Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebar Grips & Tape or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape

Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Review 1 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3000

Very good

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
It is comfortable and easy to fit as there is no sticky back. good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brianthecyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and look good

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Watched many youtube videos before starting to tape my handlebars.
Make sure you leave a large overlap at the handlebar end. Otherwise easy to use and looks good. No complaints after several rides.
You need to have some electrical tape because the length of sticky tape supplied to fix the handlebar tape in place is too short.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeteG13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Probably the best Bar Tape

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased for used in the Tour of Flanders Sportive. I used this as a second layer of tape to the bar tops. It proved to be very comfortable and gave good grip when needed. I'll replace all my bar tape with this future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gadget
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

excellent bar tape

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
As an Audax rider, Specialized Roubaix bar tape offers comfort for those long rides. Lasts ages too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richo1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality tape

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great chunky feel to the bar tape, having used two other brands in the past I can honestly say this one stands out for superior quality and feel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sneddy19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality tape

PostedJune 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
this tape feels comfortable from first mile to last, easy to apply to bars and looks good also
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TDRF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice bar tape

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit and comfy once on the bar but after a few rides I don't see any major difference to any non 'vibration dampening' tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adjuster
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent dampning qualities

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to install ,great feel to it and minimises vibration ,does what it claims to do unlike some tapes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
millstream3
Country:United Kingdom

Good quality and comfortable

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality and significantly more comfortable than my previous tape - a welcome upgrade.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Daniel33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smart tape but marred by small securing tape.

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I fitted this tape without any major problems based on instructions I found on the internet. I liked the fact the tape was not sticky because I had to rewind one side to get it right. However, when I got to the end the black tape to secure the handlebar tape was too small, and I had to revert to my own insulating tape to finish the job. This was a shame because the small piece of tape to go around the back of the hoods was a nice touch.
The tape looks very smart, but does not feel quite as soft as the original. This has not been a problem to date and it is still comfortable when riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Molli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bar tape

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent replacement bar tape very comfy .. It's good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MogwaiFearSatan
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bar tape

PostedMay 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I've always used this tape on all my bikes. It's super comfy and fairly easy to clean when it gets dirty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MickyP
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly what I expected

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The kit is complete! The colour I chose was Red & it is a good bright red. The kit includes the tape, a small piece to go behind the brake attachment, tape to hold the top end in place & a stopper to go at the bottom end. The length is exactly right provided you are careful to wind it evenly - having never done it before I was pleased to get the first one perfect, but then had a couple of tries on the second bar before getting that right, but that was no fault of the kit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zooboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good thickness tape

PostedApril 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
quality tape very good grip and easy to fit. can be wrapped over existing tape. Needs a bit more elec tape to give a good finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heskimo
from Cleveland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Bar Tape

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this tape in black to replace the very unpractical white tape that came on my bike.
It's grippy and thick to absorb vibration and comes with 2 bar end plugs with the s logo on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bertyboy
from Bath
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality, and very comfortable. Reasonable length to cover your bars where you need it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fsandy

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bar tape... comes with little matching colour replacement bar plugs with the specialized logo on, which is nice. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Roubaix Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
speedfreak
from south coast
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

felt perfect

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
had a spill on the hampshire hilly hundred, new saddle and bar tape needed, decided to have a go myself at the bar tape, chose the specialized gear, now on the bars , looks good, feels lovely, good old cork, easy to do great result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.