Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack

Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack

Note: Please refer to www.saris.com for further car/rack compatibility information
Overall rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
15 out of 17Would you recommend this product to a friend?88%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Review 1 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Good rack but issues with bike fitting wheel hubs

Posted08 February 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: not carbon frame/wheel friendly
The rack is well made and solid, but I understood from the Saris site this would be ideal for Carbon framed bikes as the supports do not interfere with the frame itself as you place the wheels within the wheel support hubs. My bike has the required sized wheel to fit the hubs but the gap between the carbon wheels and the frame and front forks was so narrow that the thickness of the plastic wheel hubs would not allow the bike to fit into the wheel supports. Consequently you could not attach the back wheel down into the other support.
That was very disappointing as it look a really good kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy Peasy

Posted08 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The Gran Fondo fits well on my Fiat Panda. The bike carrier is well designed, attractive and it's easy to fit and remove. Seems sturdy and my 29er and wife's 27.5 inch wheels fit without a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy and quick to install onto car.

Posted06 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great alternative to putting bikes on roof mounted rack. I previously had roof bars etc but didn't like driving around the majority of the time with them on the roof unnecessarily. Once you have done the initial set up it takes less than 3 mins to install bikes are secure and no frame contact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Audi A3, excellent, check the pre-assembled parts

Posted24 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This is an excellent bike carrier, so far used to carry 1 x large MTB with 26" x 2.4" high roller/ardent tyres, which fit the wheel gutters (just!).
The assembly is easy, instructions also easy to follow if you need them and feels rock solid on the boot - I've attached it to an Audi A3 s line (which has a stock small spoiler) and the fit even allows the rear screen wiper to function, plus the rear screen upper brake light is unobstructed.
The straps are comically long for a standard car but some double sided hooks & loops Velcro allow you to roll them up and still let you check for slip (which I haven't noticed any of).
The bad: I built the unit as per the instructions, using some of the pre-assembled parts - beware! *The horizontal bar brackets (for the vertical bars), were factory assembled upside-down. This is a really subtle mistake, but means the wheel gutters will clash with the roof and also foul the front fork of the bike. Remove and turn them round to correct. I'm sure this will have caught some shoppers out and had to return the product.
Overall though, I'm very please with it and leave it attached to the car with the gutters down all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fantastic product and easy to use.

Posted04 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
A great product and very easy to use.
Good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Overall great product

Posted02 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This product works great, but be careful if you have tires wider than 2.25". This size or larger are very difficult to put into the rack and require you to take air out of the tire
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great product

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had previously used a Thule hitch mounted bike rack but having bought a Mazda CX-5 without a tow bar needed another solution. After a lot of research I decided on the Saris Fran Fondo to carry our two mountain bikes. It was fairly easy to put together, I wish that I had watched the youtube video before hand! I would recommend assistance with the first fitting against the car as it is unwieldy but once the straps are the correct length the weight is supported. I washed the rear of the car and the rubber mounts to reduce the risk of scratching. The bikes are easy to attach. I tightened up the straps once the bikes were on. I used gaffer tape to manage the excess length of the straps. The initial few miles were a bit tense as I could see the swaying of the bikes which previously with the other rack I had been oblivious to. Taking the rack off is straight forward and the rubber mounts had not caused any marking on the paint work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Top quality rack, easy to assemble and even easier to fit to your car. Great for my carbon bike, no straps on the frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy fit, no hassle

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Simple to use and very stable. Simple to use and very stable. Simple to use and very stable. Simple to use and very stable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bike rack - really easy to use

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Despite the difficulty in putting the rack together (took a couple of hours as no instructions were included and the online instructions were not easy to follow on a phone!), once built it is a fantastic product, very durable, really easy to fit and take off the car and very easy to attach the bikes.
Having the bikes on the back and still being able to see out through the rear view mirror is great. I also really like the fact that when attached, the bikes don't touch each other or the car, so no banging together or against the car when driving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Brighton

Excellent product - easy to fit

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent product - have a fiat 500 so was very difficult to find a bike rack that fitted properly - no need for lighting board or number plate board as bikes do not obscure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product very easy and quick for carry bikes

Posted23 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: pads make dints
I found the saris very good apart from the bottom pads which have put large dints in my tailgate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted23 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit, sturdy
Cons: Expensive
I own a hatchback car with a plastic spoiler on the rear which made most other rack options not an option. With this I was faced with getting a roof rack which I wasn't massively keen on.
I found that this rack was compatible with my car when used with the additional hatch hugger option. Despite the price seeming high to me at first I decided to try it so as to avoid the roof rack.
Very glad I got it now. The rack is extreamly solid on the car with practically no movement once attached. Very easy to fit and adjust. The option to switch between standard and 29er positions is great but can be a bit tricky if you have a 27.5. This size doesn't seem to fit perfectly in either position but is still held solidly.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product. i

Posted10 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
No need for extra lights as bikes sit vertically between tail lights and number plate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product fits quickly and easily

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: security
A great bike rack that is quick and easy to fit.
However only suitable for journeys from A - B as it isn't possible to lock either the rack or bikes to the car.
Convenient to use especially as it's design doesn't require a lighting board.
Great value for money.
I have been approached in a car park since its purchase asking me where I got it from, of course I told them Evans Cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

saris say fit vauxhall insignia hatchback doesn't

Posted28 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased, assembled, tried fit - in high position top part of wheel rest sits on glass before feet do, in low position the bars that join front and rear wheel rests impact on hatch edge
despite saris site saying compatible with 2009 vauxhall insignia hatchback
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Gran Fondo 2-bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very professional way to carry your bikes!

Posted03 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to install and a good solution to carry your bikes without hidden your plate number and lights. But like all racks of this kind moves a litlle bit on sharp turns and speed bumpers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.