Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Wheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset

Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 21Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Review 1 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good set of wheels but...

Posted07 January 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
First of all let me say that the wheels are amazing, super light, stiff, pick up the speed super well...
But I had to return my ones, only after 100 miles they start developing a bubbling effect on the braking surface. It was like the aluminium was coming from in little bits for the rim surface.
And yes, I did put a new set of brake blocks when I put the new wheels on the bike.
Decided to return the wheels and buy something else just because i was concern that it could happen again.
If it wasn't for this i would still be happy with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Excellent wheels and great value.

Posted28 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Having been looking to upgrade the current wheels on my main bike for a while now and I have reviewed other people's comments on the Campagnolo Zhonda wheel set, which were all positive, so took the plunge on my first upgrade. Got sensible advice from the lads in Evans at Spitalfields, got the wheels at a great price and received them quickly as well.
Rode a 70 mile sportive with them and they were everything all the other reviews had said.
Next step is to loose two stone more and I may get up the hills quicker.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A sense of speed..

Posted12 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Replaced my aksium race with this Zonda wheels. I am happy that I did. A feeling of more speed....approx. 1 km more average speed. A feeling of more speed when climbing. Nice sound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, lightweight wheels

Posted27 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
For a midrange wheel these are great. I bought them for my first self-build bike, replacing a basic road bike with basic wheels. Whilst the new bike as a whole is better, I am sure the wheels do their bit - they are 500g lighter for one thing - and the bike now feels like its top speed is more than the rider's top speed! They look great too. I have heard these described as giving a bit of a harsh ride, but I haven't found that to be the case, although that may be due to moving from an aluminium to a carbon frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great wheels

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Was a little sceptical if these would make any difference but around 90 seconds quicker over my standard hilly 20 mile quick route. Very smooth and quiet ride too. Well worth the money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look great, and good service from Evans

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The first wheel set to arrive had a fault, and Evans sorted it out with little hassle. The second wheel set worked out fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Very pleased with speed increase

Posted01 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these because I was looking to upgrade my stock wheels from my Giant TCR Composite bought last year.
Speeds have increased by about 1 mile an hour since using and the ride is also quieter.
Went over quite a large pothole the other day and the wheels both are true still.
These are supposedly the same wheels as the Fulcrum Racing 3s, which in theory I should have bought given that I have a Shimano groupset on my bike, but, to me it doesn't matter mixing Campag and Shimano on the same bike, the Fulcrums were about £70 dearer so a no brainer for me.
I suspect that for any bike up to £2,000 these would represent a good upgrade over the stock wheels, certainly for me, with my £1,300 bike they are a significant upgrade.
Here's to many happy miles of cycling on these.
I especially like the rear spoke pattern.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Campagnolo zonda wheels

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great wheelset at a good price & excellent service from evans cycles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick, Light and Smooth

Posted11 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these as an upgrade to some stock wheels which weighed a little over 2kg, these take my rides to a whole new level. Having run both old and new wheels on the same type of tyre (Conti Grand Prix's) it's not just the speed and lightness but also the feel and responsiveness on the road which has impressed me.
Whilst I'm not able to compare these to alternative wheel upgrades for sub £300 I couldn't be happier. They also look pretty cool.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, light weight wheel

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Light, quick to accelerate and very good value for money.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

Posted17 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Noticeable difference to bike handling
Extra 8-10 miles covered in 2-3 hour ride
Didn't believe it at first but after a couple of repeat rides can't argue with results
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Best £250 ever spent on cycling gear.

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
My bike is a synapse 5 which was already a very good bike with rs11s wheels.Fitted the zondas could not believe the difference on the flat,climbing and descending.But most of all the quality of the ride,if you do fit these wheels you will not be disappointed they will transform any bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Wheelset

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Initial impressions are good with no flex from the rear and spin up nice and smoothly. Average speed is slightly up but these come into there own when sprinting, Highly recommended !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome

Posted24 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
really smooth. Good price! Awesome set it up with Shimano Dura ace groupset.
I highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic wheelset and wonderful addition to bike

Posted19 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After much research and deliberations I eventually purchased the Zondas for my Specialized Roubaix. Purchased in the main for the summer months to replace the standard Axis wheels which are fine for winter weather, but a little heavy for those planned long summer rides/sportives. Zondas straight out of the (extremely well packaged) box and on the bike for a quick test run whilst there is a gap in the winter weather, and the difference is considerable. Very light and extremely responsive, and as for the design, they are very well engineered and extremely pleasing on the eye, especially the Mega G3 set up at the rear, which in my opinion adds a bit of 'spice' to the bike visually. I was a little concerned about comfort but still running 25c tyres and haven't noticed any considerable difference in that area but time will tell on much longer rides. That said I get a feeling from the rides so far they will be fine. People say that changing stock supplied wheels is the best upgrade to any bike, I wasn't sure personally but I have to say these have really made a difference, even at this early stage, and the weight difference alone is very noticeable. I think this summer is going to be extremely enjoyable especially on those long climbs. With a better set of Conti GT4000S II which should take some more weight and rolling resistance out and transfer that in to better speed, acceleration and climbing ability, things are only going to get better.
Like most things with bikes it is a lot of money, I am really pleased with my purchase. It is a proverbial minefield and entirely confusing with the variety of wheels available but what I would say is if you are considering a wheel change/upgrade, in my opinion the Campagnolo Zondas are worth a look.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great wheels, great price, great service

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Quality wheels from Campagnolo at a great price from Evans, Ordered online, picked up next day from local store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Highly recommended

Posted22 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I think these wheels hit the sweet spot for price, durability and weight.
They are incredibly smooth running and handle really well.
They also look great and I've had lots of compliments about them.
Can't recommend these wheels enough as an upgrade.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, stiff and fast, highly recommend

Posted10 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchased these as a replacement for the Shimano R501's that came on my bike, don't get me wrong the R501's are a good winter set of training wheels. These feel a lot lighter and a lot stiffer, they accelerate fantastically more noticeable on climbs.
they exude italian style and precision engineering, fantastic value.
If you want a responsive fast ride these are for you, not quite as comfotable as the R501's but much more rewarding. As a point you don't need rim tape with these wheels, i purchased some by mistake!!!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bullet proof

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got these last minute for a tour of British Tour de France stages last week . Put pro 4 tyres on and where perfect all week . Good up hills and stable on fast downs ,55 mph + good buy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Campagnolo Zonda Shimano Compatible Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent product !

Posted05 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Absolutely delighted - light, fast, look good and very competitive price from Evans. Great in-store help, advice and service. Definitely recommend product and seller !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>