Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet

Louis Garneau Edge Helmet

Super MSB technology: Ring-shaped plastic protection at the base of the helmet reinforces the perimeter for enhanced protection. U-Bar technology: Highly inspired by the Exo-Nerv technology, the plastic shell is made with U-shaped ribs (plastic is folded 6 times), that act as a complex exoskeleton to reinforce the helmet's structure. Integrated strap system with inner nerves: Inner frame which distributes the shock of impacts, thus providing support and protection while being lightweight. V-Pro System: Receptacle molded into the helmet that allows to install and remove the visor as often as desired. Removable plastic plugs are included to fill the holes when not used.
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
43 out of 47(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALX22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Great Product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Louise Garneau Edge helmet provides great comfort for my commuting,road and mountain biking. It looks great and is well constructed. The spiderlock adjustment on the back makes it a breeze to get fitted. Having personally got it on a Tern accesories promotion it was a great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bromptonette
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Looks good and feels robust

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This helmet is great as it doesn't have the chunky bit on the back like some helmets. The visor doesn't obstruct the view at all, and can be removed, although not easily. Not been unfortunate to test it's strength yet, but it feels robust and should offer good protection. Was quite expensive for me, but well worth it if you hit your head in a fall!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
horsecat

Sturdy, good fit, very happy

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
At 50 quid in the sale, the helmet was a bit over my budget as it will be used mainly for commuting.
However, that extra 15 pounds seems to have gone far. The fit is good, unobtrusive and light. The construction looks and feels sturdy, with the polystyrene covered at the back too which is nice. The profile is lower than the cheaper helmets I looked at.
My girlfriend thinks the grey one looks good on me, but I'm not allowed to wear it all the time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Mecael
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good ventilation without spending a fortune.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Great improvement over my 'skate' style helmet which would leave my head feeling hot, the vents on this are great and the style matches my bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ratko
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good helmet

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've tried every helmet available in store and Garneau Edge was the only one I felt comfortable on my head. Also good design and it was on sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Snakesimon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Looks great

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great helmet, I've always been a downhill type of rider but recently switched to road/hybrid riding and this helmet is great, has super ventilation nice and light and has a removable peak that means a cycling cap can be worn without anything in the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gringo73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Reasonable. No better.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
Bought to replace a Met Parabellum which has given superb service since 2000.
Feels comfortable and secure in wear. Construction quality average, the foam interior exceeds the shell in several areas.
Why the relatively low score? Found the chin strap impossible to get comfortable, poor air flow through vents and a non-adjustable visor. The main negative is the weight - 310g for a M, 5g heavier than my 14-year old Met. I know 5g isn't significant but I thought technology would have moved on significantly in that time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ZedV
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality helmet

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I was looking for a slightly better replacement helmet and less bulky than my old MET helmet. This fit the bill. Very effective micro adjusting means a really good fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
albertfred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Stylish, comfortable & plenty light enough for me

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've read the odd review that says this helmet is heavy! Well unless you're trying to shave two hundredths of a second off of your 100km time trial, I think it's plenty light enough.
Furthermore, as I say above, it's stylish as well...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nilxs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good but......

PostedJune 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
It is a tad heavy and I think I could match the quality and fit with that of other helmets at a substantially lower price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loaded29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great Helmet

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first ever helmet and having never worn a helmet i forget its on my head when i am cycling. very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Matthew01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

What a buy!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, no cons
This is a great helmet. It fits me perfectly & has the advantage of the visor should you be, like me, a bit of a mountain & road biker. The visor detaches easily & it really looks the part. From being someone who made excuses not to wear a helmet to being a person who is looking forward to a ride whilst looking (feeling) cool in this light safety device. What is there to lose other than your mind if you are unluckily enough to have a crash? Do yourself a favour & buy it. It is light, cool & looks after your noogin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
PMTC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Good comfy helmet

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good helmet in high viz white. Light weight and easy to wear. Comes with additional pads to allow some changes to fit of helmet on to the head. The adjuster at the back feels slightly flimsy, but has stood up well to my commute abuse and is easy to use, even with gloves.
Most importantly it doesn't make my head look like a mushroom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Georgie22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality and price.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice fit, not big and bulky. Easy adjustment. Very good helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Sicros
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks great and hardly know it's there

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Feels really comfortable, looks good and has a great adjustable Spiderlock system for a really great fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Largey

Great helmet

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very comfortable and easy to adjust helmet, also very light weight which is aerodynamic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike314
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great Helmet

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love the fit. Compared to my last helmet the Edge is such a massive improvement. Well worth the money & looks good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeteT123
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Awesome

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I went into the shop 80% sure I was getting a Spesh Propero II.
I have tried MANY lids on. But never a spider-lock.
Honestly this is the best fit of any helmet I have owned and tried, including bike, ski, climbing and kayak helmets.
I realise its designed as a MTB lid, but I use it as a road helmet. It seems to work fine for me when I'm on the drops, horns and sat up on a hard climb. There is good air flow through it, to keep you cool.
It's lightweight. Not the lightest, but plenty light enough. If you are THAT concerned with weight, remove half mouthful of water from your bottle before you set off and that will even things out when compared to the other helmets......
It looks good enough too. The Propero II, was a bit tall and mushroomy on my head. Some of the Giros were also a bit shroomy. Lazer helms didn't fit me as nicely. I had an MET lid before and wanted a change.
The peak on the front was removed 30 seconds after I purchased the lid. It was easily done. But it did not interfere with my view when I was trying it on in the shop. It's just a personal choice.
To be be honest, I got this primarily for the comfort factor and the stunning fit I got from it.
Helmets are a personal choice. It fit me. I liked it, you may not.
My personal advice;
If you a thinking of buying a helmet in the £50-90 range, I would strongly recommend trying it.
Do your research on the features which helmet you think you would like. Make a list.
YOU HAVE TO GO AND TRY THEM ON.
Preferably all at the same time to make comparisons easier.
Happy and safe cycling.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tony82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great product highly recommended

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Looked at purchasing product for approx 1 month tried on etc. Eventually purchased item, wow really good fit, light weight and comfortable to wear. Great design, vents allow great cooling. Recommended helmet to family member who also purchased in same colour (white)
Overall this helmet offers great protection at a good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Louis Garneau Edge Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DavidE128
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Did great job of saving my head! Couple of niggles

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: excellent protection
Cons: Poor quality
My edge helmet did a good job of saving my head - i went over the bars and took an impact on the upper right part of my head. It cracked the helmet through and left white stress marks on the ridged parts, which show that they do play some role in stiffening the outer part of the helmet. Good news is that I didn't even suffer any concussion, and was able to ride home (just!)
One niggle with the helmet - the retention mechanism sometimes came unclipped on one side of the helmet, when taking it off, which was annoying.
The venting could be better designed as there aren't channels of any significant depth between the inside of the vents, so there isn't an obvious route for the air to flow past your head. However, perhaps this is to keep the size of the helmet down and maintain strength.
I was also slightly disappointed that the info you see online in forums suggesting that LG provide a 1-year 100% crash replacement does not apply in the UK. I've been offered 50% off the RRP, which is a slightly better discount than the typical selling price. Better than nothing I guess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>