Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Castelli Perla Women's Short

Castelli Perla Women's Short

Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Review 1 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jenhead
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted21 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Finally bought this to match the Castelli jersey which I bought a year ago on sale. The reason I have been putting it off is due to it being so expensive compared to other brands shorts like Pearl Izumi, Funkier, and Altura. However, thinking back, I should have just bought this one instead of all the other ones! I just did my second year of Dunwich Dynamo total 200 km, wearing this short my bum did not feel anything at all! The fabric at first felt a little bit unbreathable but once on the bike you just wouldn't exchange it for any other because it feels just PERFECT, keeps your bum compact and in place for female riders who like to go fast both on climbs and down hill. On the aesthetic side, black looks sleek with pink edges to give it that femininity. Good looks and extremely functional. I totally recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redtop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Oh sooo comfortable!

Posted10 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these expecting the usual 'nappy' feeling, and (being somewhat 'apple' shaped) expecting them to be tightish around the waist. What a delight! The pad fits really comfortably, and doesn't waddle around independently of me when I walk in them. And the waist is soooo comfortable - lovely soft fabric, and not too tight (but still high and secure enough to avoid any unpleasant views for those behind me!). Do they make a long pair too?...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mysie
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Super comfortable shorts

Posted10 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got the matching jersey as well and I just love the set. The shorts are very comfortable and I like the non grippy thighs but might miss that when I want to wear knee warmers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
speedychops
Country:China
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent cycling shorts

Posted20 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very well made item. Well designed pad with the right amount of padding in all the right areas. Very soft, but strong fabric, no stitching in annoying places and no tight elastic around the quads - easy on the muscles and the knees! Good for any length of ride (tested on the road up to 110km).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MagsGS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice, but didn't really suit me

Posted08 October 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I liked the shorts because they were different from the norm, with their grey stripes and red lining, but when I put them on, the stripe around the bottom of the legs was not very comfortable or flattering. I think they were nicely made and good quality and would be likely to suit better someone with slimmer legs than mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beth30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable shorts

Posted20 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Really well padded, and not too tight around the thighs and waist. Excellent shorts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Allthegear1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good fit and very comfortable

Posted31 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I chose these after trying on all similar priced lycra cycling shorts at Evans Castleford, as they were the best fit and most flattering. In practice they're very comfortable, and even though I'm a size 'S', I do feel they make my bum look big, but, hey, they're cycle shorts, it's not a fashion show! Highly recommended, flattering waistband, nice pink edging and functional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Armyofangels

Great shorts, beautiful design

Posted09 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really great shorts, they fit perfectly... I'm a size 12-14 and went for the large which are just right.
The only negative I have is that my bum is sore this morning but that's probably more me than the shorts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anne27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable!

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Fab. Very comfy shorts for long rides.
Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pip306
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

lovely shorts

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really comfy more padding than the other type of womens castelli shorts lovely comfy waist band nice material no way of being of being see through or too tight around legs. Got them in the sale at a bargain price but worth their full price indeed. The pad fits the bottom well if you know what I mean ladies. You would hardly notice they are padded from looking at them even though they are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ggvaro
from Spain
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really good quality

Posted15 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Castelli is the best quality shorts and jerseys ever, even in an entry level as this perla is.
Pro:good looking,durable,comfortable,best price/quality ratio.
Con: Depends on personal measurements but M size short is bigger than M size Jersey.Stripes look red but is dark pink.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zero2hero
from London
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Functional, looks good too

Posted14 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i like them, just simple chic design without big stitching. The material is light and feel like 2nd skin. No uncomfortable elastic at the hems, no unflattering bulges. i wish all my cycle shorts are of this quality !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Castelli Perla Women's Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hindsight
from Knutsford
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good shorts!

Posted10 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I had already tried these shorts on in the shop and realised the range was a small fit, (I'm usually 8 or 10) and so ordered the medium. They look good, (if cycling shorts-which always look like you're wearing a nappy- can do!) and are really comfortable. Not particularly cheap-but good quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.