Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag

Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag

Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Review 1 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joeyc

exactly what I wanted

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Exactly what I wanted and for a very good price. Good value for money and quick delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micktha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for price

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought for short tour of Normandy. Floppy but fine when loaded. Lower velcro attachment for rack is awkward, built to price I guess, so I discarded them and used cable ties.
Have used for heavy shopping from supermarket since with no problems.
Can't comment on waterproofing, luckily trip to France was totally dry.
No trouble with heels hitting bag, or rubbing on tyre, and this is on a mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Yogarry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wrong shape / size

PostedAugust 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: wrong shape/size
It is too big and gets in the way of your heels on the pedals, banging into it at each pedal turn. Spend more and go for a slimmer design that gives you room to cycle freely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Selanna
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Very Good and usefull tool

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
It is a good and valuable product. Fits fine to a Cannondale Quick C4.
You just have to place it as close to the seddle as possible. Apart from that it is spacious, light and easy to add.
For it's price it's a very good deal.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kiwis

fantastic

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
brought for my sons pamplet run - fits bike great - fantastic quality - thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rick707
from london
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

value for money

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
bought as a quick fix to transport binders / books on daily commute. excellent purchase, very good value. fitting is very quick and easy. robust construction and acres of room for all my books binders and laptop. addition of a few tie wraps secures the bags more permanently to the rack and prevents any slight movement when carrying items. have yet to see how they are affected by rain but would recommend double bagging items before putting them in the pannier anyway, even if they were supposed to be waterproof, better safe than sorry.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Biker48

basil mara xl double pannier bag

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Its a bit floppy which makes it fold easily for storage when not on the bike, but it can touch the wheels when empty, but maybe my pannier rack (a Tortec Ultralite) is not wide enough. The straps to attach it to the rack are fiddly, so much so that I have improvised something much simpler and quicker. I do find that my heels touch it when cycling, particularly when its full, so I fix it as far back on the pannier rack as possible. It does holds a lot of shopping and seems robust, so overall its a good buy for the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mynotrealname
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

nice stuff

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
good quality, waterproof.
the con is that when i attached that pannier on the racks, i was hitting the side of panniers constantly by my heels. but probably the problem is that i have really big feets (11).
except that i'm more than happy. it's spacious, cheap and waterproof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.