Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Wheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset

Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Review 1 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
michael1967
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Best £250 ever spent on cycling gear.

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
My bike is a synapse 5 which was already a very good bike with rs11s wheels.Fitted the zondas could not believe the difference on the flat,climbing and descending.But most of all the quality of the ride,if you do fit these wheels you will not be disappointed they will transform any bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Golfr32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Wheelset

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Initial impressions are good with no flex from the rear and spin up nice and smoothly. Average speed is slightly up but these come into there own when sprinting, Highly recommended !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bayliss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome

Posted24 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
really smooth. Good price! Awesome set it up with Shimano Dura ace groupset.
I highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stephen007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic wheelset and wonderful addition to bike

Posted19 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After much research and deliberations I eventually purchased the Zondas for my Specialized Roubaix. Purchased in the main for the summer months to replace the standard Axis wheels which are fine for winter weather, but a little heavy for those planned long summer rides/sportives. Zondas straight out of the (extremely well packaged) box and on the bike for a quick test run whilst there is a gap in the winter weather, and the difference is considerable. Very light and extremely responsive, and as for the design, they are very well engineered and extremely pleasing on the eye, especially the Mega G3 set up at the rear, which in my opinion adds a bit of 'spice' to the bike visually. I was a little concerned about comfort but still running 25c tyres and haven't noticed any considerable difference in that area but time will tell on much longer rides. That said I get a feeling from the rides so far they will be fine. People say that changing stock supplied wheels is the best upgrade to any bike, I wasn't sure personally but I have to say these have really made a difference, even at this early stage, and the weight difference alone is very noticeable. I think this summer is going to be extremely enjoyable especially on those long climbs. With a better set of Conti GT4000S II which should take some more weight and rolling resistance out and transfer that in to better speed, acceleration and climbing ability, things are only going to get better.
Like most things with bikes it is a lot of money, I am really pleased with my purchase. It is a proverbial minefield and entirely confusing with the variety of wheels available but what I would say is if you are considering a wheel change/upgrade, in my opinion the Campagnolo Zondas are worth a look.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wsb679
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great wheels, great price, great service

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Quality wheels from Campagnolo at a great price from Evans, Ordered online, picked up next day from local store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lesley12345
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Highly recommended

Posted22 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I think these wheels hit the sweet spot for price, durability and weight.
They are incredibly smooth running and handle really well.
They also look great and I've had lots of compliments about them.
Can't recommend these wheels enough as an upgrade.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmtch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, stiff and fast, highly recommend

Posted10 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchased these as a replacement for the Shimano R501's that came on my bike, don't get me wrong the R501's are a good winter set of training wheels. These feel a lot lighter and a lot stiffer, they accelerate fantastically more noticeable on climbs.
they exude italian style and precision engineering, fantastic value.
If you want a responsive fast ride these are for you, not quite as comfotable as the R501's but much more rewarding. As a point you don't need rim tape with these wheels, i purchased some by mistake!!!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rossi2020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bullet proof

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got these last minute for a tour of British Tour de France stages last week . Put pro 4 tyres on and where perfect all week . Good up hills and stable on fast downs ,55 mph + good buy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bevan1961
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent product !

Posted05 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Absolutely delighted - light, fast, look good and very competitive price from Evans. Great in-store help, advice and service. Definitely recommend product and seller !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rude
from Johannesburg
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stiff,quiet training wheels

Posted21 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Out of the box, the Campagnolo quality is immediately evident.
It is an attractive wheelset, with the unique rear wheel lacing pattern definitely catches the eye.
Out on the tar, the wheels are stiff and remarkably silent, even when freewheel spinning. The wheels give lots of feedback from the road surface, transmitting every bump and dip to the frame and rider. (this is very noticible when changing from carbon 58mm deep sections.)
Bearings spin very smoothly, wheels have stayed true over the first 200km.
I have fitted Vittoria Rubino Pro tires with conti Race28 tubes to the wheelset, it was quite a tight fit, but not unmanageable. No soap and water needed.
I have had no need to try the tubeless setup yet, as tire choices are limited, and the condition of SA roads leaves much to be desired.
I am quite pleased with the wheelset so far. It is not the lightest wheelset, but should work well for training and heavy wind days.
The parcel was well packaged by Evans, and DHL had them to me in 2 working days, great!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.