Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair

Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Review 1 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thunderburd1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for occasional use.

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: quite small
I wanted some front panniers for occasional use, so decided to get these in lieu of the roller plus as they are considerably cheaper. They will go no where near the city but for touring trips. Quite stiff material but this might be because they are new and slightly small in volume and limiting as I can't overfill them due to the female clip housing being part of the bag, not on the closure like the roller plus. No internal dividers or strap but these are not necessary if you use them occasionally. I think overtime I'll get use to them, but if they were for regular use or extended touring I would probably go for the roller plus, even though they are more expensive. The city rollers are still Ortlieb, so virtually bombproof, excellent quality and good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
baggyshortsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what you would expect

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
For over 12 months I have been using a rucksack for my commute. It was convenient and easy to use but did leave me getting hot and often a bit sweaty.
I decided to try panniers. I went for the Ortlieb Front Roller City. I choose the product as it waterproof, reasonably priced, gets good reviews and has a capacity that should be enough to fit everything in for a day at work.
A single pannier has been all I have needed thus far. The smallest rucksack I was using had a 12L capacity. Just one pannier has a capacity of 12.5L. It does seem a bit bigger than the stated figure as it appears to be able to hold quite a bit more than the rucksack. Unlike a rucksack there is no organising compartments, the pannier is a single bucket into which stuff can be put. This is not a problem for me but if you wanted to use it for carting stuff around all day another bag would probably be required.
It fits onto the rack reasonably well. There is a single attachment hook at the back that works in tandem with the 2 hooks on the top. I use a bungee cord to reduce the rattling that happens when covering rough roads (that would be most of them then!).
Overall the product is doing a good job. To me it represents good value for money and appears to be well made. hopefully it will be durable enough for several years of use.
Improvements that could be made are an internal pocket or divider and another hook for keeping the bottom of the pannier attached and not banging on uneven surfaces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AztsG

Posted05 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Some say that Ortlieb pannier bags can withstand nuclear explosions and/or journeys to Space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iwood265
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ortlieb Front Roller City Pannier

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
As you'd expect from Ortlieb a quality bit of kit. I actually used one of these on the rear for a recent LEJOG ride. We travelled light and unsupported and one pannier was enough to transport my own personal kit for both on and off the bike for the 9 day ride. As you'd expect in this country we had very mixed weather and all my kit stayed perfectly dry. The mounting system is very simple and secure, it is supplied with different inserts so that it will fit different sized diameter rack tubing. The pannier itself is sturdy, easy to clean has the characteristic roll-top closure, with securing clasps at each side. There are scotchlite type reflective detail on the front and rear making them and you visible at night or in low light. It does not come with a carry strap, but it does have a carry handle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jwbr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent, waterproof, secure and functional.

Posted19 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, 100% waterproof
Used these for 4 days of cycle touring with periods of very heavy rain and a mixture of road, farm track and forest road cycling. They were secure on a low rider front rack, kept the contents dry and were easy to close and open.
I would recomend these to anyone for cycle touring or general day to day use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ratmush

Superb quality at a bargain price

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are my first set of panniers and I am delighted. They fit my Tern Uno perfectly and the quick attach/release mechanism is really practical. Don't look elsewhere by these. Fantastic service from Evans again, well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paul60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product. Simple.

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These city orlieb front roller panniers are well worth the money. Simple roll top function without the fuss of the classic version. Ok, they lack the inner pocket, centre strap and shoulder strap which I have ever had no use for. They still have the same brilliant rack connections and construction. The red/black city doesn't look any different from the classic, same quality but without the fuss of straps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
werdnauk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple Sturdy Flexible Panniers

