Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner

Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Review 1 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeD75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Decent bit of kit

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I had another chain cleaner which kept on jamming and got thrown away after a couple of months, so I was a bit suspicious about these things. But I've used my 'Muc-Off' several times now and it's been sound; dead easy-to-use, and it does the job really well.
It might seem pricey at first but it's well worth it when your gear-changing is slick and you can barely hear your chain go round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RDavill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Amazing Product

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use this product every couple of weeks to clean my bikes (road and MTB) as they get quite heavy usage and it works brilliantly. Just follow the simple instructions and within a few minutes the chain is looking as good as new, I would recommend Muc off bike cleaner to go along with this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
videonastie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit for chain cleaning.

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I purchased this along with the Muc-Off Ultimate Bicycle Kit. First thing first, it works. Cleaning the chain with this little bad boy is easy. Just pop the chain in, fill with chain cleaner & rotate chain, job done. It feels sturdy & not cheap & everything comes out for easy cleaning. I just soak the whole thing in hot water & leave to dry. Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PunctureVictim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use, does the job.

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fits together easily, gives the chain a good clean. I haven't tried other chain cleaners to compare but I'm perfectly happy with this one. I used "gunk" general purpose degreaser and the chain came out spangly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ScottPro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job as described

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: it's quick
Cons: Expensive
Cleans the chain well, quickly. This is favourved over spending ages cleaning the chain bit by bit with a toothbrush. Evans were happy to price match the the product as I'd found it a little less elsewhere (and to be fair, this is just a plastic shell with lots of brushes in it, so you're paying the price for the R&D and profit. It saves you a lot of time, and you will hopefully only have to buy it once though, so it'd say justified.
Note, the only downside is that you do have to quickly scrub the bits of the back deraileur first, otherwise it'll just go back onto the chain. To do this you could buy something like the muc-off brush etc.. or I found a cheaper solution - 9p per toothbrush at the local supermarket, and then throw it away, because you'll never get the oil and grime off any brush!
I used the muc-off drivechain cleaner (check their website for the one you need) with this. I didnt pour in as much as they do on the video, because my chain wasnt that dirty, so it seemed silly to waste expensive solution on a pretty clean chain.
I'd recommend it to friends.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TGB1982
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works brilliantly

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, efficient
Cons: slightly tricky first use
Really good product, works really quickly and efficiently to clean your chain. Left it sparkling clean with 5 minutes of work.
The instructions on the manufacturer's website are very helpful for setting up first time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BianchiBoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic model

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to use, inexpensive, reasonably robust - does the job !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goudster

great idea

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, effective
A great bit of kit for cleaning the chain, easy to use, just follow the clear instructions.
Only problem i had was unfastening it from the chain, and don't use it on a surface you want to keep clean as it will drip.
Overall an excellent tool.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.