Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Products are formulated using 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose technology. The reason a 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose formulation works so well is simple, but it has been overlooked by research scientists until recently. Maltodextrin is the best carbohydrate to use in isolation, but what happens if you mix Maltodextrin with Fructose? Basically, unlike Maltodextrin and Glucose, which compete with each other for absorption, Maltodextrin and Fructose are absorbed in parallel, so you get the ultra-fast energy supply from Maltodextrin, plus the slower energy release from Fructose. In total, there's a 40% greater delivery of carbohydrate to the working muscle.
Overall rating:
4.745 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
46 out of 47(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel
Review 1 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sheenwheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

The best-tasting gels i have tried

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good taste, easy to get down. These are the best gels I have found. I just wish more cyclists would take the wrappers home instead of littering the Surrey hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stu4805697

Best tasting gels around.

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Best tasting gels available. My favourite is the raspberry ripple. I normally take one an hour, but struggle with other gels to have that many, with these I have to stop myself eating them all. They also stave off cramp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laura888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Taste great

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, taste good
Cons: Expensive
These gels taste much better than those from other brands and don't leave that horrible feeling in your mouth that others do. They are a good pick me up and I haven't had any problems with leaky packaging etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moose94
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

The only gel I can stomach

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste good, easy to open
Cons: Expensive
I've got a really sensitive stomach (made worse when my body is under stress, i.e. racing...) and have tried pretty much every gel out there. Torq gels seem to be the only ones I can handle.
The flavours are nice (LOVE rhubarb & custard/raspberry ripple), although they are very sweet. Great for a quick boost of energy.
I wouldn't use them outside of a race situation, as I do find they cause a 'sugar crash' which could cause problems on a long ride. However, used properly they're great. The 'Torq units' system is useful for calculating intake needs too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckdundee
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Reading

Big fan of torq gels

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I like the taste of these gels and are not to thick so don't require washing them down with lots of water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicky7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

delicious and effective at delivering energy boost

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
banoffee iflavour is most delicious - tastes just like the real pudding does and gives great energy rise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watchmeexplode
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes great!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have tried many gels...this one tastes the best. More like a yogurt than a gel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Penge430
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cherry flavour

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tastes good
Not bad although a bit too milky for me. Taken during a ride to compare with others. Unlikely to use again but it could have been the hill I had just climbed that had made a difference. Nice actual cherry taste though and easy to open.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeanieA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Rubarb and custard.

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Keep a couple for emergencies on 50+ milers where I have made a mess of my pre-ride nutrition. These seem good, nice flavour not too sticky or sickly. Packets are robust as they are in my saddle back crushed up and have never leaked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Tastes really good and no mess.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Tastes really good, no mess, nice packaging and easy to use when riding.
I have so far tried the Black Cherry Yoghurt, Rhubarb & Custard and Apple Crumble flavours and all were really nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carbonator
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Best tasting and natural ingredients.

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
All the Torq products I have tried taste good. Most are very nice tasting.
Gel packets are also one of the easiest to carry and use.
Easily my favourite gels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicolopolus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

The best!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, vegan, delicious, easy open, true flavour
As a vegan it's sometimes difficult to find sports products that are suitable, however these are listed as vegan on the label. So far, so good, but how do they taste? This is obviously subjective, but I find them to be the tastiest of all the gels I've tried, have the best consistency (not too thin or thick), easy to open, and finally, they taste just as you would imagine from the description!
So far I've tried Apple crumble and black cherry/yogurt - both were so delicious I find I want to go out and train just so I can have one!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucy90r

Very tasty

PostedMay 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I tried the rhubarb and custard gel, by far the tastiest gel I've had. So yummy, definitely gave me a little boost.
Will definitely be buying more of these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Movingonup

great taste, perfect size

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, tasty
Cons: Expensive
Flavour is good and size is right. Very easy to consume and delivers on providing a boost when needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cardtrick1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gives you a boost when you need it

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This is an easy to open packet, taste is good, you don't need water with it and about 10-15 minutes after taking it, i got a boost of energy and ran the next mile quicker than the last few. It is a bit more expensive than some other gels but i would say worth the extra
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Big choice and all good

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've tried pretty much all there is in gels. I always return to Torq. It doesn't have that unnatural taste that many others can have. OK, so it is a 'concentrate' in terms of consistency, but washed down with some water etc and it is fine. It has a genuine impact on performance when you either need that boost and the range of flavours are brilliant
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Gel for Those Who Don't Like Gels!

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have tried several other brands of energy gel, and all I have struggled to get down my neck. A friend recommended these and I tried one with some caution due to my previous poor experiences with gels.
I needn't have worried! These taste fantastic, nothing weird about them at all. I recommend raspberry ripple and rhubarb and custard! They don't give me cramps or anything like that and I look forward to having one, rather than dreading it!
Give these a go, you'll see what I mean!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bighair1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Tasty!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Gels are normally something you put up with. However, these actually taste good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ally1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

delicious

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste great
Cons: Expensive
I find the Torq gel bars easy to swallow with great flavours that taste quite real and natural. I think they are pricey and because I ride 100-150 km on most of my weekend rides I tend not to use these as an energy source because I would need a few to keep me going. However on short trips they are a great source of glucose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paulonatrekds

Pretty natural tasting

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A good range of flavours and easy to get down, although I found them a bit sickly towards the end of a marathon after I'd had a few.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>