Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Products are formulated using 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose technology. The reason a 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose formulation works so well is simple, but it has been overlooked by research scientists until recently. Maltodextrin is the best carbohydrate to use in isolation, but what happens if you mix Maltodextrin with Fructose? Basically, unlike Maltodextrin and Glucose, which compete with each other for absorption, Maltodextrin and Fructose are absorbed in parallel, so you get the ultra-fast energy supply from Maltodextrin, plus the slower energy release from Fructose. In total, there's a 40% greater delivery of carbohydrate to the working muscle.
Overall rating:
4.742 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
65 out of 66Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel
Review 1 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Tasty, user friendly flavours....

Posted10 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, tasty
Cons: Expensive
Tongue in check flavours or just the right enjoyment when you need that boost. As long as you like your energy fix gloopy on the stomach, these'll do nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

mmmmmmmmm... brought back some happy memories

Posted04 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, tastes great
THE only gel to eat if you actually want to enjoy the benefits of it's ingredients and not feel like you've punctured a stress ball and then have to eat the inside of it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great effective gels.

Posted08 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These gels taste great and work a treat. Good size to fit in jersey pockets too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Easily fits in jacket pockets

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Have used these when running in marathons and find that they are not as runny as some brands on the market :-(.
They fit easily into your cycling jacket pockets and with many great flavours to choose from :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love these!

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Rhubarb and Custard, every time. Effective energy hit that does seem to help and is gentle on the stomach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Sheffield

A gel that's actually a pleasure to eat!

Posted01 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste, texture
Cons: Expensive
Great tastes, Rhubarb and Custard or Raspberry Ripple my personal favourites, easy on the stomach, not too thick and goopy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Tasty

Posted26 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I like Torq products as I prefer those without artificial sweetener. Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tasty Gels

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tasty
Tried many gels but these are the tastiest I've found. Can't really compare their energy output to others but they seem to help me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

Best tasting gel

Posted03 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste
These gels are the best I've tried. The flavours are really good especially rhubarb and custard and raspberry ripple. They aren't too thick or too thin so are easy to take in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Great energy, great taste

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Great flavours and easy to down whilst hitting the road hard. No real need to follow it down with water either. Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Glasgow

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste
Best ones I've tried and they actually taste of what they say they do
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Taste great. Nice texture

Posted03 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Rhubarb and custard goes down a treat . Been using these for a while as I don't like any caffeine products or anything too gloopy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tasty!

Posted06 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, delicious!
Cons: Expensive
I've always been a fan of High5 gels over the likes of SiS, but I ordered a couple of these Torq gels to try and the flavours are far and away the nicest I've tried.
I bought the Raspberry Ripple and Cherry flavours which are both amazing. Cherry is probably my favourite of all the gels I've tried.
Seem to deliver energy as well as any other too, and are a nice consistency, not far off that of High5 gels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Best of a bad bunch

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
On the never ending quest for a gel that dosen't make me gip this is one of the better ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My favourite gel by far

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just sweet enough, not too thick and some interesting flavours. The raspberry ripple is surprisingly good and a throwback to my childhood frankly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Tasty but very sweet!

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
If you like sweet sugary gels then these are for you. Flavours are accurate and definitely an energy boost. Packets are a good size, not too bulky for pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Yum!!

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, taste great
Cons: Expensive
Was never a big fan of gels until I tried these at the 2014 Dartmoor Classic. These have a pleasant syrup like consistency and they taste fantastic, my personal faves are the Rhubard & Custard or the Raspberry Ripple flavours. I've tried some of their other flavours which are just as good and give the same energy boost. Normally carry a couple with me as backup to the trusty Jelly Babies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great taste, especially rhubarb and custard

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, great taste
Cons: Expensive
Really nice gels that I actually look forward to rather than dreading taking them on. The rhubarb and custard is my favourite. I find the black cherry yogurt a bit too sweet. Looking forward to trying some other flavours soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

This product is delicious

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I love Torq gels and Evans is the only place in Plymouth to sell them. After having to order them online in the past, I'm grateful to have discovered Evans sell them! They are delicious and a great fuel for both long rides and runs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

The best-tasting gels i have tried

Posted13 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good taste, easy to get down. These are the best gels I have found. I just wish more cyclists would take the wrappers home instead of littering the Surrey hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>