Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Gel

Torq Energy Products are formulated using 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose technology. The reason a 2:1 Maltodextrin:Fructose formulation works so well is simple, but it has been overlooked by research scientists until recently. Maltodextrin is the best carbohydrate to use in isolation, but what happens if you mix Maltodextrin with Fructose? Basically, unlike Maltodextrin and Glucose, which compete with each other for absorption, Maltodextrin and Fructose are absorbed in parallel, so you get the ultra-fast energy supply from Maltodextrin, plus the slower energy release from Fructose. In total, there's a 40% greater delivery of carbohydrate to the working muscle.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
31 out of 32(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Torq Energy Gel
Review 1 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Big choice and all good

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've tried pretty much all there is in gels. I always return to Torq. It doesn't have that unnatural taste that many others can have. OK, so it is a 'concentrate' in terms of consistency, but washed down with some water etc and it is fine. It has a genuine impact on performance when you either need that boost and the range of flavours are brilliant
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Gel for Those Who Don't Like Gels!

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have tried several other brands of energy gel, and all I have struggled to get down my neck. A friend recommended these and I tried one with some caution due to my previous poor experiences with gels.
I needn't have worried! These taste fantastic, nothing weird about them at all. I recommend raspberry ripple and rhubarb and custard! They don't give me cramps or anything like that and I look forward to having one, rather than dreading it!
Give these a go, you'll see what I mean!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bighair1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Tasty!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Gels are normally something you put up with. However, these actually taste good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ally1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

delicious

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste great
Cons: Expensive
I find the Torq gel bars easy to swallow with great flavours that taste quite real and natural. I think they are pricey and because I ride 100-150 km on most of my weekend rides I tend not to use these as an energy source because I would need a few to keep me going. However on short trips they are a great source of glucose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paulonatrekds

Pretty natural tasting

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A good range of flavours and easy to get down, although I found them a bit sickly towards the end of a marathon after I'd had a few.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rob46009
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

BEST TASTE

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: great taste, easy to eat
These Torg Energy Gels are without a doubt the best tasting Gels I have had, its the only time I've NOT struggled to get it down me.
I can recommend Raspberry Ripple & Rhubarb & Custard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kyle26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great product

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I have been using Torq Energy and Recovery drinks for a while now but this was the first trial of Torq energy gels. I found them great as part of a fuelling system in combination with the energy drink and energy bar. I was a bit sceptical at first about the flavours but they tasted great and were really easy to consume on the go. And for the litter conscious among us the new design is great for ensuring you can keep all your litter in one part and not on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrAMaretto

Tasty and not too sharp

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good flavour and without the unpleasant sharpness that some gels have that leave you desperate for a drink. Could be easier to open though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essexboy53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best tasting energy gel I've come across!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Torq gels are by far the best tasting and best consistency gels that I have tried. They work well too, giving an energy boost when required. I started off on the strawberry ones and thought they were good then graduated to the the other flavours which are even better. Always carry some of these in the back pocket on long rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bennett838
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great energy gel.

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really great tasting gel that works!!
I recommend the rhubarb and custard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginge51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Great taste, just the right amount in each sachet

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great taste and texture, easy to digest and works quickly. Just the right amount in each sachet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tasty!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I find most sports gels terribly disappointing. Sucking back a luke-warm, sugary, salty, runny goo can be demoralising during a long ride, and the endless list of 'Citrus' and 'Berry' is worse still. However, the Torq gels are interestingly flavoured, actually taste like the things they say they taste like. I mean _really_ taste like them. However, they aren't cloying or overwhelming. I wouldn't buy any other kind of gel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ryry24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tastes great, easy to digest

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I tried both the strawberry yoghurt and banana orange varieties and found them both very tasty and easy to use with a definitely energy boost after eating! They were not as thick as some gels, meaning they were much easier to suck out of the packet with no sticky mess afterwards!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
overthehillbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

carbo load

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, delicious
the tastiest gels i have tried to date , go down very easily & definately give you an immediate surge of energy & fit into my cycle vest pockets
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrLikerBiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

As always with torq , easy on the stomach

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
As always with torq , easy on the stomach.
Tried many products and for taste, affect & minimum stomach issues torq always comes top.
Surprised by the interesting flavours but actually work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jemmab87

Fab

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, yummy
Fantastic, finally found a gel I actually like. Used for marathons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good taste and texture

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, taste good
As a relative newbie I am trying quite a few gels - these are the best I have found by far. They actually taste of what they say they do - and not chemically or too sugary / gritty. Rhubarb & custard = amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
busswill

Great energy gel

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I'm currently training for my first marathon and only started using this product recently. Along with the Torq Energy Gel with Guarana, it makes SUCH a difference on the longer runs. You can feel the effects within minutes, and it gives you a second wind for a good few miles. I would definitely recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beggsey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

this product is excellent.

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, taste great
I have tried a number of gels and this one is the best. It is very easy to digest and pleasant on the stomach. The flavours are great. You can take it with or without water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torq Energy Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tdina
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tasting Gel!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, taste great
Easy to get into and surprising very delicious for a energy supplement! I like the Rhubard Custard the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>