Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddle & Handlebar Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release

Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release

Please Note: The expanding facility is only available with the Medium and Large Wedge Bag.
Overall rating:
4.484 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Review 1 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spud51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Clip on / off makes this stand out.

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good buy. Maybe slightly more expensive than some others I looked at but worth it. It includes a cover, neatly hidden away inside for wet days. Excellent delivery service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkW3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Neat little pack

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I checked out a few before setting on this.
It's solid unlike some other fabric ones and the mount/release mech. makes it really easy to get on and off.
I can get a spare tube, levers and CO2 inflater in it so just big enough for emergencies without carrying the world with you.
Has a little rain/mud cover to stop it looking like the bottom of ditch after a few wet rides!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spindleshanks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Just the job for all vital components

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted a saddle bag for important "get me out of trouble" components on a mountain bike without being too bulky. I bought three different types but all were too small. I saw this one at my local branch and it gave me everything. Quick release but also a sound fit. No flapping about when riding over x country. Its even got a rain cover if required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alwayscycling
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

fits securely to saddle, easy to access contents

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This is a better design than some of the other wedge packs that have zips that go up and across the top instead of horizontally round the pack as this one does. This design makes it easer to access contents. The medium size fits a thin (road bike size) inner tube, mobile phone and energy bar with a little room to spare.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eloise
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Carries everything for a short ride

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not colour co-ordinated
The small version is large enough to carry spare tube, small lights, couple of energy bars, keys, money, credit card, tissues. It fits neatly under saddle, I don't even know it is there. It is well constructed, strong and stiff, holding its shape. Perfect for the job! The only complaint is the yellow label doesn't co-ordinate with my pink, black and white bike!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Saddle up, lets ride....

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this Topeak wedge as a direct replacement for one I have had for about 15 years before the main zip un-hooked (which I have since managed to fix after purchasing this replacement!).
The original has been beasted around many single tracks, on and off-road routes in all weather conditions and has never let me down and I am sure the replacement will take a similar hammering. It is well constructed from tough materials, comes with a rain jacket and the large size is big enough to carry bike essentials, plus a bit more, so you keep your pockets empty and don't risk a nasty shock of landing on sharp (or expensive) objects if you get thrown from the bike.
I would thoroughly recommend this item if you want to pack light, hit the trails and enjoy your ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EarnTheDownhill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Good quality and size

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had to get a new saddle bag as my other one rubbed on my cycling tights. This is a great size to fit my multi tool, spare inner tube and rain jacket without rubbing. Also seems very sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tuvver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great product

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Does exactly what it should, plenty of room for tubes, tools and other bits
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Choady
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

It Was A Good Product For It's Price.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
It Was A Good Product For It's Price. It Works Well. Great Fits Quite Alot Of Things And Everything You Need For A Road Side Repair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spinitterry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good saddle bag

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Fairly easy to fit and a good size for essential repair kit. Good quick release mechanism, looks good and has reflective material as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pring69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Well made product

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just perfect for keeping a spare inner tube, a small selection of tools and some tissues for the inevitable snotty nose at this time of year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
robwd
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
It was bought:Online

Great bag

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I had the previous version of this bag from Topeak and had a few issues trying to get the same size in the new size as they all seemed smaller than their predecessors.
I ended up going for the medium which fits the following items WITHOUT the extension open: keys, iphone, small puncture repair kit, race cape jacket, allen key.
With the extension open I can fit in a spare tube as well with room to spare.
I like the thin aerodynamic design of this bag and have always felt Topeak stuff to be good quality. The clip part on my original sheared through after a high-speed encounter with a pot-hole through the rear wheel but I hope not to recreate that with the new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Cavernous Volume and Robust Build Quality

