Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle

Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle

Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Review 1 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
poseidonsr
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
If you wear cycling short you stay stay on this saddle all day long
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MtbGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High end features at low price.

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
High end features as expected of product at an unbeatable price. Despite not having tried out for personal preferences beforehand, great performance for mtb as well as road (plus professional look)! Fast delivery and well wrapped for protection. Can't ask for much more!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RuiK
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive, poor quality and not very confortable

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
It looked much better on the picture.
In 1st hand looks like plastic. It's not as confortable as other saddles.
It was a disapointing choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
triyogi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable, lightweight saddle.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: mis-placed abrasion protection.
Having used Body Geometry saddles on my MTB for years I knew exactly what to look for when replacing the factory fitted saddle on my new road bike.
Not wanting to bad mouth the saddle that was fitted (make and model remaining unmentioned), I found it uncomfortable to the point where my left leg was tingling and only really contributing 50% or less of its usual power. As soon as I replaced it with the Phenom my bike was, without exaggeration, transformed.
I know bike saddles are a very subjective thing, but that said I know a lot of people who use Specialized's BG range and we all rave about them.
The only down side to this saddle is that the anti-abrasion protection on the sides seems to be positioned incorrectly to protect it when leaning your bike against a wall.
In all, amazing levels of comfort in a saddle that weighs and costs considerably less than its nearest rivals.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
John40
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good comfy saddle

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Got phenom on road bikes bought this for mtb stiff but comfy sadle..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boyb

Comfy

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having ridden the Toupe on the road bike for a few years this was a no-brainer replacement when my MTB saddle 'died'. Not disappointed, very comfortable even on long rides (longest of 50km so far)...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LaerteJr
Country:Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Confortable and high performance for long riders

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult to find
This saddle is very confortable and has excellent performance for long riders with low price and low cost...
The material of this product has a good quality and modern look...
I recommend...
thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antonio30
Country:Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product.

PostedApril 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable, ergonomic, lightweight and smooth finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chessh
from Staffordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

QUALITY !!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Could have a little more padding for my liking but pretty comfortable on the whole!
Getting measured up so it fits your sit bones is critical!!
However, first trip out on my road bike was 30 miles and no numbness or aching!! Happy Days!
I would reccomend this saddle to anyone looking for a value for money comfortable road saddle!
It would not be my idea of comfort for use as a mountain bike saddle!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
mtbhaz
from Cheshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good looking but compromise on comfort

PostedAugust 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Prior to my purchase of this saddle, I have got the previous year Specialized BG Phenon Gel saddle on my road bike and it is the most comfortable saddle I have ever got. This year Specialized re-designed the Phenom and introduced the Comp Gel MTB version... it looks very sporty and nice (matching white colour with my mtbiker!), however even with the BG and Gel support, I still feel like I am sitting on a hard saddle without much compliance on my full suspension specialized fsrxc bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daemon
from Croatia, Zagreb
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome All Mountain / XC saddle

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, saves your family jewls and more!
With my bike (StumpJumper Elite 2011) came Henge seat in 143 mm dimensions. The guys in the store measured my ... rear end ... with Body Geometry bench and came up that I need 155 for optimal fit.
After trying a few saddles, Phenom came out as a winner. The shape fits perfectly for long straight singletracks and for uphill. The hole in the middle adds comfort - there is no numbness in my nether regions after long rides.
With all that it is lightweight, and looks awesome! This Comp version might be best buy because the expensive ones (Expert and Pro) are too expensive for that little weight loss.
What now remains to be seen is how is the durability of the rails, particularly their interface into plastic bits where they connect with saddle. I hope it will not start to squeek anytime soon.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
telephoneted
from Macduff
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: not for the heavier rider
Despite it being listed as a gel saddle I would suggest that it is aimed at hardcore riders. The gel padding is minimal and despite multiple attempts to adapt to it I have yet to find it comfortable.
I would not recommend it for the "heavier" rider, but this is not due to the quality of the saddle.
If you are looking for a lightweight anatomical seat, then this fits the bill, but if you are after comfort for longer rides I would suggest looking for a more padded seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Phenom Comp Gel MTB Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Dumfries and Galloway
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for hard tail bikes

PostedMay 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Used this saddle to replace OEM fit on 2011 Boardman HT (to be fair to Halfords boy, he did warn me the original saddle wasn't comfy but my god he wasn't joking). Have 2 Specialized bikes so stuck with the brand and not disappointed. Completely forgot I put a new saddle on the bike during a 3hr ride round Ae forest which is about as good a recommendation as I can give as the saddle never crossed my mind once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.