Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bryton Rider50 GPS

Bryton Rider50 GPS

Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Review 1 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dottym
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fab product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I first ordered a Garmin 800 from amazon but i couldnt work the stupid thing, so i was looking for ages what other GPS system to get, in the end i picked this one....wow its fantastic, did everything i wanted but most of all i wanted the maps with Garmin you have to pay for them but you do get the bog standard ones.
My box came and the seal was broken, so i phoned Evans and stated this and the bike mount was missing, the sales person was excellent and sent me a replacement out next day delivery (thank you).
Once i set myself up on the Bryton site which was easy i preloaded my ride and downloaded to the system, i was amazed just what i wanted, it actually shows you the route and arrows, you can change how many items you want to see like time to destination, temperature, calories and you can put them in order of your choice.
This product is excellent for the price and 10 times better than the Garmin.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gb1974
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rider 50

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Havent had a chance to ride with it yet, due to illness, but it has impressed me so far. Very feature packed for a very reasonable price. Cant wait to get out a use it properly. Training for a 100 mile charity sportive in June.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Outstanding Computer

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, great screen, easy menu, good colour, brilliant
This is brilliant, so glad i bought it, had 2 Garmin edge units and i must admit i think the bryton is far better and easier to use, better display, better features and a far better price, very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Adey7569
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Bryton 50 GPS

PostedOctober 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
after 6 months of use the back has cracked from road vibration so can not be mounted on bike have to keep in pocket. And the website that you have to use to upload your data seems to be down quite alot.I should of got a Garmin and am starting to regret buying the Bryton.For the price the features are good but the quality is rubbish. Do not buy you have been warned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katherine50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

The product has loads of good features

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The product is excellant it has so many features, it is easy to use and has clear information. If you are in to gadgets this is ideal. The training programmes are great. I would really recommend this to all cyclists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mikeebe
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

pros and cons!!!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
it's really well equipped and the screen is well laid out with plenty of choice which allow you to tailor to your preferences. it will map the route for you and change you can reroute should you go off piste. you can also create your own route
the rerouting takes a couple of goes though and the software/storage is all done online via the bryton site so no 'personal' storage which means you MUST go online.
screen is a little difficult to read in bright sunshine, there's no geocaching and the best way to share with others is also for others to have a bryton 50 because it's more difficult to share with other brands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
upminsterandy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not sure I made the right choice

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fiddly
I wanted a GPS unit but didn't want to spend fortunes on one, I read through the on line write ups and this sounded ok, when switching on the unit it takes a couple of minuets to boot up and find its self. the buttons are a bit fiddly when on the move & the unit can be slow to respond when going through the menus. the maps are very basic, but I've only used it on the road not on a trail yet! I really like this but I cant help thinking i should have spent the extra and got a touch screen unit with clearer maps! but time will tell! it lives up to its waterproof claims with the recent summer downpours! but after all it was a fair chunk cheaper then what else is about! I think it will grow on me as I use it more and make use of its training function. It was easy to fit on the bike and it doesn't move around. all in all it is good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nornor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great GPS unit let down by poor online sofware

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: online software
I bought this as my distances were beginning to creep up and I wanted a GPS devise rather than carrying maps all the time. This is my first GPS device and replaces my wireless computer.
The box contains the Rider50, CD containing maps, 2gb sd card, usb cable, adapter and the bike holder. I bought an extra bike holder but this wasn’t needed as the holder can be moved from bike to bike quite easily.
The ‘normal’ speed, distance etc functions work straight out of the box but you need to load the software and set up an account with Bryton before you can load any maps. The Bryton online software is my biggest gripe as it is tediously slow and not very intuitive.
Once it has been set up then the Rider 50 is a joy to use. Loads of stats are available and you can change what stats are being displayed very easily. The map is easy to read and I could do all the things I wanted (focus in and out, move the map around etc). It has a rerouting feature if you find yourself off track and will create a route it you change your destination. This was really useful when I needed to find the nearest train station to get myself home. There are some bugs – it did not recognise the cycle path on the Severn bridge and kept trying to direct me elsewhere.
As I said my only complaint is the online software (you need an internet connection for it to work). To get over this I create and store my routes with a different programme and only use the Bryton one to import and export.
I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a GPS unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rbarge
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great products but beware if your not in Europe

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
*** This unit only has maps for the EU region so if your in Australia for example you will have to spend another 100 euros for maps of that region
I think this should be in the product description
***
It was a choice between this and a Garmin Edge 500, this seemed to have more features including maps.
The GPS is great, easy to use and has more features then you could wish, the 5 way control stick is really handy as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zyGOTA
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use and setup

PostedMay 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Purchased this product based on a friends recommendation instead of the garmin edge 500 and couldn't be happier with the decision to do so. When you use the cycle computer in conjunction with bryton bridge you can analyse every component of your ride (heart rate, elevation, speed etc). It is a really useful training aide and can easily monitor performance improvements to maintain motivation. Only downside would be the limited colour. Blue and black doesn't really suit a white, red and black bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marky555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedMay 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The GPS is very good for the money, it is very easy to use, and the output when you download it is very good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkUK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bryton Rider 50

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great unit for the price and I certainly wouldn't go out without it now.
Battery life seems to be good and it's definately weather proof, tested that in quite a few heavy downpours.
Nice and compact unit that sits nicely on the bike as well as in a pocket if out walking. Very easy to read and plenty of information provided, on the move and when uploaded onto website.
Nice website where you can keep all your stats and rides. Export files to other similar sites too if you prefer. Support forum Via Facebook page is a bit strange, but does work well.
Used on a recent 47 mile ride where I had no experience of the route or location. Uploaded a provided GPX file and the Rider 50 guided me round beautifully. Very accurate in its guiding and its tracking.
All in all, very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
grifforgn
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cycling without maps

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
decent product, have had one glitch with it so far where it did not register the map of where i was, however, mostly has been fine. has guided me home safely on several occassions and i have had no need for big paper maps and stopping every few roads to ensure the reight direction, even if the wrong route is taken the touch of a button will re route quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bikedavid
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great gps

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Garmin 305 and wanted to upgrade but didn't want to pay £400 for edge 800. Bought the Briyton 50 and have now used it for a week. Overall very please. Gps simple to use accurate and the device works with my garmin heart rate monitor.
The only slight glitch I'd when I down load the data to the web site the mileage comes up short example rode 30 miles on gps when downloaded the data showed 27.7 all the other data was ok.
All in all would give it 4 stars
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamil2
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I purchased the bryton rider 50 in preperation for an extended holiday in the U.K before I left Australia. It arrived very quickly. However when it arrived the micro sd card that was supposed to be with is was not there.
So after some initial problems with the map dvd and some help from the Bryton support it is now working perfectly.
It looks great, it is easy to use, and the bryton bridge application allows you to keep all your data on the website.
Best of all is that no matter where you ride you can always find your way back home again just with the push of a button.
I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to ride in an unfamiliar place. Just make sure you get everything that is supposed to be in the box.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bryton Rider50 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Singe
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Affordable GPS

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
All the bells and whistles for less cash. It does what it says it will do and the display is nice and clear. Easy to use, even on a Mac, although you need to hunt around a bit for software to upload and manage your maps. Takes an extra 10 mins to do this so not much hassle at all.
Overall, very good. Yet to be crash tested or dunked in a river but i am sure that will be sorted soon enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.