Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet

Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet

Overall rating:
4.929 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wheelybin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Safety first then light, comfortable and cool

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, nice colour
This helmet looks to provide excellent safety protection although that particular feature remains untested.... What I can confirm is that it's extremely light and comfortable to wear. The air flow through the venting arrangement provides exceptional cooling. Really pleased with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chmpnz
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Excellent. Highly recommended!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I’ve had the pleasure of riding with the Diamond for two weeks now and so far it’s been an absolute dream. First impressions were that this was an excellent bit of kit - assembled impeccably, well vented and what’s more also looks fantastic.
The helmet boasts 40 vents in all. You can tell from the photographs that a few of these are somewhat on the small side but even so there are more than enough large vents to permit ample airflow (and I’ve certainly felt the benefits during a recent 25+°C spell).
My size Large Diamond weighs in at 310g, which is by no means a lightweight but nevertheless it is very comfortable due to ample padding throughout the helmet and good support from the rear adjuster against the occipital bone of the skull. The adjustment dial is rubberized and is suitably large to permit precise one-handed adjustment of the helmet on the move come rain, shine, winter gloves or mitts.
But let’s not forget the principle function of a helmet - to protect the wearer’s head in a spill. At the end of the day, we would all prefer to cycle with the wind in our hair but wearing a helmet that fits comfortably, feels cool and scores top marks for looks has certainly made putting on a helmet before each ride that little less tedious and as such I would definitely recommend the Diamond to a friend.
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucky
from North Essex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Helmet happiness.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This helmet is very comfortable and lightweight, you almost forget that you are wearing it. It is very stylish and the design definitely keeps you head cool on those long summer rides. This is the best helmet that I have ever owned and I've been a road cyclist for over 30 years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acphogg
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A good value top end helmet. Suitable for keen cyclists and commuters alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crearman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Helmet with great ventilation

PostedMay 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: mushroom head
I like this now, and seemed to get more comfy after several hours of use, but my head looking like a red toadstool took some getting use to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DirtyBarry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Great Lid

PostedApril 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, smells good
Had this helmet for a while now and can say that its really comfy, well vented. Kept my head nice and cool even on the sunniest days and generally forget I'm wearing it.
Really like the one large dial at the back to tighten/loosen the helmet, easy to use even in thick winter gloves when I've had to change it due to wearing a hat under the helmet.
Only thing I would say is that I have the white one, and after a years riding the chin straps are starting to look a little grotty and havent been able to find a way of detaching them and washing them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

a goodlooking piece of safety kit

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
You know when you get to a point where if you spend around £100, you'd expect to get something good. Well I reached that point and decided that I also wanted something that looked good. I am not hugely keen on the grey/black 'foam' being on the show, which seems to be the case for 90% of the helmets on the market, so it took me a while to stumble across the LG Diamond beauty.
I like it because
... it doesn't make my head look like a mushroom
... the airflow system works brilliantly
... the padding in the helmet can be taken off and washed (and it included a spare pad as well)
... tightening mechanism moves up and down and has got a good
scroller on it (I sometimes find them small and fiddly)
... and of course - it's got very few 'foamy' bits on show..
My head is 57cm I bought a size M - fits perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
erb25

Very well structured and strong

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very well structured and strong, thus feel protected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joe27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, starting to "buy in" to the lg brand., good size adjuster
Top notch lid. Don't think too much about the price. You must balance expense with safety.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CubeGTC

The dogs wotsits

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I's so pleased that I purchased this. Looks great on or off and has an extremely comfortable and secure fit. I'm 57cm and bought the M, fits like a dream. The adjuster at the back couldn't be simpler to use, easy to get it really nice and snug. Air vents are great, keeping me cool even though it was 26C on my first ride with it. Buy, Buy, Buy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spikes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

road helmet

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
very light and comfortable and great design features, the wheel at the rear to tighten the helmet is great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicnak7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Neat and lightweight helmet with good styling.

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I specifically chose this helmet against others of a similar price as I wished to avoid all the straps and bits of plastic that others have at the back for fitting, this helmet has just a single strap with a circular adjuster. The chin straps are fixed into the back of the helmet too, which is superior to other helmets where they can slide and result in movement of the helmet on the head. Very happy with this product, especially with the online discount having been given.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tilly777
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fitted Well

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This was really comfortable and fitted my partner's head.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Diamond Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slipsta

Nice

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
comfortable, light and received a couple of compliments. v. pleased with my purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.