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very well constructed saddle bag with quick release fitting for speedy attachment and removal.
Large opening for easy access to your carry items. second zip which allows the bag to extend therefore increasing the available storage volume when required. Large enough to carry a spare tube or two, a Pocket Rocket size pump, a multi-tool, 3-tyre levers and a typical set of lights; with room to spare for your Power Bars etc..
Comes supplied with its own dull-yellow nylon rain cover which stores within an elastic loop inside the bag. The bag itself, that is removed from the seat rail bracket, weighs in at around 61g including the rain cover. Remove the rain cover and its only 54g. Fastens to the bicycle easily and more importantly it's very secure. It does move around at all, even when the bike it tipped upside down.
Both zips are furnished with highly reflective tabs which makes opening and closing a breeze with cold fingers or whilst wearing gloves. Each zip has its own zip garage to help keep those clean lines. A continuous band of reflective material adds to the safety of the rider. The rear of the bag its finished off with a nice little loop, big enough and strong enough to hold a clip-on rear lamp.
Overall a well built, well thought out saddle bag with plenty of room for essentials, and some. May not be the cheapest bag around but oftentimes it's worth paying the extra.
Review based on large size saddle bag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobS78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

handy storage

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This provides much needed handy storage for those bits pieces we all think we need to carry. Very easy to attach the bracket under the saddle & attach the pack, good easy access into the pack as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
evovilol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Practical little bag with big tricks

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, sturdy construction
Cons: not suitable for all seatposts or saddles
Usually went out on the bike with a small rucksack and decided it's time to think of some better solution.
Got the medium size not having any idea at all which size I would possibly need. The chaps in the Kingston store said if you wouldn't be able to fit the stuff you wanted in it I could take it back and get the bigger size if needed.
Comfortable holds the following...
Two tyre levers
Spare tube
Keys
Crank Brothers 10 in 1 multi tool
Little card holder
with space left for if you want to have an energy bar or two.
If you really have to you can also expand it but haven't had the need for that yet, but good to know should you want to bring an extra tube or repair kits.
Sturdy construction, not flimsy and stays where i's supposed to be.
The only criticism is the way it attaches to the underside of the saddle (the rails) in that you need a seat post and saddle that leaves enough room for this. My particular seat post makes just about possible to move the saddle where I want it and still be able to attach the holder for the bag. Some might not be so fortunate and maybe straps would work better in those cases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MajorSparky

Good quality, reasonable price and does the job...

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Reasonably heavy duty material with two zips; one for opening the bag and one to expand it to create a little more space. The latter is useful when filling the bag, but can generally be zipped back up afterwards (unless you're filling it to the extreme). The quick release works well. Small, medium or large, that is the question. I bought the medium which now contains a (boxed) inner tube, two CO2 cartridges in a box, a CO2 cartridge holder, and three tyre removal tools. These fill the bag. If I'd wanted to put a mobile phone in as well, I would have needed the large.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dibz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
It was bought:Gateshead

Small is big enough for me

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
the small is a great size, doesn't stick out in any direction, the quick clip is solid and easy to use.
i carry a multi-tool, tyre levers, a spare inner tube and a puncture repair kit in mine, with room for keys, phone and a couple of gels if needed.
if your seat has short or really narrow rails, or you have it really far forward on the post, you may struggle to get the clamp in. Make sure you waggle the clamp after tightening up in case there is play and you need to re-tighten. If the little rounded channels aren't square on the seat rails it can slip and come loose.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BoxHillbilly
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist

ideal sized wedge

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
There are many wedge bags on the market although I find most are far too big or too small. The Wedge II for me is ideal for me. Despite its relatively small size, I can easily fit in 2 inner tubes, levers, a mobile and even a gel or two...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yoshi777110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

well made

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This product is very well made and easy to fit/use. The only comment I have is that it is REALLY small. I know it says small but I was expecting it to be larger - especially for the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Expanding Wedge II with Quick Release
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MCI01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good size. Quick release is useful, but clip broke

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I have a Halfords bag on my old bike which is quite tricky to put on and remove but basically just press fits into the seat bars. The Top Peak quick release mechanism has a positive screwed clamp so I thought this would be better, but after just a couple of rides on my new bike the clamp has come apart and I've lost the lower section. The bag remains in place due to the seat bar supports. I'm sure that everything was screwed up tight so quite disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>