Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet

Louis Garneau Edge Helmet

Super MSB technology: Ring-shaped plastic protection at the base of the helmet reinforces the perimeter for enhanced protection. U-Bar technology: Highly inspired by the Exo-Nerv technology, the plastic shell is made with U-shaped ribs (plastic is folded 6 times), that act as a complex exoskeleton to reinforce the helmet's structure. Integrated strap system with inner nerves: Inner frame which distributes the shock of impacts, thus providing support and protection while being lightweight. V-Pro System: Receptacle molded into the helmet that allows to install and remove the visor as often as desired. Removable plastic plugs are included to fill the holes when not used.
Overall rating:
4.528 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
49 out of 53(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALX22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Great Product

Posted25 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Louise Garneau Edge helmet provides great comfort for my commuting,road and mountain biking. It looks great and is well constructed. The spiderlock adjustment on the back makes it a breeze to get fitted. Having personally got it on a Tern accesories promotion it was a great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bromptonette
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Looks good and feels robust

Posted05 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This helmet is great as it doesn't have the chunky bit on the back like some helmets. The visor doesn't obstruct the view at all, and can be removed, although not easily. Not been unfortunate to test it's strength yet, but it feels robust and should offer good protection. Was quite expensive for me, but well worth it if you hit your head in a fall!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
horsecat

Sturdy, good fit, very happy

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
At 50 quid in the sale, the helmet was a bit over my budget as it will be used mainly for commuting.
However, that extra 15 pounds seems to have gone far. The fit is good, unobtrusive and light. The construction looks and feels sturdy, with the polystyrene covered at the back too which is nice. The profile is lower than the cheaper helmets I looked at.
My girlfriend thinks the grey one looks good on me, but I'm not allowed to wear it all the time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joethewindsurfe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, quality product

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
I've had five helmets over 30 years of cycling, of various makes - but this is far and away the best. A real quality product, with a superb, customisable fit. My head measurement was exactly in the middle of the medium size range. Extremely light and with nice, replaceable padding, its really a pleasure to wear. Hopefully, I'll never have to test its impact resistance so that has to remain a given. Also has the extra bonus of it being in my preferred colours of black and red. Would definitely buy another and wholeheartedly recommend this helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
finchy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Definitely spend your money on this!

Posted25 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, it works
Bought one of these about 10 months ago, then suffered from a collision with a car. The helmet (with my head still in it) made a lovely dent in the car windscreen, probably saving my life, definitely saving me from serious head injury.
The long and short of it is that this helmet did it's job, this being the reason why a second one has now been bought.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a new helmet, apart from the above comment, there are enough vents to allow good airflow and prevent you getting too hot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
dfghu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Stylish, neat helmet

Posted08 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice matte finish, comfortable and light. A good choice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Triwizz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great fit, easily adjusted and comfortable.

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really good fit achieved by novel hinged piece at rear of inner frame. Perhaps it's a bit flimsy and may not stand test of time but it fits so well it's worth a trying. Helmet makes me feel well protected as it sits low on my forehead and back of head.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Good value fo rmoney

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Item was recommended by sales person. It looks stylish, it fits well and was reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
LCbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Looks great and v light weight

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Really happy with this helmet. Looks great and is very light weight. Also very adjustable so it fits well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Mecael
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good ventilation without spending a fortune.

Posted20 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Great improvement over my 'skate' style helmet which would leave my head feeling hot, the vents on this are great and the style matches my bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ratko
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good helmet

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've tried every helmet available in store and Garneau Edge was the only one I felt comfortable on my head. Also good design and it was on sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Snakesimon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Looks great

Posted09 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great helmet, I've always been a downhill type of rider but recently switched to road/hybrid riding and this helmet is great, has super ventilation nice and light and has a removable peak that means a cycling cap can be worn without anything in the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gringo73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Reasonable. No better.

Posted30 July 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
Bought to replace a Met Parabellum which has given superb service since 2000.
Feels comfortable and secure in wear. Construction quality average, the foam interior exceeds the shell in several areas.
Why the relatively low score? Found the chin strap impossible to get comfortable, poor air flow through vents and a non-adjustable visor. The main negative is the weight - 310g for a M, 5g heavier than my 14-year old Met. I know 5g isn't significant but I thought technology would have moved on significantly in that time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ZedV
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality helmet

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I was looking for a slightly better replacement helmet and less bulky than my old MET helmet. This fit the bill. Very effective micro adjusting means a really good fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
albertfred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Stylish, comfortable & plenty light enough for me

Posted24 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've read the odd review that says this helmet is heavy! Well unless you're trying to shave two hundredths of a second off of your 100km time trial, I think it's plenty light enough.
Furthermore, as I say above, it's stylish as well...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nilxs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good but......

Posted21 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
It is a tad heavy and I think I could match the quality and fit with that of other helmets at a substantially lower price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loaded29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great Helmet

Posted26 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first ever helmet and having never worn a helmet i forget its on my head when i am cycling. very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Matthew01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

What a buy!

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, no cons
This is a great helmet. It fits me perfectly & has the advantage of the visor should you be, like me, a bit of a mountain & road biker. The visor detaches easily & it really looks the part. From being someone who made excuses not to wear a helmet to being a person who is looking forward to a ride whilst looking (feeling) cool in this light safety device. What is there to lose other than your mind if you are unluckily enough to have a crash? Do yourself a favour & buy it. It is light, cool & looks after your noogin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
PMTC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Good comfy helmet

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good helmet in high viz white. Light weight and easy to wear. Comes with additional pads to allow some changes to fit of helmet on to the head. The adjuster at the back feels slightly flimsy, but has stood up well to my commute abuse and is easy to use, even with gloves.
Most importantly it doesn't make my head look like a mushroom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Georgie22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality and price.

Posted27 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice fit, not big and bulky. Easy adjustment. Very good helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>