumption not based on actual measurement. I'm happy with them and pleased that I fitted them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
michaeljohn
from South Africa
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brilliant product!!

Posted13 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Recently a friend and i built up bikes that were pretty similar ,
one difference was our brake rotors , his were squeaky and not so great.. mine on the other hand are brilliant , quiet even when wet and work so well i can stop on a dime..
needless to say after seeing the performance of mine he changed his to the ice tech immediately thereafter..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaguarmk2
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

XTR Ice Rotor

Posted07 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Light, excellent quality. Excellent braking power and no fade. Highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano RT86 XT Ice-Tec 6-Bolt Disc Rotor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SeanCr
from South Africa
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome new tech

Posted26 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Shimano have in my personal opinion been trailing sram and others with innovation in the last few years. They have certainly answered back with their Ice-Tec brake technology.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.