Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock

Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock

Overall rating:
4.622 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 37(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Review 1 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jodabro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent Idea

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I value my bike above its retail price of £420 so spending £65 on a lock is really a no-brainer. This is a heavy duty security device that is both fashionable and effective. I read previous reviews and was initially sceptical about the weight and comfort when wearing the lock around the waist. I can only comment that when I have this on, it is comfortable, causes no restriction of movement, and as it's worn around the waist you do not feel any added weight.
Really pleased with this purchase and I would recommend anyone to take a look at this product before making what may be a rash decision on choosing a different lock.
Well Pleased!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roady1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is a fantastic lock and is very comfortable to ride in, i soon forgot i was wearing it, the Hiplok is also very easy to use, and gives me great confidence when leaving my bike unattended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amorsara
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy but still portable

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I love the Hiplock - this is my second one, since I lost the first one. I wouldn't have any other lock - it's sturdy enough that my bike feels secure, yet I can still carry it around fairly easily because I can wear it round my hips to absorb the weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJ87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Surprisingly wearable

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
When I first tried this on I feared it was a big mistake and would slow me down/be uncomfortable. But once I started cycling with it on I totally forgot about it. I really appreciate not having to put a permanent fixture on my new (beautiful) Cube and that it gives me more space to lock around than a d-lock, as well as not leaving marks or scratches on my frame. Because the lock itself is unlocked when you wear it, it is quicker to lock up than a normal d-lock. I think it looks good too. As is usual, only my bike frame is insured from theft so I doubled this lock up with the Hiplok pop-lock which is a quick way to secure my front wheel. You don't have to use your key when you lock it, just when you unlock it. Sits fine with the proper Hiplok around your waist too but you have to position it carefully so the poplock doesn't move, because the way the poplock is secured means one side can pop off if there is pressure from the big Hiplok. But I'm satisfied with the combo.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheBikeNuts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Genius!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
No clanking on the frame - no loose heavy weight in your backpack. Fits on your waist and you barely feel it after a couple of seconds.
Would recommend to all and sundry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JB191

Works better than expected

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
I expected this to be fiddly and awkward, and it's neither. It works well, and the Sold Secure Silver rating gives me some confidence that my bike is safe when I use it. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is that, although it's not ridiculously heavy, wearing it over a jacket does limit the breathability of your clothing, so it adds to overheating. While it's probably unavoidable, it means it's slightly less comfortable than I had expected. Overall I'd definitely still recommend it though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
twalker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Not to be worn with your best bib shorts!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: velcro damages clothing
As a chain lock this seems perfectly secure and usable, but the Velcro design does have a particular drawback if you are hoping to wear this with road shorts.
When riding, the lock will tend to roll and move with you, and in doing so the Velcro will gradually pick at your clothing, damaging it and leaving it frayed - ultimately over the course of a long ride it could even create holes.
Given the money it is possible to spend on bike shorts this is something you should most definitely be aware of! Perhaps the manufacturers could consider some kind of loop/hook or friction based fastening to avoid this problem?
How much this matters to you will probably depend on what you intend to wear with the lock - jeans and t shirt will probably be fine, but this does rather limit the locks usefulness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
victordagoalie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Wearable Chain Lock great idea

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock is the best lock ever. i have had this product for 2 weeks now and i dont even notice that im wearing it. people ask me. "is that a belt?" how i laugh. what a great idea. i would recommend this lock for anyone who rides a bike and needs to lock it up safely. as its very comfortable and easy to use. for me thisnthe perfect lock. perfrct size perfect all round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruskkyle

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very strong and well made product. Obviously on the heavy side but I have found that once it's strapped round my waist I forget it's there altogether. Can be a bit fiddly to work the lock but should speed up with practice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mregiraffe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Clapham

Good so far....

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
......at least I haven't had my bike nicked. Not light but if it was it wouldn't bode well! Comfortable to wear around your hips and doesn't seem as heavy as it would be in a bag (weird but true).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dale43
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great lock

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great lock feels well made and solid is quite heavy but is comfortable when worn round the waist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BianchiCommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Comfortable, does the job

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I wanted a simple lock for my single-speed bike that I could carry without a problem - this does the job nicely.
It's not a heavy-duty D-lock, but nor does it pretend to be. For something that is easy to carry and will secure your bike against casual thieves it's more than enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nosila
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Sold Secure and forget you're wearing it

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased this as I had to get a gold rated sold secure lock for insurance reasons. Really happy with this and it's great not to add weight to the bike. You dont notice it around your waist.
As others have said it isnt that long but does the trick - I dont worry about my bike now when I leave it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Nicole
London
 
Please wait while more information about Nicole is loaded.
Additional information about Nicole could not be loaded.
Not gold rated
Posted April 23, 2013
Just a word of advice - this is silver, not gold rated so you're risking your insurance not paying out! Having said that, I have one of these for a year and it feels nice and solid and I haven't had my bike stolen yet...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FJJ1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fantastic idea. Comfortable to wear and seems very solid and secure. Only negative point is that the keys feel a little flimsy so would recommend keeping the lock well oiled to avoid having to use too much force.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wobblyninja
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy to wear yet a solid chain

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Good solid chain would have liked it to be a bit longer but that would make it heavy so good compromise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
007jrb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Comfortable lock you can wear

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The lock is great for being light enough to wear without even noticing it because it's so snug against the body, Personally having it a couple of links longer would make it perfect and I'm not too sure how long the graphics will last on the cover but for my use it's just what I need. Nice design and comfortable to ride with. Pricey but stylish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CreakingGate
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great idea

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, reflective, easy to operate
The lock came quickly and is as described. It is heavy but when you wear it around you you don't really notice the weight. I haven't been out on the bike much lately due to bad weather, but I have tested the lock and it is easy to use and I can see that it is just what I wanted. - a high security lock that is easy to transport and which won't scratch my paintwork.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JeffB

Innovative but not perfect

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
The chain is much bigger than it looks in the photo, but it is robust and sufficiently long to anchor to street lamps and bike racks alike. By far its best feature is its portability; when worn one hardly notices it. There are a few quality issues: the plastic tab at the end of the Velcro strap started to come away from the stitching within the first week of use and the reflective lettering has already started to peel. I would, however, recommend this lock to those looking for an alternative to one mounted on the bike frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trickystitch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great idea that works

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Used the Hiplok for a week or two now. Works seamlessly . Once you are familiar with it you do not notice it. Secure Silver is on the only downside for the price but if you watch Youtube on how they cut these chains as long as you do not allow it to be pushed on to the ground once locked on the bike i.e. always lock high, it'll have to be be one tough guy that cuts these with bolt croppers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hiplok V1.50 Wearable Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rick13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great concept with minimised fuss

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Touch wood, my bike has not been stolen when unattended and I think this is due to the appearance and quality of the hip lock. Being wearable avoids wrapping it around the bike while in transit and is also comfortable. I don’t notice it when it’s on. Lock is a little fiddly but a squirt of WD40 smooth’s it out. It would great if the chain was slightly longer, say another 10cm, as this would allow the front wheel or another bike to be locked in some cases. Overall, it’s a great and in my opinion better that the D-lock in terms of practicality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>