Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack

Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack

Note: Please refer to www.saris.com for further car/rack compatibility information
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
14 out of 16Would you recommend this product to a friend?88%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
48 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, sturdy fit!

Posted11 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased this for my BMW 3 series salon and fits very nicely on the back. The strap catches are covered in a rubberised material that will not damage the boot paint job and the foot of the rack is covered in very thick durable foam that rests nicely on the bumper. When finished it folds flat in 5 seconds to pop in the boot so dont have to leave it attached to the car when out in the countryside. The manual is also very clear and to the point. I give the areas of contact on the car a little wipe with a microfiber cloth before installing to prevent any unknown particles being stuck in between and cause scratching. Very pleased with the Saris brand and will serve well for many years I believe.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to set up and load bikes

Posted07 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Quick and easy to set up and load bikes on, inbuilt straps are ok but bike front wheels require an extra strap. Rack needs checking after a couple of miles and tightening. Haven't fit one yet but probably need an extra number plate as the car fitted is obscured.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Ok but not for 3 door fiesta!

Posted02 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: marks car, bit awkward to set up first time on your own
I bought this because my old bike rack was marking the car -however this is not ideal for a 3 door fiesta as the side hooks slip and mark the car!!!
The bike holder straps are good - but you still get the problem of what to do with the long strap ends so you end up tying them on! I wouldn't recommend this for a 3 door fiesta but well made and probably fine on different car!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Quality Product

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great quality andeasy to install. For the price was disappointed that additional straps weren't included for holding the bike wheels straight etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good quality bike carrier

Posted06 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good, well made bike rack which works well on my VW Polo for carrying my Specialized Allez and my daughter's Islabike. I drove it from Leeds down to Norfolk with no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good looking and fit for purpose.

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Ideal for use on a hatchback and for two sturdy bikes - just what we wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Great car rack

Posted08 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
very compact when not in use, easy to assemble and it fits my car perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Bike Rack

Posted11 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
I've been using a Halfords rack for years now, I finally decided to upgrade to something more slim-line. This little rack is great, easily fits into my boot and is very compact. Bikes attach quickly - you just pull two straps and the bike is securely attached to the car (Corsa 2012). Doesn't stick up over the roof so it doesn't seem to create drag when left attached to the car but still when the bike is attached it doesn't cover the lights or license plate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too fiddly

Posted24 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A good sturdy rack once set up. However, it takes too long to set up and you don't have access to your boot once installed. It is not a quick set up process so would only suit people who don't need access to the boot and are not after a quick installation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I was a bit dubious about racks that fit onto boots scratching the paintwork. But this one seems fine. It's very strong and firm when the bike is strapped on. So yes very pleased so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Phone

So easy to put on my car

Posted25 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I'm really pleased with the saris bike porter rack it's so easy to fit to my car and it feels so safe when it's attached .Great purchase
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Does the job but not perfect

Posted16 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: fiddly to get stable
the rack does what it is designed to however it doesn't fit the car as well as I'd like and takes a bit of work to get stable on a fiesta 09 plate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Easy to set up, very sturdy

Posted18 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent sturdy rack for use on hatchbacks and smaller vehicles. Easy to set up once you have read the instructions - possible to set up in 5 minutes. A great piece of kit for a cycling holiday or if you are fed up of taking your wheels off to fit your roadie on the back seats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A decent product that does the job

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Pretty good bike carrier that works well. I have an Astra SRi XP 150 3 door sporthatch 59 reg and it fits really well. Fitted it quite quickly and with a bit of practice it will be rock solid. My mountain bike felt pretty secure on the motorway. Make sure the straps are tight and it will not move.
Good value.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, easy to use...

Posted08 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Pleasingly simple to fit to by hatchback. Two of the fabric straps seems to be made fitting in an incorrect orientation, but this was quite obvious and easy to correct.
First journey was a bit bumpy, but soon learnt how to make the whole rack more stable. Second journey was great.
I do not have experience of other racks, but this worked very well and therefore I would recommend it to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bike Porter 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product, really does the job!

Posted26 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I purchased this as we needed to transport 2 bikes and I couldn't stretch to the roof carrier I wanted. After reading lots of reviews I opted for this Saris Bike Porter when it was on offer and am really pleased that I did.
It's very sturdy and really easy to fit to the car. The instructions are really helpful so I felt confident that I had fitted it properly, especially since when it was tightened up if I wiggled it the whole car wiggled with it!
We have a Mk1 Ford Focus and it fits great but it does obscure the number plate so we had to buy a spare, which we just cable tied to the cross-bar of the top bike once it was loaded on the carrier.
Was a bit nervous when we first hit the road as was having nightmares in case it fell off and took both bikes with it, but suffice to say the quality and fit of this bike carrier mean that both bikes were more than secure during transport.
Overall, I think this carrier is great quality and it does exactly what we needed it too. Plus Evans service was impeccable as always, next day delivery was spot on, it arrived in plenty of time for our excursion.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.