Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack

Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack

Note: Please refer to www.saris.com for further car/rack compatibility information
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Halaszcseni
from Sunbury on Thames
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to set up, reliable, safe.

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this to occasionally carry 3 bikes. so far I tried it with two only but this would easily fit 3. Really easy to set it up and fit it on the car. 5 minutes up and 3 minutes done. It felt safe while driving, bikes do not cover your number plate (hatchback). So I think this is a good product.
Delivery was quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bigmgb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact, lightweight and relatively easy to fit

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is lightweight and very compact. It's very easy to secure bikes to and feels pretty robust. There is a good amount of padding along the main contact points of the car. I've used this a couple of times now and definitely trust it with my road bike. The rack itself is quite narrow which means it is essential to get the straps fitted properly and as tight as possible which can be a little tricky when fitting it on your own. I would have given it 5 stars except I would have liked to have seen some rubber inserts inside the metal clips at the end of the straps which fit over your boot (although, I haven't seen any marks on the boot, I now fit a bit of foam between the clips and the boot - just in case...).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Batsfog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple to fit

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: number plate covered
The advantage of this carrier is if you are like me you change your car every 3-5 years making the roof bar an expensive option, this unit fits multiple cars. The carrier is easy to fit and feels stable while attached. I have had to purchase a number plate as my car is a saloon and the plate becomes covered with the carrier in place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bass279
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Saris Porter 3

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought this Porter 3 for my new car as the Saris Bones 3 doesn't fit.
I previously owned an early model Bones 3 and once set up was very good, except that the side straps did come loose a couple of times on longer trips.
As with the Bones 3 the Porter 3 did take sometime to set up initially. However, it is now very easy to fit. You do have to be careful in connecting the lower straps as they can loosen from the boot prior to tightening.
I haven't really used the Porter on any long drives yet, but to date the Porter is of solid construction and to date has not scratched any paintwork.
The bikes fit really well, and the Porter is quite stable.
Delivery from Evans was quick and the product arrived as predicted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gazza1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wish I hadn't bought it

PostedMarch 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: unstable
Online the product looked really good, the reality is that it isn't very stable at when in use. I am looking to buy a different one as I am really not happy with this one after only one use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
biking1971

Flimsy and unstable

PostedApril 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Not impressed by this at all. The Base is too narrow and the whole rack rocks from side-to-side. Also the two bars to carry bikes are too close together, if you try and mount a bike by the recommended method each bike is way over to one side and not at all stable.
Not impressed at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
faykee360
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit too car but harder to put bikes on

PostedApril 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This fits very easily to the car it was simple to fit and I found online that it fitted to my car before i bought it. It was a little harder to put the bikes on and the straps that hold them on are not that flexible and easy to get tight. When you are not using it it folds up and fitts easily in to the book of your so no chance of it being stolen. It was also one of the cheapest i could find to carry three bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Drx1977
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good value

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Seems sturdy and safe, adjustable. Using it to hold 2 bikes rather than 3 at the moment and think would be a very tight squeeze or awkward unless all 3 bikes are the same style and size. Otherwise no complaints so far...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really simple and quick to fit!

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, packs down small, easy to fit
Got this product recently. Great item. Flexible to fit on a most car styles. Easy to fit - less than 5 minutes. Packs down really small for a 3 bike carrier. Great price compared to other products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bike Porter 3-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeanSmith
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and sturdy

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Just a good alround product at a reasonable price.
Looked first at the Manchester (Chill Factore) store and was really impressed with the customer service. Can't remember the girls name but first class help provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.