Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle

Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle

Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Review 1 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clog35
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Lovely comfortable seat.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, got mine through evens price match
Had a rather hard racing seat on my Boardman. Gave it a long trial but found eventually, it and my backside were not compatible. Looked across the web for a replacement and eventually opted for the Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow following on-site recommendations and the fact that I had purchased a Selle Italia seat a few years earlier (much cheaper version) for my road hybrid which has proved comfortable and very serviceable
Have now completed some 200 miles and the difference is amazing. Now my aches and pains have moved to other areas of my body!!
Would whole heartedly recommend but what is comfortable for me may not suit you! give it a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vambo60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good quality and comfortable.

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
First time out saddle was still a bit firm but second time was much improved and a significant improvement on the saddle originally fitted to the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pupster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great allrounder

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Really good quality for the money. Not a heavy saddle by any means and a lot more comfortable than most. Suits me well, 6'2" and 90kg.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lyno123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Sleek and comfy!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It looks great and makes for a pretty comfortable ride.
It's new so I'm not yet sure how it will hold out for longer rides - it's got less cushioning than some gel saddles I've had but for daily use, it's fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
LynnP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Ok saddle but white dye has worn off.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: white dye wears off
Haven't had too much chance to test the Saddle as I've had a coming together with the ground, keeping me off the bike. No problems fitting it and the saddle was pretty comfortable from the start. Mine is in white and where my shorts rub the sides the dye has rubbed off, showing red dye underneath, and this was after only a couple of short rides. It works as a saddle though so OK.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
simont2453
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Nicely made , wrong shape for me

PostedApril 3, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Ironically too much padding in the wrong places makes this a good looking saddle but not comfortable for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JustJonesey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

super comfortable

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
pricematched by Evans so excellent value, very comfortable,and White leather looks and feels quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris111
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Very comfy

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Very comfy, eliminates numbness from the old boy, doesn't take much getting used to unlike some seats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iwan
Country:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Personal soreness is banished. Can't believe the difference this seat has made. Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kostis
from Athens,Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great comfort for long rides on road and tri-bikes

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, ideal for tri and road bikes, rigid frame, soft padding
Cons: clean white colour after use
I've tried this saddle on a 2 hour ride (uphill & flat terrain) for first time yesterday on my road bike that has an aerobar installed, too. Proper saddle choice is a big issue for me, since my large body weight (100 kg) and the wide sit bones (I'm 1.93 m tall) have forced me to change saddles twice in the past, due to numbness and unpleasant discomfort caused in the "sensitive" areas.
In contrast to the failure of the previous models, I received a distinct positive feeling right away from the first minute I rode it. I didn't get any unpleasant pressure or any signs of pain throughout the ride, which I was normally getting after about 15min on my previous saddle models. It supports my sit bones well and remained comfortable even when I was on the aerobar. I think that the channel in the middle helps to achieve these good results.
It offered a stable and rigid (important during long rides and races, in my opinion) feeling and the 'wings' were retaining their shape despite the gel insertion but it still felt soft. A minor drawback is that the white colour might need a bit of cleaning after each(?) ride, due to the leather skin. However, I give 5 stars because it provided the best comfort I had so far and I've completely forgotten the issues I used to have with previous models.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
John77
from South Africa
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Saddle

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I recently purchased this saddle through the Evans Online shop. It was delivered to me, in South Africa, in 3 days which I thought was fantastic. I installed this saddle onto my MTB on Saturday and then, in my infinite wisdom, rode a 100km race on the Sunday. All I can say is that the Saddle was excellent. Apart from having to adjust to the new saddle, I had no numbness like with my previous saddle and it was really a comfortable ride.
The finish on the Saddle is top-class, price is excellent all-round highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.