Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock

Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Review 1 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
singletracky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Heavy but compact

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, sturdy
This is a beast of a thing and is heavy but it's what you'd expect for the level of protection it's supposed to provide.
It comes in a carry pouch which can be attached to the bike by velcro straps which is really handy if you're changing between bikes. In the pouch it is packed down pretty small.
two keys and an inbuilt torch in one of the keys is a nice touch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pete65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavy!

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
It is great to have a lock that I know makes my bike secure, even from the bolt-cropper brigade, but it is a very heavy piece of kit to mount on a lightweight bike.
I had to buy a 'Gold standard' lock to comply with the terms of my bike insurance, and the fact that this one packs away to a small, neat space influenced my choice.
It is a neat item & can be attached to the very bottom of the frame but is so heavy I only take it with me if I know I'm going to need it. If, say I go for a country ride with friends & am only to leave the bike in a pub garden, I take the risk of using a much lighter lock, knowing the bike will be in sight most of the time. However trust it totally if the bike's left in a built up area.
It is no longer than it needs to be and will just go round the frame, front wheel and a moderately sized post.
Overall it is a very decent lock, any form of which will be at odds with a lightweight bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goran62
Country:USA
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far the BEST bicycle lock on the market !

Posted08 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very glad with the purchase ( and as usual - pricing ) from EVANS CYCLES.
As a owner of ABUS BORDO 6000/ 90cm I can say that this Granit X-Plus looks and feels much more SOLID and SECURE .
Comparing to the other products on the market ABUS BORDO X-PLUS is definitely THE BEST LOCK for carrying around and I'm glad to see that more and more bicyclists here in NYC share my opinion .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prowlus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great lock

Posted27 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This lock rocks ! Its sturdy solid and it fits flush to any bike even full susses .
The only drawback is thats its heavy esp if you use it on a roadie like a fuji sportif . Despite this i"m gonna get one for my camber soon to replace the bulky d-lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
arnetegel
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality lock!

Posted24 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
An easy to use lock! Very high quality to a great price. In sweden this lock cost around 133 Euro's!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jkoh
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Portable & very tough lock

Posted07 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought the lock as it looks to be extremely compact and has a high security rating.
Generally the lock works well but it maybe a challenge to lock some bikes with small wheel spokes clearance as the lock is flat but wide and it is not flexible like a cable lock. You have to figure out the correct angle to insert it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
commuter27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Flexible alternate to u-lock

Posted24 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Much easier to carry than a ulock with similar ability. Appears very solid which should deter the bike snatchers and has good security reviews.
It is reasonably heavy to carry but reasuring when you leave the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dec3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stong, heavy, stows easily

Posted29 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've had this lock for nearly 2 years. There seems to be evidence of attacks made on the lock, but so far it has stood up well. This lock is heavy but feels solid, and it stows away nicely while riding. The flexible design is a plus over D locks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tslil
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I am still shocked from this strong lock

Posted25 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I reached Evans cycles from the web and from the first minute I was satisfied from the design and the easy way to travel the website.
My orders arrived quickly with no problems and the quality of the products are
excellent
Thank you
My ride become more exiting hobby for me.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RideLiveSurvive
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact and safe!

Posted20 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: rubber coating
It is very compact and portable and this is its best upside, especially if you need to stuff your lock in a backpack and you can't deal with an u-lock.
It is heavy but not that heavy. The included folder is a top class item.
Downside: I'd put soft rubber around the Bordo instead than the hard one used presently by Abus
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.