Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Food & Drink or
Choose a category
Most popular products

Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Products are formulated using 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose technology. The reason a 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose formulation works so well is simple, but it has been overlooked by research scientists until recently. Maltodextrin is the best carbohydrate to use in isolation, but what happens if you mix Maltodextrin with Fructose? Basically, unlike Maltodextrin and Glucose, which compete with each other for absorption, Maltodextrin and Fructose are absorbed in parallel, so you get the ultra-fast energy supply from Maltodextrin, plus the slower energy release from Fructose. In total, there's a 40% greater delivery of carbohydrate to the working muscle.
Overall rating:
4.74 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
49 out of 50(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel
Review 1 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeilMc62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Yum!!

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, taste great
Cons: Expensive
Was never a big fan of gels until I tried these at the 2014 Dartmoor Classic. These have a pleasant syrup like consistency and they taste fantastic, my personal faves are the Rhubard & Custard or the Raspberry Ripple flavours. I've tried some of their other flavours which are just as good and give the same energy boost. Normally carry a couple with me as backup to the trusty Jelly Babies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
squig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great taste, especially rhubarb and custard

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, great taste
Cons: Expensive
Really nice gels that I actually look forward to rather than dreading taking them on. The rhubarb and custard is my favourite. I find the black cherry yogurt a bit too sweet. Looking forward to trying some other flavours soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grace97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

This product is delicious

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I love Torq gels and Evans is the only place in Plymouth to sell them. After having to order them online in the past, I'm grateful to have discovered Evans sell them! They are delicious and a great fuel for both long rides and runs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sheenwheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

The best-tasting gels i have tried

Posted13 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good taste, easy to get down. These are the best gels I have found. I just wish more cyclists would take the wrappers home instead of littering the Surrey hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stu4805697

Best tasting gels around.

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Best tasting gels available. My favourite is the raspberry ripple. I normally take one an hour, but struggle with other gels to have that many, with these I have to stop myself eating them all. They also stave off cramp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laura888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Taste great

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, taste good
Cons: Expensive
These gels taste much better than those from other brands and don't leave that horrible feeling in your mouth that others do. They are a good pick me up and I haven't had any problems with leaky packaging etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moose94
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

The only gel I can stomach

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste good, easy to open
Cons: Expensive
I've got a really sensitive stomach (made worse when my body is under stress, i.e. racing...) and have tried pretty much every gel out there. Torq gels seem to be the only ones I can handle.
The flavours are nice (LOVE rhubarb & custard/raspberry ripple), although they are very sweet. Great for a quick boost of energy.
I wouldn't use them outside of a race situation, as I do find they cause a 'sugar crash' which could cause problems on a long ride. However, used properly they're great. The 'Torq units' system is useful for calculating intake needs too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckdundee
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Reading

Big fan of torq gels

Posted25 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I like the taste of these gels and are not to thick so don't require washing them down with lots of water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicky7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

delicious and effective at delivering energy boost

Posted20 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
banoffee iflavour is most delicious - tastes just like the real pudding does and gives great energy rise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watchmeexplode
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes great!

Posted06 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have tried many gels...this one tastes the best. More like a yogurt than a gel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Penge430
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cherry flavour

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tastes good
Not bad although a bit too milky for me. Taken during a ride to compare with others. Unlikely to use again but it could have been the hill I had just climbed that had made a difference. Nice actual cherry taste though and easy to open.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeanieA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Rubarb and custard.

Posted28 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Keep a couple for emergencies on 50+ milers where I have made a mess of my pre-ride nutrition. These seem good, nice flavour not too sticky or sickly. Packets are robust as they are in my saddle back crushed up and have never leaked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Tastes really good and no mess.

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Tastes really good, no mess, nice packaging and easy to use when riding.
I have so far tried the Black Cherry Yoghurt, Rhubarb & Custard and Apple Crumble flavours and all were really nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carbonator
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Best tasting and natural ingredients.

Posted07 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
All the Torq products I have tried taste good. Most are very nice tasting.
Gel packets are also one of the easiest to carry and use.
Easily my favourite gels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicolopolus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

The best!

Posted06 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, vegan, delicious, easy open, true flavour
As a vegan it's sometimes difficult to find sports products that are suitable, however these are listed as vegan on the label. So far, so good, but how do they taste? This is obviously subjective, but I find them to be the tastiest of all the gels I've tried, have the best consistency (not too thin or thick), easy to open, and finally, they taste just as you would imagine from the description!
So far I've tried Apple crumble and black cherry/yogurt - both were so delicious I find I want to go out and train just so I can have one!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucy90r

Very tasty

Posted23 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I tried the rhubarb and custard gel, by far the tastiest gel I've had. So yummy, definitely gave me a little boost.
Will definitely be buying more of these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Movingonup

great taste, perfect size

Posted20 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, tasty
Cons: Expensive
Flavour is good and size is right. Very easy to consume and delivers on providing a boost when needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cardtrick1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gives you a boost when you need it

Posted20 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This is an easy to open packet, taste is good, you don't need water with it and about 10-15 minutes after taking it, i got a boost of energy and ran the next mile quicker than the last few. It is a bit more expensive than some other gels but i would say worth the extra
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Big choice and all good

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've tried pretty much all there is in gels. I always return to Torq. It doesn't have that unnatural taste that many others can have. OK, so it is a 'concentrate' in terms of consistency, but washed down with some water etc and it is fine. It has a genuine impact on performance when you either need that boost and the range of flavours are brilliant
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Gel for Those Who Don't Like Gels!

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have tried several other brands of energy gel, and all I have struggled to get down my neck. A friend recommended these and I tried one with some caution due to my previous poor experiences with gels.
I needn't have worried! These taste fantastic, nothing weird about them at all. I recommend raspberry ripple and rhubarb and custard! They don't give me cramps or anything like that and I look forward to having one, rather than dreading it!
Give these a go, you'll see what I mean!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>