Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20

Torq Energy Gel Box of 20

Torq Energy Products are formulated using 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose technology. The reason a 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose formulation works so well is simple, but it has been overlooked by research scientists until recently. Maltodextrin is the best carbohydrate to use in isolation, but what happens if you mix Maltodextrin with Fructose? Basically, unlike Maltodextrin and Glucose, which compete with each other for absorption, Maltodextrin and Fructose are absorbed in parallel, so you get the ultra-fast energy supply from Maltodextrin, plus the slower energy release from Fructose. In total, there's a 40% greater delivery of carbohydrate to the working muscle.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Review 1 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chewbikker
from North East
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tasting and effective gel

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was heavily put off gels by a different manufacturer but was recommeneded these by a friend so I thought I would give them another try.
Since using these I would recommend them to anyone. they taste great and are easy to consume on the move and they are effective for an energy boost throughout longer rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fegster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tasting gels

PostedJune 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I always have a couple of these in my pocket, they taste great, are easy to take and have got me through some tough stages on long rides when I'm tired and starting to flag a bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IJWoodcock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very palatable.

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
As with most of these types of gels, they can taste just awful and it's more of a race to get the gel swallowed before tasting it.
That is not the case with the Torq gels, they actually taste good!
I've done a few long rides over 5hrs at a pace of 19mph and used these with the Torq energy drink to good effect, I've completed all rides and haven't bonked. I have a fast metabolism and am gluten intolerant and I've never had a problem with any of these gels for drinks.
Fast delivery as usual from Evans.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Berticus26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job well

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Never used gels before but did the c2c over 2 days last week and had a few of these in my pocket. Delivered a definite boost when needed but time it takes to work does depend how fatigued you are. Suggest that even if you don't feel like one take them at regular intervals as described on the packet and you'll stay on top of your ride. Black cherry flavour is superb - seriously intense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
monkfish1983
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Doesn't taste like gel!

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good product that works for me when i m out doing rides over 30 miles. Tend to take about 2 or 3 with me when ridding between 50 and 70 miles, defiantly make a difference!
Taste just like yoghurt nothing sticky with a horrible texture just like yoghurt!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Davidg1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good gel, great taste.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Found the gel to really offer a bit extra when required, the taste was a pleasant bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shackersm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice taste, works well

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Good flavour, easy to carry, works well. Provides good energy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reprobate337
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Taste lovely

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
These taste lovely, like a kids yogurt, but they also work well as gels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zzzz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

great product

PostedMay 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Rhubarb and custard are my favourites. They taste great, provide energy on long rides, or hard rides. They are not too thick and equally not runny, so if you open whilst still spinning the pedals you don't spill it all. The sachets are easy to open whilst moving and no sharp edges on the sachet to cut your mouth unlike some other gels I have tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spiregrain
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Watch the fructose

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very much my favourites for taste and texture - but if like me you have fructose malabsorption problems, they will give you wind. So I reserve mine for towards the end of my rides, when I am sick of the alternatives which I use for the first 2/3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wardamercy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good taste, no ill effects.

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
The "yoghurt" taste is a bit of a stroke of genius here, it makes sense of the weird texture of a gel, and is genuinely pleasant - especially if you like cherry flavoured yoghurt.
I've done longer rides with these as my primary source of carbs and had four or five gels with no dodgy guts. I use them with the High 5 Zero tablets in my water, which are just electrolytes rather than carbs too, so this could be a factor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
junkyjoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Torq about yummy

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Just the job on a recent 100k. And they taste delicious. Only slight criticism (and I'm honing my technique) is that the tear-off tops can be a bit fiddly to open.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sideshow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Gels around

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
My legs, stomach and taste buds agree with these gels. Flavours are much better some of the other horrid stuff you can buy. Recoommed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ifyouknowyourhi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great taste and perform well

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Helps keep you going, probably better than most others I've tried. Will re purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gunders
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good quality as normal

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I like these gels and have been using them for some time. Taste good, and according to a reliable source, they are one of the best types around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gav1
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to swallow as more liquid than gel.

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: to swallow
Cons: a little sweet
This gel is more liquid than most so goes down easily when cycling or running. Orange and banana flavour a trifle too sweet for me so will try the stawberry yoghurt flavour next time which my friends all recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CIdad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, fantastic flavours
fantastic product yet again from Torq, used these for marathon training, racing and an ultra, love the taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BodgerWells
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top gellicious

PostedApril 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
the flavor of Strawberry Yogurt is absolutely delicious, not tangy bland on the tongue like some of the citrus ones of other makes. Packet size is great for popping several easily in the bag or jersey for the day out. the simple tear off top makes easy opening and less messy drinking the gel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vikksen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Don't know

Easy to swallow, good texture. Nice flavours.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Having tried lots of carbohydrate gels I find Torq sit best in the stomach, ie no cramps or sickly feeling. The texture is good, therefore making it easy to swallow, and, there are a huge selection of flavours to choose from. They are also not too bulky, the top is easy to rip off with your teeth whilst on the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torq Energy Gel Box of 20
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EgasaC

Energy boosting and Seriously Tasty

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Energy gels range from horrible taste-wise to ok. These gels are fantastic in terms of taste, and they give a great energy boost as well. No other gel comes vaguely close to the Torqs in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>