Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring

Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Review 1 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jurassic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

why spend more

Posted04 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
it's a middle chain ring...not a lot more i can say really except fitting it did make a massive difference with the new cassette and chain i'd just fitted.
why spend £60 on a complete crankset when you can spend £11 replacing the worn out ring,plus a fiver for the chain ring bolt tool,don't forget to get one at the same time.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveP1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

4 arm chainring Shimano

Posted16 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very pretty with just the right number of teeth in all the right places
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Npngain1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and no flex

Posted30 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Light weight, looks good,very fast delivery. I would recommend this product. Cheap alternative to changing the crank set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
w1llb
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

did the job

Posted05 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Did exactly what i wanted, a bit pricey for what it was, but fixed the problem i had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Slee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basic Chainring, not bad.

Posted26 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
This is a basic chainring which has been produced by pressing it from a sheet of metal, this results if a few rough edges and overall lack of finishing. It is not a bad product and shifts and runs the chain OK. Price wise, when compared to more expensive chainrings, it either looks like worse value or makes an upgrade more attractive depending on your point of view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted22 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pretty basic product, but certainly does the job, installed with no fuss
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SteveStumjumper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for money

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Basic steel machined pressing.
May be heavier then aluminium equivalant but youl not notice weight.
You will however notice differance in price and differance in it lasting longer.
Big ring and granny ring, yes get aluminium - But middle ring which is used the most get this cheaper steel ring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pcollings
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted22 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
got this for my custom crankset ! great ! changed my life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SouthD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

M590 chain ring

Posted03 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Easy to fit, grey colour slightly different to expected but looks ok. Cost wise it is the low end of their products but the original lasted 1500 miles so for a few grams more compared to XT it is worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano FC-M590 Deore 4-Arm Chainring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3rdhand
from Lincolnshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

just the job

Posted18 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
What can I say about a chainring? I needed it, I saw it at Evans Cycles, I ordered it, I got it, I fitted it, I rode it, I ride it...it's a chainring from Evans Cycles! The ring is great but the service from Evans Cycles was truly superb! Price was good too!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Boatingbiker
Oxon
 
Please wait while more information about Boatingbiker is loaded.
Additional information about Boatingbiker could not be loaded.
Price of chainrings
Posted 17 October 2011
I loved my Doere M590 chainset when I got it. Now I need to change two chainrings- £53 the pair. New entire crankset £ 57. Where's the sense in that? Come on Shimano!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)