Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock

Abus Granit 53 D-Lock

Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Review 1 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dawnpatrol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

well made and good value lock

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought this lock as the main security for the bike shed at my place of work. The lock comes in a choice of two lengths and with a bike mounting bracket. I leave the lock at work so the weight and transporting it weren't a consideration for me. Well made and reassuringly sturdy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike2540
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great sturdy lock

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Seems very secure, not that heavy either. Large enough to fit round the stem, rear wheel and a locking bracket. Best value gold level lock as far as I'm aware as well. I would recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AMoha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks very secure

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I would have rated it 5/5 if it fitted to my rockhopper.
The brackets wouldn't fit to the frame because of the different cables
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jbob
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome lock

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The perfect balance of weight an security. This model isn't available in Canada, but it should be. It is Abus level 12 security and Sold Secure Gold rated. Awesome quality and comes with a great mount as well.
I think this is probably the best lock on the market when factoring weight, security, and value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simon123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap looking plastic and fickle lock

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Solid lock but not great looks. Sometimes hard to get the key in properly, seems the pins can get out of alignment if not careful which then requires a bit of wriggling with the key to get it all the way in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ickrust
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Chunky

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This lock is big and beefy and the red makes it look very secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vekat80

great sturdy lock

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Lock arrived in shop within 2 days and the shop assistant kindly fit it on in Wandsworth. Happy and pleased with it, no problems whatsoever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kfpac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value and security

PostedMay 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
In my opinion it's not too heavy, looks and is sturdy, well engineered and secure. Comes with a set of mounts so you can fit it onto your frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiwilecky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top security

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock is a really well engineered and designed piece of kit and if you treasure your bike then it deserves this protection. At Evans it is good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
llu02
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Heavy, but safe!
It looks great and feels much stronger than my previous Kryptonite lock and not much rattle noise when on the uneven road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jake0Jacob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Quality lock!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice, size. Really strong but without being stupidly heavy.
Would recommend getting the one with the cable though.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pratty
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gold star security at a good price

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've used Arbus locks before and been very satisfied.
This lock is very robust and I'm sure will deter the ever increasing army of bike thieves.
A good price from Evans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WelshJon
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: is not suitable for danish insurance
The lock has not failed me yet. However it is not accepted by danish insurance even though it is gold rated! My old lock was a ABUS chain lock and rated as silver and this was accepted (this can only be described by the phrase, danish logic!). Always check with your insurance company to what lock is accepted. I have solved the problem by buying a danish approved lock for £15 that is a much lower quality and allows a bike to be stolen by just lifting the rear wheel off the ground and walking off with the bike (needless to say I still use the D lock). But I need this as well to make sure I'm covered. It would have got 5 stars if I didn't need to buy an extra lock to be covered for insurance purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maxwell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Built for a reason

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Heavy but great build quality. The U is actually quite long so is a breeze getting your bike locked up in most places.
Very happy. Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ale77ale
Country:Italy

strong , high quality

PostedApril 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, strong
Cons: Heavy
It seems very solid, according to the test is an excellent protection for your bike.
the hook to bring it on the frame is comfortable, but it seems become loose too early.
Overall very good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rfgd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good value for money

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Wanted a lock which would protect my bike from casual theft. Lock is well recommended but heavy (but I accept you can't have security without weight)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Duncster84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Good bracket, didn't stop theft

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
All reviews were good but this lock was cut. The stumps look like bolt-cutters were used. Must have been quite big bolt-cutters but still very disappointing.
The bracket is much better than the kryptonite one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cycli5t
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Got this on sale so was excellent value for money for a gold secure lock. A bit heavy but the extra weight does add to the security. The key can sometimes be tricky to open the lock. Better if three spares were provided- only two given.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abus Granit 53 D-Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ABJ29
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is to a quality standard

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
It is built to a quality standard. The keys come with a code where if they are lost you can get copies of the keys from Abus.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.