Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals

Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals

The low profile design increases road clearance for increased confidence when slicing through corners and large binding target allows quick engagement while wide cleats provides more efficient pedalling. The Stainless Steel pedal body plate for increased durability and low maintenance sealed cartridge axle unit.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stew101

Does exactly what it says

Posted30 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A good, lightweight pedal, no complaints. It looks good and feels solid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptCarbon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lightweight Carbon Pedals

Posted13 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These are a matt carbon finish which matched my bike well. They're lightweight and without the extra over cost for Dura-Ace. I also bought these as the tension on the pedal cleat is adjustable.
They do not fit with pedal spanners but an allen key. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Millphex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look great, very light & great price (price matche

Posted17 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had standard ultegra pedals for a few years, upgraded to the carbon pedals as matched my new bike!. Look great and really good quality. Got for a great price due to Evans price matching.
Really light, only had a few weeks so can't comment on durability at this point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
greengrass
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great value and quality

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
the quality of lower tier components under the pro level dura ace these
days is very good,light,well finished,priced well,good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JC100
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these to replace a pair of Shimano 6700 Ultegra standard pedals that I also bought from Evans Cycles. There was nothing wrong with them, they were great, I just wanted some lighter pedals and with the carbon version I got it. I had no hesitation buying the carbon version because I like the non-carbon ones so much. They save a considerable amount of rotational mass so to me are worth every cent I paid which was not very much thanks to Evans Cycles great price. Evans service as usual was second to none. Full marks to Evans. Not only much cheaper but super service as well plus free shipping. What's not to like?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

This product is excellent

Posted14 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is the first time I have used Shimano Pedals. Very easy to install, very lightweight and definately facilitates quick engagement and removal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jim65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Posted08 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was a bit apprehensive about buying these pedals but bought them anyway and am glad to report that there was no problem clipping in or disengaging what's so ever really pleased with them and am thinking about buying another set..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Kevin1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Way too stiff !

Posted18 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: extremely stiff tension even at lowest setting
These are one of the worse set of pedals I've had the misfortune of buying. I'm giving these 2 stars only due to the quality of material and weight.
Even at the lowest setting, its extremely difficult to clip your foot in, and to get it back out is bordering on ligament damage to your foot.
I have adjusted the tensions to the max and to the lowest to try and ease off, but this makes no difference. God forbid you come to trafflic lights using these pedals, you are falling off!!
These do not need any break-in either, so they are a horrible product right from the off
What were you thinking Shimano ?!?!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apollo
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

smart looking stiff pedals

Posted31 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
No complaints with these pedals. Very solid and look really well put together. Moving from XT SPD's they are harder to clip in and out of but I'm confident they will help take my road cycling onto another level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lizardbone
Country:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very lightweight and stylish

Posted26 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Replaced my 6700 ultegra pedals with these carbon ones which are very lightweight and the color more stylish .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL Carbon Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamrupert
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A hugely worthwhile upgrade for me.

Posted08 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I’ve been using Shimano SPD M520 clipless pedals for the last 16 months since I really got back into cycling. My first new bike was a hybrid and the pedals seemed perfect for that type of bike. When I bought my Specialized Roubaix Expert 2011 I defaulted to the same type of pedal (albeit a touch less weighty) but with the same cleat system so that I could use the same shoes on both bikes (touring shoes).
I then bought a pair of Northwave touring shoes which unfortunately gave me crampy feet (I think I bought the wrong size) and so when it came to choosing a more dedicated road bike shoe, I thought now was the option to go for the wider cleat system favoured by other pedal manufacturers, and seemingly by road cyclists as well.
The Shimano 6700 Ultegra SPD-SL road pedals are extremely light, but also feel durable and give me no concerns about their capacity to take punishment. They came with the cleats which I fitted to my newly purchased Specialized BG Sport road shoes.
The clip in and out process with the wider cleat system is far more pronounced than with the smaller cleat system. I have set the tension to the lightest possible setting and it is still a specific, but not impossible, action to unclip. Certainly if you are used to clipping in and out, these shouldn’t pose a significant difference in mindset or attitude. The other more noticeable effect on clipping in is that you only have 1 side to clip in (unlike the previous pedals I owned which were double sided. This has taken a little bit of getting used to, but the weight of the back of the pedal is enough to put the pedal in such a position that to re-engage you simply move your foot towards the pedal from behind, and lock in with a forward motion. it takes some getting used to, but again is not insurmountable.
In use, it is clear to me that there is benefit in more of the foot being engaged with the pedal. On climbing I am far more confident and able to pull up on the back stroke, which in terms aids and propels the climb far more than with the previous pedals. When cruising, there is a greater confidence to power through the pedal. The benefits of which I believe were demonstrated with a personal best, and hour record, shortly after I added the pedals to the bike.
These types of pedals come in different weights, specs and not surprisingly, prices. I got such a great deal with these on the Evans website that it was a no-brainer for me and I am so delighted with the results, I only wish I had done it sooner. So these come highly recommended.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.