Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate

Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate

Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ayofemi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Product has a lot to support your cycling progress

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, can measure cadence, can measure heart rate
Cons: the three function buttons are too hard to press, choice of colour would have been good, only comes in black with blue trims
I bought this equipment two weeks ago and i am still exploring its functions. However, from what i have been able to use, I will recommend the equipment as I researched a lot of units in the market before settling for the Garmin edge 800. I wouldn't say that the screen is coloured - the colour effect on the screen looks like the early colour mobile phone technology, otherwise the basic colour screen is decent. The unit looks good with the Garmin out-front mount. My unit was a bargain at Evans as they were pricier at other outlets.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJF14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great quality

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Setting up the Garmin and accessories couldn't have been easier. I haven't got the maps for it yet but it's great motivation just being able to see your speed and distance on a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
averagetone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

good quality but poor mapping

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, easy to use
Cons: poor maps
the garmin 800 is easy to use, the pc software is good and it seems well made. the base maps however are a let down, I didn't expect to have to fork out for new ones immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mcb46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

PostedApril 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, long battery life, easy set up
Cons: some dodgy elevation readings, routing errors on one-way streets
I had read that setting up the cadence and speed components would be difficult, but I got them on quickly enough without too much trouble. I found a video on youtube which was a good guide, since the printed instructions weren't amazing.
The speed and GPS seems to work very well, as does the connectivity to the cadence monitor (which is accurate) and the heart rate sensor.
One area that seems to work slightly oddly is the elevation reader. Riding routes I am familiar with I have found quite wild swings in the elevation it feeds back after the ride - for the most part its very accurate, but then throws in a drop or rise that I don't recognise.
I have downloaded an open source OS-Style map, which is accurate and was free. In terms of navigation the screen is easy to read and instructions are fairly clear, but when following a route you cannot display much, if any info, on the screen alongside. A swipe across (which works fine in heavier gloves too) gets you to the info you need, but this is a fiddle I would rather not have to do!
Additionally the routes I've planned on the Garmin website seem set to driving on the right hand side of the road, which may be why it seems to send me the wrong way up one way streets every time I get to a town centre. This is actually really frustrating since it completely disrupts your rhythm.
For the sensors, display and tracking of pace, heart rate, distance, time etc. as well as the set up etc I think this is great and would recommend it.
For the navigation and mapping I've been a little disappointed, although this may be partly that I haven;t completely got the hang of all the options and may in part be my maps rather than the garmin 800 itself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Erwin
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
It was bought:Online

great device for learning new routes

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was fed up of using my phone for navigation on the bike. So i decided to invest in this product, it's a lot of money, but it's worth it. Especially if you are new somewhere like myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Louis07
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Garmin 800

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
One of the best meters you can find on the market, accurate !
So many functions !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lachy
Country:Australia

Great all round GPS/bike computer

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Been wanting one of these for months. Decided to splurge for Xmas. Do yourself a favour - get one of these! This version through Evans was by far the best value offered.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TC0034
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bit of kit

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, useful
Cons: Expensive
I've not had this long so I'm still getting used to it but my first impressions are extremely positive. All the sensors work as they should and were dead easy to set up and sync with the unit. You can personalize the display to view your preferred feedback. The unit is sturdy and robust, the touch screen and buttons work really well even whilst wearing gloves. You get two mounts that were easy to fit so you switch between bikes, the GPS feedback was really accurate too.
I'm still getting used to the navigational element of the device, I've planned a few routes using the Garmin Connect site and put them on the device, the device gives you directions as you go and I was really impressed but half way round it stopped giving out the directions. Maybe something I did? I think I need to add another map to the device in order for it to plan a route whilst out, I've tried to use it to get directions whilst out riding but it tells me turn by turn navigation is not available.
All the data is easily transferred to the Garmin site and is presented in a easy to look at format. You can also transfer it to other sites such as Strava etc.
Route guides are pretty easy to upload although I've had a few issues with some routes from non Garmin sites, maybe just my lack of computer know how.
Overall very happy with my Garmin 800, if you've got the money to buy it it's definitely worth spending the money on.
Evans provided a great courier service, giving me regular updates as to the whereabouts of the package and the time it would be with me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trutta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Edge 800 appears to be a fantastic bit of kit.

