Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Rain Cover

Altura Rain Cover

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Rain Cover
Review 1 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MBUK391
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must have for non-waterproof Panniers!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After buying the Altura Arran 36L panniers, I wanted to buy a rain cover so my stuff would stay dry during a 4 day D of E Gold Cycling Expedition in the Lake District. I had a little look around for other alternatives online but settled for this one. I bought the Medium size which fits perfectly over my panniers. They have two buttons which attach to the top of my Altura Panniers and helps keep the rain cover in place. They are nice and bright which is good for a night and they also have a small light attachment on the back. They are very waterproof and still fit over my panniers when fully packed! What's also great is they fit neatly in the top pocket on my Altura Arran 36L panniers. I would say a nice addition to any panniers, I just wish Altura included them in the first place.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Torb42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Keeps pannier dry

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit over the Altura Aran pannier and covers the majority of the pannier keeping the front, sides, top and bottom of the pannier clean and dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nomisp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

good heavyweight cover

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
good piece of kit,be aware they come as single items not a pair. fitted with reat light mounts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SGLsurvey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, cheap cover

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Does the job and a lot cheaper than other options. The elastic keeps it securely in place on my Deuter pannier and cheap rucksack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KarateKid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Durable and Inexpensive

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Excellent product. Fits tightly around bag. Tough material that appears long-lasting. Inexpensive and seems good quality compared to some of the much more expensive competing brands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lizzy155
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Do what they say.

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: only sold as singles
Purchased these as much needed due to weather we've been having, fit nicely onto panniers. Protect from spray as well as from the rain. Do what they are meant to. Good value but why are they not sold in pairs?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neddy56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps the rain off.

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
According to brompton they do not produce a cover to fit the folding basket so this was perfect for the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
zhenshi
Country:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

should have been included with Altura panniers

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: works ok...
Cons: Expensive
i bought the medium size, which fits the Altura Arran 36 pannier pairs OK. note that this rain cover comes as a pair. works fine as a rain cover should.
it would have been better to have reflective strips on the rear-facing side (there is none), as the cover basically covered up the pannier's own reflective strip when in use. also, this is a bit expensive for something that should have been included together as part of the Altura pannier package in the first place!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Symanuk
from Shoreham-by-Sea
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feels a bit insecure

PostedDecember 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: potentially insecure
The rain cover is a god send in some ways as its easily packable but (this may be me acting a little dim) the elasticated top and bottom sections grab the backpack, but I often take my bag off to find the top section has loosened slightly, which can make you feel that the whole thing might just pop off whilst you're cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Rain Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cubeman
from York
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Totally as described. Covers my daysack keeps contents dry and secure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.