Posted11 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, simple and flexible
Bought these as back panniers for my recently purchased Tern P24 h folding bike before a tour in France. I was worried that they would not fit the rack supplied on the bike and that I might have to purchase the deeper Tern Traveller rack. However, by adjusting the hook positions to the extreme end, I was able to get sufficient heel clearance but had to reattach the standard rear light with fishplates and screws to lower the body of the light tightly to the mudguard to allow the rear hooks to fully engage. The back clip just fitted on to the back of the elastic holding down strap.
The panniers are simpler than the front roller classics but that is to their benefit in use. They have to be carried by the attachment handle without the option of the shoulder straps of the classic and do not have a compression strap. They are cheaper, lighter and more flexible in my opinion.
The usual method of rolling the top 3 times and fixing the ends down to the sides ensures weatherproofing. However, the ends can be folded together once at the top with a carabiner slotting through the D-Rings. This gives an extra 2.5 litres of space without appreciably losing the weatherproofing. Additionally, on a clement day the tops can be left open for shopping with the carabiners locking the D-Rings to retain the goods whilst providing more than 5 litres of extra space per pannier. The same trick with the front roller classics would be more complicated.
They are well made, waterproof, flexible and have withstood rough track riding in the Forest of Fontainebleau.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rusty630
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant product with well considered design.

Posted27 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Ortlieb are the go to panniers and these live up to expectation. The lack of carry handle and closure strap (compared to the classic) has not been missed on our cycle holiday through France. If anything the simpler no fuss system works better. The water tightness has been tested multiple times with no sign of the slightest leak. We have experienced some condensation inside the bags though opening them for half an hour when in the sun fixes this. They have taken some hard knocks from falls and scrapes and show no signs of weakness. Would recommend in an instant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CommuterLady
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great product but a little noisy on rough surface

Posted25 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: can be noisy
I bought these panniers for a week's cycling holiday in the uk with the plan to use them afterwards on my commute to work (I've been using a basket for the last couple of years) .
They were great for my holiday. As other reviews have said they took a bit of time to adjust to fit my bike but it's definitely worth spending the time to get it right as then you never have to worry about them again - they just slip on and off really easily.
The size worked really well for what I needed and I like that they just have one big compartment so you can make good use of the space. For commuting I just need one to fit in my repair kit and a change of clothes and shoes, I've also used them for food shopping which they were really handy for.
The only cons I've found with them so far is that they don't come with carrying straps and the handles aren't great for carrying them long distances. I had to beg and borrow old lap top case straps for my holiday but will have to buy some proper ones soon.
The other issue is the noise they make when cycling on rough surfaces. I know they're designed for city commuting but a large part of my city commute is on a gravel canal path and because the mounting of the panniers is plastic they tend to rattle a bit against my metal frame. At first I was worried this would damage the panniers but it seems to be doing no harm, it's just an acoustic thing. This also happens on rough/potholed roads too. Not having used panniers before I don't know if this is an issue with other types or not.
My final point is a positive one. I've seen other reviews which have not known whether or not they will be fully waterproof due to a lack of rain. I can confirm that they are completely waterproof. I've used them in several hours of torrential rain and all the contents were dry when I came to open them again. I started lining them with bin bags just to be sure but have stopped doing that now as I'm confident no water will get in.
Overall I'm very pleased with this product, it felt like an indulgence for my holiday at the time of purchase but I'm sure I'll get many years of use out of them now. Delivery was quick and problem free.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoJo420

excellent

Posted09 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
There were my first pannier purchase and after some research I decided that ortlieb would be the best option for my requirements. They are just spot on for my daily cycle to work and I go along a country, dirt path, through muddy puddles and over bumpy terrain and so far they haven't let me down. One down side was the lack of carry straps but I just stole one from my hubbies old camera bag. My kit is always dry and they hold a lot more than my old rucksack. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brucey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted15 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very nicely made. With obvious quality that you only get from ortlieb. Excellent fitting and just what I wanted for some touring when the better weather gets here.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mole62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Simply the best

Posted27 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, practical
Cons: Expensive
Might be a little more expensive than some others , but the best by far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lupin3rd
Country:Japan
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Size, Good Protection

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Rain and dust are satisfactory.
Size is also good exactly and does not become the hindrance of a handle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ortlieb Front Roller City Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joan20
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for Child's Bike

Posted04 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought these for my child's 20" bike. Fit really well as back panniers and easy to attach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.