Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag

Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag

Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Review 1 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MikkoFIN
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality for the money

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: hard to install
Very nice product for this price. I was very happy to find that this was easy to install with the straps. Only difficulty was that my ankles touched the bag when pedalling, so I had to move the bag as back on the rear rack as possible, but in the end was able to fit it perfectly. Only problem is I cannot take it off easily anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hannah20

Impressed

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good product for the money. Fits my ladies hybrid fine. Plenty of room and the material feels durable; I carry pretty heavy files with no problems. Water resistance is better than I expected too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tessafinn
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The product arrived promptly and is a good price. It's quite lightweight and a little floppy.
I'm very happy with it, it seems it will be just right for my needs as a commuter who does a lot of shopping, the softer walls means that you can get shopping bags into it more easily. My old set of panniers was more rigid and one would often need to take out the shopping and then bag it again later to move into the huose
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Owainc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for commuting

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, spacious, secure
I bought this pair of pannier bags for commuting to uni and work. They are great! There's more than enough room to fit A4 files, textbooks, and drinks etc.
It's really easy to attach the bags to the rack on my bike although I wouldn't recommend buying these if you want to keep attaching and detaching the bags.
Overall I'm extremely happy with these and they're worth every penny. For the average commuter these do the job, there's no point spending more.
Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leslie54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the box

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit, carries everything I want it to. What more can I say, does what I wanted it for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
zacharo4ever
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good fabric quality, strong structure. However, I would appreciate a faster system for fastening the bags onto the carrier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brads
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
We needed a set for my wife's bike (a Giant) which came with racks already fitted. There were lots of more expensive choices but we are glad we went with these. The material is absolutely fine and they seem well made and are perfect for trips when you just need a few things. They seem to fit well to the bike. Suppose the only niggle is that they could have clips (to close).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shell74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money

PostedMay 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I've never needed panniers but decided to do the C2C - I bought these because they were a great price (and I thought I'd only ever use them once). They were more than big enough to hold 3 nights worth of clothes and tolietries.
They attach with straps/buckles and fitted my rack with no problems, it's not difficult to attach/remove, but not so easy a thief could have them away in a few minutes. I had no problems with them.
Thing is I want to do the C2C again in 2 days now and as these panniers were great and did the job, I won't upgrade them for something more expensive - I'll definitely use them again!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Basil Mara Double Pannier Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
reallygoodstuff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Practical !!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, unnatractive
Cons: Unattractive
I cycle in London everyday and wanted something to chuck some shopping in which isn't actually attractive or expensive so that it doesn't get nicked when left on the bike. This product fits the bill pefectly. It attaches to the pannier via buckles so is a hassle if someone wanted to nick it. Each side holds 3-4 frozen pizzas. The classic strap buckles again are a bonus as they would intimidate any would be criminals. They do pull open very easily though.
Reflective strips are a bonus; only down side is the velcro strap at the bottom and back of bag for stopping the bag to bounce around comes in a weird shape and isn't very user friendly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.