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poss a bit expensive
I have never been a serious cyclist, however due to ill health (Bowell Cancer) I bought this Edge 800 to help me with training and for cycling John O'groats to Lands End. I have found the 800 invaluable with helping with me record distances speed/time and route planning. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in cycling or other outdoor pursuits.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
coventrian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good training tool

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Before I purchased the Edge 800, I was using my iPhone to record my rides, but this caused me to have a dead phone on a couple of occasions, which isn't good when you're out in the sticks by yourself.
It has loads of features that I haven't used yet, but so far I'm very happy with what I've seen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TarmacRD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product, Definately recommend this to anyone

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is great straight out the box. I tend to ride 3 to 4 times a week and had a standard route of about 24 miles which was getting a bit boring.
With this you get full access to Garmin Connect for route planning and Training Analysis software. Planning new routes is easy and then you upload to the Edge 800 and follow the Sat Nav guidance - easy. Once you finish just plug into your PC and download you run to the Garmin Connect website for analysis.
The heart rate sensor is a chest strap that feels a Little odd first time round but you soon get used to it. Set up is easy as you just put the strap near the unit and it pairs - job done then just ride.
Cadence sensor is a Little more tricky as it's a combined speed and cadence ( you don't need it for speed as the GPS does the job perfectly). Main problems for me fitting the cadence sensor were that the chain stays on my Specialized Tarmac Elite are very close to the rear wheel meaning I had to alter the angle of the sensor arm to avoid fouling the spokes.
The 2nd problem was getting the cadence sensor magnet fixed to the rear of the crank arm when the surface is concave rather than flat - some fiddling and it fits and works fine.
This model comes with just base maps installed and no memory card. The base maps are pants. I looked on Garmin's Website for Road Maps and almost fainted at their £80 price tag (They only advertised the European Road network - which is great .... If you're going to ride the whole of Europe ....
I'm not and so opted for the genuine Garmin UK road maps off Amazon - A snip at £25. I also purchased a genuine Garmin Edge 800 Silicon cover for it which fits really well and actually enhances the look of it whilst adding protection in the event of dropping it. (£8 off Amazon)
All in all, really pleased with it, although recognise the main downside is the cost of it in the first place.... But it's worth it
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kian
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product! tracks speed and distance flawlessl

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
very accurate "average" readings off this device! other than the occasional jumps in speed while i am stationary, I dont see any problems with it!
very accurate data from this... maps works wonders! will recommend to anyone
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ming
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to read, easy to use

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I now have three Garmin products which I use - Dakota 20, Edge 500 and Edge 800. None are perfect, all have their advantages and shortcomings.
The Dakota is far and away the best for navigation. It can use ant+ HR and cadence sensors, so can be used for training. However it does not have workouts so you need to remember your HR zones and your interval program. It uses AA batteries, so long trips are not a problem.
The Edge 500 is small and light. Great for training, with workouts, alerts, virtual training partner etc. Easy interaction with Garmin training centre. Basic course navigation possible. You can have a few fields easy to read or many fields but hard to read. A bit fiddly to use the buttons to start, stop, use manus etc.
The Edge 800 has all the features of the 500, plus maps, touch screen and bigger screen. Very easy to read the screen. Simpler interface using the touch screen. Cons: missing many of the navigation features of the Dakota - no tracks, waypoints, compass. Smaller screen. Battery life only 15 hours, so needs recharging overnight.
When would I use each?
Exploring, long trips: Dakota.
Training, racing: Edge 500.
Training, social riding: Edge 800.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
abs9
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic piece of kit. Quick signal pick up and i love the vitual rider. Money well spent and definately recommend it.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Robbie1601
from Epsom, Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Have owned for about a month. Set up of basic item is fairly easy for a Garmin.
GPS works really well - have had problems with others in my area before - Epsom.
Still having problems getting it to sync with my laptop and getting pretty frustrated. Isn't really any useful suppprt from Garmin.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS with Cadence and Heart Rate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kotti
from Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Boy Toy

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
This is my favorite toy at the moment! Uploading, analyzing and reviewing your past rides. Easy to understand and very user friendly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.