Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag

Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag

Overall rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Review 1 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hebridean1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

better quality available for slightly more cash

Posted13 July 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor quality, let the rain in if full
I bought this and another double pannier for a family tour, in addition to a couple of single panniers I already had. These are the worst quality - the central section has started to fray after only a week's use, and the tops don't keep the rain out if they are full - there's no cord or other way to prevent this.
On the positive side, there is good capacity in dry weather, and they are slightly cheaper than alternative(s).
The reviews on this site were very positive, which is why I bought it, so it may be it is a good buy for different use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vhix
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good size, great price.

Posted19 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this bag for occasional use, not for my every day commute as there is no carrying strap and you wouldn't want to carry a double pannier bag around.
The bag is basic but does the job if you just need to carry a lot of stuff on the bike from A to B but don't need to take the bag itself anywhere. I fit a lot in it.
Haven't tried it in rain yet so don't know how waterproof it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joeyc

exactly what I wanted

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Exactly what I wanted and for a very good price. Good value for money and quick delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micktha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for price

Posted14 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought for short tour of Normandy. Floppy but fine when loaded. Lower velcro attachment for rack is awkward, built to price I guess, so I discarded them and used cable ties.
Have used for heavy shopping from supermarket since with no problems.
Can't comment on waterproofing, luckily trip to France was totally dry.
No trouble with heels hitting bag, or rubbing on tyre, and this is on a mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Yogarry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wrong shape / size

Posted13 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: wrong shape/size
It is too big and gets in the way of your heels on the pedals, banging into it at each pedal turn. Spend more and go for a slimmer design that gives you room to cycle freely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Selanna
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Very Good and usefull tool

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
It is a good and valuable product. Fits fine to a Cannondale Quick C4.
You just have to place it as close to the seddle as possible. Apart from that it is spacious, light and easy to add.
For it's price it's a very good deal.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kiwis

fantastic

Posted04 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
brought for my sons pamplet run - fits bike great - fantastic quality - thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rick707
from london
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

value for money

Posted28 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
bought as a quick fix to transport binders / books on daily commute. excellent purchase, very good value. fitting is very quick and easy. robust construction and acres of room for all my books binders and laptop. addition of a few tie wraps secures the bags more permanently to the rack and prevents any slight movement when carrying items. have yet to see how they are affected by rain but would recommend double bagging items before putting them in the pannier anyway, even if they were supposed to be waterproof, better safe than sorry.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Biker48

basil mara xl double pannier bag

Posted20 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Its a bit floppy which makes it fold easily for storage when not on the bike, but it can touch the wheels when empty, but maybe my pannier rack (a Tortec Ultralite) is not wide enough. The straps to attach it to the rack are fiddly, so much so that I have improvised something much simpler and quicker. I do find that my heels touch it when cycling, particularly when its full, so I fix it as far back on the pannier rack as possible. It does holds a lot of shopping and seems robust, so overall its a good buy for the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Basil Mara XL Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mynotrealname
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

nice stuff

Posted10 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
good quality, waterproof.
the con is that when i attached that pannier on the racks, i was hitting the side of panniers constantly by my heels. but probably the problem is that i have really big feets (11).
except that i'm more than happy. it's spacious, cheap and waterproof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.